We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, well priced and friendly staff”
Review of Hotell Kusten

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotell Kusten
Ranked #59 of 65 Hotels in Gothenburg
Reviewed 13 May 2016

We stayed in room 141, 2 single beds put together which was still comfortable. Ensuite was very spacious with double shower and hot water. Tram stop is 2 min walk ans you can go pretty much anywhere from there i.e. City or the southern archipalego Islands. We spent two nights and the breakfast was really good eggs and bacon with cheese ham pepperoni cereals juices and a variety of brides and biscuits. If I do come back to gothenburg would definitely stay here...if the windows are closed you can't hear a thing...room has a portable fan...which was ok I guess else it can get a bit warm in summer..wifi works a treat...during the day the hotel is quite busy with meetings etc but that didn't bother us...overall highly recommend this place

Room Tip: Room 141 is quiet and a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2015 via mobile

Room 143. There was some traffic sounds. Non-insulated glass so the window was both cold, and allowed me to quite distinctly tell the difference between the various types of cars that passed. As the room faces one of the major roads in the city, the traffic sounds were a constant reminder. There were earplugs for those that are bothered for such, so a plus for that, even if I suspect long therm improvements in regards to insulating the window properly would do wonders for both the somewhat cold room and the sound.

The free wifi that came with the room is acceptable, for a service that comes with the room. However, I find it annoying that they opted for an open (un-encrypted network), with web-authentication. This means that you will get lots of dropped sessions whenever you want to use it, and not use a browser that completely supports their solution. But besides that, acceptable.

The staff were excellent. Honestly. Excellent staff.

Breakfast was, acceptable, but I was shocked to find that there were no bacon offered in it. There were eggs, sausages, and other types of cereal, but no bacon?!? Luxury issue I know, but please, just one slice, kindly please?

In summation, as long as you are aware that its not a super luxury hotel, and like me, can happily ignore 24/7 heavy traffic sounds if you get unlucky and get the roadside rooms, its a great hotel for the price. Its not trying to be luxurious. But its clean, have great staff, and is quite worth the visit if you just need a hotel to be your basecamp while you explore this, honestly, great city.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled solo
Thank Are L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2014

Stayed at this 3 star hotel on my trip to goteborg. Ideally situated close to tram stops and the location near the sea where you can walk around and experience lovely sunset. The rooms were well decorated and furnished and the morning breakfast at the restaurant was best. A added thing was there was coffee machine in the main reception area which serves you complimentary tea and coffee. Simply amazing.

Room Tip: If you want to experience midnight sun please chose the north facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rav786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The most orrible hotel l have experienced. At the arrival at the hotel the door is closed and it look like the hotel has been close for years according to the colors of the windows that are brown from dirth.the reception area stinks of cat piss and the carpet is stained everywere.The triple room the third bed it is just a materass on the floor and the room is facing the motorway.the windows are disgusting.When we arrive it was 5 pm and l had a look at the breakfast area where the cereal where left open air ...
The first morning they had yogurth and few of them were expired since 10 days.We talk to the reception and they apologise but the day after was exactly the same thing and the breakfast area was close and they make us go in another room where the waiter were having breakfast.they had the breajfast just for us.the only guests of the hotel. The website does not correspond to reality at all!!!! Be really carefull.It is not a hotel is a student hostel for 115 euro a night!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sabsfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The hotel is really clean and staffed with cheerful hotel students. The rooms are simple and comfortable. We visited during a very hot week and there was no air conditioning but the hotel provided fans for the rooms. The hotel is a bit more like a hostel - no shampoo in the rooms, for example. However, the continental breakfast was very fresh and tasty and lots of food, and there is coffee and water available at any time. The front desk staff was helpful and even held our luggage for our day of sight-seeing, even though there is no concierge service. I thought it was a great place for the price.

Room Tip: If it's summer, choose a room facing the street and river so you can keep the window open and ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MargaretEve2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
1.7 km away
Dockyard Hotel
Dockyard Hotel
#45 of 65 in Gothenburg
236 reviews
8.5 km away
First Hotel Kviberg Park
First Hotel Kviberg Park
#39 of 65 in Gothenburg
218 reviews
5.6 km away
Hotel Orgryte
Hotel Orgryte
#46 of 65 in Gothenburg
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Spar Hotel Majorna
Spar Hotel Majorna
#15 of 65 in Gothenburg
597 reviews
3.9 km away
Scandic Crown
Scandic Crown
#33 of 65 in Gothenburg
1,165 reviews
7.3 km away
Hotel Molndals Bro
Hotel Molndals Bro
#48 of 65 in Gothenburg
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotell Kusten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotell Kusten

Address: 10 Kustgatan, Gothenburg 414 55, Sweden
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 65 Hotels in Gothenburg
Price Range: $94 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotell Kusten 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotell Kusten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing