We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
GLO Hotel Art(Helsinki)
US$151
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$118/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Fabian(Helsinki)
US$244
US$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Crowne Plaza Hotel Helsinki(Helsinki)(Great Value!)
US$133
US$94
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$127/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$178
US$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Hilton Helsinki Kalastajatorppa(Helsinki)(Great Value!)
US$132
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$153
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
US$118
US$107
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$144/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$157
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Breakfast
  • Restaurant
Hotelli Finn(Helsinki)(Great Value!)
US$101
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (2,728)
Filter reviews
2,728 results
Traveller rating
799
1,222
527
132
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
799
1,222
527
132
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsconverted warehouseviking linemarket squarecity centrebreakfast buffetlarge hotelshort walkuspenski cathedralferry terminalfamily roomdecent sizeconvenient locationhotel is situatedbusiness tripdouble bedvisiting helsinkistandard room
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 2,728 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is located in a wonderful old warehouse in a good location (fairly central and a 10 minute walk from the central Esplanade).

It looks like it should be a lot more impressive than it actually is: you arrive with high hopes and an impressive lobby, only to find that when you scratch the surface that the whole place is really quite basic and worn.

The rooms have something of the prison cell about them: they are large but sparsely decorated, with strange utilitarian bathrooms with out of date plumbing, curtains that don’t black out, and nothing that would keep you inside the room for longer than you have to be in them. The corridors too are dingy and poorly lit; the elevators are cheap looking and old, and the whole place felt a bit grubby and un-tended.

Breakfast similarly looks impressive, but lets you down on closer inspection. Dry tasteless bread, juice from a mixer with the water that comes out first, undercooked boiled eggs, and no espresso, latte or cappuccino available except for an extra charge, didn’t all exactly impress.

The staff at reception were quite abrupt and messed up our checking in, meaning we had to wait round for some considerable time.

All in all it’s a tired old hotel conversion that could be wonderful if some money were spent thoroughly refurbishing it and upping the standard. As it is, it’s a 3 star standard, quite basic hotel that doesn’t make the mark.

Stayed: June 2018
Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandMarina, General Manager at Scandic Grand Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Peter,
Thank you for your review. It's a pity that this time you only gave us three stars. It is great that you liked our location though. I am sorry to hear that our decor didn't please you at all. We have facelifted most of the rooms and the lobby recently. We usually get positive feedback about the breakfast, I am sorry it didn't please you either.
I hope you have a lovely summer!
Best regards,
Satu Järvelä
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GrandMarina, General Manager at Scandic Grand Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in the Scandic Grand Marina as part of an organised tour. The hotel is large and was generally very busy, probably because it is used by tour companies. The bedroom was comfortable but very small with very little space around the beds, which were very close together (for a twin room). Despite having our window open, it was not too noisy. The location is excellent, close to Market Square, with lots of bars and restaurants. The centre of Helsinki is quite small so it is easy to walk around from this hotel. We had a buffet dinner and breakfast and the choice was good for both. However, breakfast was not a pleasant experience because of the number of people trying to find a seat and help themselves to food - too many guests with not enough space to move!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank yassu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandMarina, General Manager at Scandic Grand Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Yassu,
Thank you for your review. I am sorry that this time you only gave us three stars. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast and the dinner as well as the location. Sometimes during the summer our breakfast really can get busy. We have provided some extra space from nearby meeting rooms as well as the terrace to make the breakfast experience more enjoyable every day.
This is on old harbour warehouse so our rooms are different in shapes and sizes.
Have a lovely summer and please come and visit us soon again!
Best regards,
Satu Järvelä
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Always a nice place to visit. Friendly and cozy environment and smiling staff :-) Superb breakfast, enough room in the dining room to have your privacy if you will. Quite crowded often but so it is nearby city centre everywhere :-) Worth trying definitely. Rooms pretty old but still ok. The bed is the most important thing if you are on a business trip and that has always been ok.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Scandic Hotels
2  Thank BassoAsse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandMarina, Asiakassuhdepäällikkö at Scandic Grand Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi there BassoAsse,

Thank you very much for the great review you wrote! I am happy to hear that you had a good time with us and in Helsinki! We all hope to see you very soon again! Welcome back anytime!

Have a great day!

Best Regards,
Emmy Finne
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for a night, small but decent room. Breakfast is ok nothing fanciful. Near the piers and market square so if you want to explore around that area, it is convenient within 10-15mins walk. I like the cafes on the other side of market square facing the private piers. It was quite relaxing sitting there and enjoying a cup of coffee or tea. This hotel is however quite a distance from the train station though..

Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
1  Thank Joni H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandMarina, General Manager at Scandic Grand Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Joni,
Thank you for your positive review. I am glad that you liked our location. Please have a wonderful summer and come and visit us soon again!
Best regards,
Satu Järvelä
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews