We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really worn-out room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti
Ranked #38 of 66 Hotels in Helsinki
Reviewed 18 September 2017

Our room was a Standard Twin which was not renovated. Room condition was really low, I have never seen another room so badly maintained. Also cleaning the room was poorly done. The only good side of the room was the silence. The location of the hotel is also good, close to the city center.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mika H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,059)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 12 of 1,059 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2017

The hotel is not far from the main station, shopping, and an easy amble down to the ferry port area. My room was large and comfortable. Tea/coffee making facilities, which seem to be somewhat rare in Scandinavia, were most welcome. Breakfast provided many choices.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Patricia3689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Presidentti, Asiakaspalvelujohtaja at Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear Patricia3689,

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our Original hotel. The location of the hotel is very good - it's easy to enter the heart of the city from our hotel. The new Ivana Helsinki rooms are lovely. There are five different themes from which you can choose the room. The themes are stories about Finland and the Finnish: Winter Storm, Midsummer, Magical Forest, Sisu and Tranquility. The breakfast buffet has varied products and it is very good Scandinavian buffet.

I hope you come to visit again!
Best regards,
Päivi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

Työreissulla yhden yön yöpyminen. Hotellia on rempattu paljon, mutta satuin saamaan ei-remontoidun huoneen (825) ironisesti presidenttisviitin kanssa samalta käytävältä.

Vartin jonotus respaan, nopsa sisäänkirjautuminen, ylös 8. kerrokseen, mutkan taakse huoneeseen - avain ei toimi. Takaisin respaan, odotusta, avain uudelleen koodattavaksi, takaisin hissillä ja jalkaisin laukkujen kanssa, huoneen ovi auki.

Kengät otettuani olin lipsahtaa nurin liukkaalla parketti- ja laattalattialla enkä ollu vielä kerennyt kylppäriin, joka oli kulahtanut, nurkistaan ja ilmastointikavasta likainen (ilmastointikanava oli suoraan katseltavissa suihkukopissa ollessa) ja vanhanaikainen. Vain yksi musta hiuksi lavuaarissa, että ei kai siinä. Olin liian väsyny lähteäkseni alakertaan kysymään huoneenvaihtoa.

Ilmastointi (johon en löytäny säätöä) huruutti niskat kipeeksi muuten hyvässä sängyssä.

Aamulla seuraava selän nitkahdus erikoisen liukkaalla lattialla.

Aamiainen maittava, monipuolinen ja riittävä. Jos menet, pyydä remontoitu huone.

// Stayed one night in a not renovated room and got dissapointed badly: old and not so clean toilet/bathroom, extraordinary slippery floor on the room and strong air conditioning, which I couldn't adjust. Was too tired to go ask for changing the room, but for 133e/night should have been better.

Perfect location, great breakfast. Ask for a renovated room if choose to stay here.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Thank KatjaOo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

We stayed at the Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti as part of a large conference taking place nearby. I was eager for an authentic Finnish hotel experience, and in this regard the Presidentti did not disappoint. Our room appeared to be one the recently renovated ones on the Midsummer floor. It was just like stepping into an IKEA showroom… in a good way! It was a light and airy corner room with fluffy linens and views of all the surrounding buildings. Housekeeping did an excellent job of tidying and laundry service was fast and accurate.

We visited the sauna and pool, which were both enjoyable. The pool seemed to need a touch of maintenance (loose and squeaking stairs to enter/exit.) but were not unsafe.

There was renovation going on in the hotel, but aside from detouring around areas in progress, we didn’t experience any negative effects from them. Many attractions, shopping areas, and grocery stores were within walking distance, as well as the bus and train stations. We enjoyed the complimentary breakfast. There were hot and cold options and plenty of seating for everyone. This is a great location from which to explore Helsinki.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taragl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017

The breakfasts were good. Unfortunately there is only a pop up restaurant with limited hours and menu for dinner. But the hotel is within walking distance of dozens of good restaurants. It is a good place to explore Helsinki from as it is about a 15 minute walk from the main train station and tram stop. I was attending a convention and it was easy to get to the convention center. Great restaurants are all within walking distance. One caveat, the hotel is under renovation. It was not noisy on my floor as it was happening on the first and second floors/

Room Tip: Avoid floors 2 and 3 due to renovations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Vironniemi
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
Klaus K Hotel
#16 of 66 in Helsinki
1,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampinmalmi
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
#15 of 66 in Helsinki
979 reviews
GLO Hotel Art
#21 of 66 in Helsinki
1,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti

Address: Etelaeinen Rautatiekatu 4, Helsinki 00100, Finland
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Kampinmalmi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
Price Range: $178 - $358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti 4*
Number of rooms: 494
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Presidentti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokos Hotel Helsinki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing