We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Tasty, friendly, beautiful surroundings

We popped in to Teiskon Viini to see what it's about and while buying some lovely wine arranged to... read more

Reviewed 22 August 2016
EtiW
,
London
via mobile
A different winery

On the 31st of August, my wife and I arrived at Teiskon Viini by car. Teiskon Viini is located... read more

Reviewed 8 September 2015
Bjorn44
,
Oslo, Norway
Read all 4 reviews
  
Reviews (4)
Filter reviews
4 results
Traveller rating
2
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
2
2
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

We popped in to Teiskon Viini to see what it's about and while buying some lovely wine arranged to come back with our friends for a meal. Titta and Seppo, the owners cook by request and we made a reservation for 12 people.

The meal was excellent, the restaurant area very comfortable and the garden is fabulous for the younger people to go and explore while we enjoyed the food and company indoors.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank EtiW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2015

On the 31st of August, my wife and I arrived at Teiskon Viini by car. Teiskon Viini is located less than half an hour north of Tampere. We had booked a visit by this Finnish winery because they are making wine out of fruit, berries and grapes. Our main interest was the wines made of grapes. Teiskon Viini was the first winery in Finland to produce wine from grapes growing outdoor. Their prime grape variety for wine proved to be Zilga, a blue-skinned grape developed for cold climate. At our visit, they could offer their red wine Zaida, produced on Zilga grapes. Zaida has a distinct sweetness. I would say semi-sweet. That was explained to be due to many people in Finland like a sweeter touch in their wine. It is a well-made wine, which very well could be used as a dessert wine, perhaps also to accompany a heavy and well-seasoned meat dish. The label depicts reindeers. Teiskon Viini also produce a sparkling wine on Zilga grapes, Teiskon Rubiini, said to be semi-dry. We did not taste that but bought one to take home. My wife tried their blueberry wine Mustikka and found it so pleasant that we bought that one as well, good for just drinking or as a wine for desserts. Their pink wine Kukkanen, made from pink gooseberries and honey, tasted fruity and we felt it to be on the semi-dry side. It could accompany fish dishes fairly well. When we visited, their first established grape-wine Aino was sold out for the year. So, grape growing is at a modest scale here, but you can see vines in their field.
Teiskon Viini is also running a restaurant; to book on beforehand is advisable. Their main season ends at 31st of August but they are open for celebrations and wedding parties outside the season as well.
The Finnish language is often difficult for foreigners. The lady of the winery, Titta, speaks some Swedish and English. If there is a wish for a more in depth talk about wine, it is best to try to book a time on beforehand. We did and when we visited, she had called for a friend, Auli, to assist during the discussions. Her husband Seppo is the master chef and winemaker.
My wife and I enjoyed our visit by Titta, Seppo and Auli very much. If you want to visit them, you will find they have many more wines of fruit and berries than mentioned here. I have only described those we tasted and were mostly interested in. We had some great hours at Teiskon Viini.

Date of experience: August 2015
Thank Bjorn44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017
Google Translation

Date of experience: October 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC