We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not much to see inside ”
Review of Helsinki Cathedral

Helsinki Cathedral
Book In Advance
More Info
US$197.79*
and up
Helsinki Senate Square Private Walking Tour
Ranked #18 of 271 things to do in Helsinki
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

The exterior of the cathedral is nice and the location means that you can enjoy some nice view of the city.

However, the interior is surprisingly simple. There's hardly anything to see inside. Just a very short visit will do.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Egon70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,279)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"martin luther"
in 24 reviews
"white building"
in 25 reviews
"green domes"
in 27 reviews
"steep steps"
in 36 reviews
"lutheran churches"
in 30 reviews
"impressive building"
in 52 reviews
"blue sky"
in 24 reviews
"worth the climb"
in 23 reviews
"pipe organ"
in 30 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 95 reviews
"nice church"
in 25 reviews
"sunny day"
in 33 reviews
"market square"
in 31 reviews
"interior"
in 249 reviews
"landmark"
in 166 reviews
"pulpit"
in 28 reviews
"skyline"
in 71 reviews
Filter

351 - 355 of 5,279 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2018

This Lutheran Cathedral is Carl Ludvig Engel’s neoclassical work completed in 1852.

The church was built as a tribute to the Grand Duke of Finland, Tsar Nicholas I of Russia. It was also known as St Nicholas' Church until the independence of Finland in 1917.

The church is overlooking the Senate Square. From outside it is very impressive with its towers. The interior is not as grandiose as you might expect but worth a visit.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Mikael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018

Imposing from the inside quite plain inside. Good taking a look around Helsinki from a slightly higher vantage point.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Glbtrttr6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018

A short climb up from the square, Helsinki Cathedral is very grand and quite imposing. Inside is possibly not as grandiose as you may expect, but architecturally it's a wonderfully designed building in a good location. I actually prefer this to the city's other Cathedral - but visit both and decide for yourself!

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank steve_vstheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2018 via mobile

The actual first visit was in 3/1984. Marriage in May.

It was our home church at the time of the ceremony. As a young boy I had decided, if I ever marry someone, the wedding should take place in this cathedral. My wife had already, before meeting me, decided not to marry anyone. Before mentioned took place in late seventies.

After all years, I recommend to visit.

We are still married.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank JoniN131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Helsinki Cathedral also viewed

 

Been to Helsinki Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing