We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”
Review of Spar Hotel Majorna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Spar Hotel Majorna
Ranked #17 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2017

The surrounding is very poor. It's said that Majorna is a In-place, this street is definitely not!
The hotel staff was friendly. Our room was okay but for three beds definitely too narrow. The cleaning team did a good job. The breakfast was surprising rich and even vegans can find a lot of things to eat.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWibeck, Hotelldirektör at Spar Hotel Majorna, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Dear Dina,
thank you for taking the time to review your stay, this means a lot to us.
The hotel is located in a part of Majorna where you have different shops and restaurants and small coffee places, and the area is usually appreciated byt our guests.
We have 6 different roomtypes, so maybe we can offer a larger room for your next visit. I´m glad you appreciated the cleaning and our breakfast, and that you overall seem pleased with your stay. We hope to see you soon again.

Kind regards
Terese Wibeck, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (584)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 13 of 584 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile

All over a very nice hotel.
Free parking in the basement. If it's full there are some opportunities for parking outside the hotel for only kr. 2,00 per 30 minutes.
The Breakfast was excellent.
The room we had was small but some times you get what you pay for

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank FFFredrikstad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWibeck, Hotelldirektör at Spar Hotel Majorna, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Dear guest,

thank you for the very nice review, this means a lot to us.
Our parking in the garage can sometimes be full during peek season, but as you discovered there are plenty of other options near the hotel.
I´m very glad you liked our breakfast, and I´ll pass this on to the kitchen team.
We offer 6 different roomtypes in different pricerange so maybe we can offer a larger room for your next stay.
Welcome back!

Kind regards
Terese Wibeck, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017

For the most part we were very pleased with the hotel. The location is good--easy access to tram or walk to where you want to go. Restaurants and little shops in the area. Easy walk to grocery or bakeries or liquor store. The staff was friendly and answered any and all questions. They gave directions to specific streets when asked and suggested best tram line to take to get to where we wanted to go. The staff was also responsive to any need we may have had. (extra towels or replacing burned out light bulb for example) The next time we would stay in a suite since the double room is kind of small (we were only there for sleeping but needed room to move around, store clothes, etc) Breakfast was very good with lots of choices. (Maybe consider gravlax or other fish sometime!!! ) Always room to sit. Had son, daughter-in-law and grandson join us one day for breakfast and the price was reasonable for them too! (cost in the bar a bit high though!) Maybe consider more than 1 ice machine for the hotel and more buckets--gets hard when hotel is full as it was when we were there. Only negative is that when we thought the bed sheets were going to be changed they weren't (something on sheet remained so we knew the bed was only straightened and not changed!!). We would definitely stay here again and would recommend this hotel to other travellers.

Room Tip: We might want to face the street rather than the alley but I would suppose any room is good--you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank liket0dine0ut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017

The breakfast is very good and the staff very helpful. The tram stops almost at the door and within 10-min you are at the city centre. Restaurants are even closer (5-min distance by tram). The rooms are rather small, although they do have everything you need (including private bathroom).

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Andre_Meireles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017

The hotel offers good size rooms and facilities with friendly reception staff. Parking is a bonus in the underground car park. The only problem could be that the hotel is quite out of the way of the city centre - its a good 40 minute walk but there is a tram stop outside the hotel which takes around 20 minutes.
Overall a comfortable stay and well priced based out the slightly out of the centre location.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJMids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
1.8 km away
Radisson Blu Riverside Hotel, Gothenburg
3.2 km away
STF Goteborg City Hotel
STF Goteborg City Hotel
#27 of 67 in Gothenburg
258 reviews
0.8 km away
Quality Hotel 11 & Eriksbergshallen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Spar Hotel Garda
Spar Hotel Garda
#21 of 67 in Gothenburg
568 reviews
3.2 km away
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
#4 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,026 reviews
1.0 km away
Best Western Plus Hotel Waterfront Goteborg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spar Hotel Majorna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spar Hotel Majorna

Address: 66-70 Karl Johansgatan, Gothenburg 414 55, Sweden
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range: $129 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Spar Hotel Majorna 3*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are privately owned hotel in the heart of Majorna in Gothenburg. A part from a personal service we offer our guests a variety of roomtypes, always well cleaned, a generous breakfastbuffet with generous opening hours, food and drinks in SparBar, a sunny terrace and parking in our garage (limited amount of spaces). We have singel rooms, a variety of double rooms, family rooms in different sizes and a large suite with fantastic views. Our hotel is situated near Slottskogen, and the ferry terminals and we have a tram stop just outside the hotel connecting you to the more central parts of the city. In our opinion we offer mor hotel for less money. We hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Spar Hotel Majorna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spar Hotel Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing