We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We only stayed one night but we liked it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Viking Village Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hafnarfjordur
Reviewed 20 May 2017

We stayed in houses until the night before we left Iceland, but this was a fun place to be. The beds were comfortable and the restaurant was fantastic. The restaurant is one of the best reasons to be there. It is a large building with numerous rooms- upstairs and down. During dinner, some musicians dressed in old garb, came and serenaded us. I had the braised lamb shank, and it's some of the best I've ever eaten.The breakfast they included was very substantial and except for the fish (I'm sure the locals were used to it), I had all I needed. They even had some gluten-free cold cereal. After breakfast we walked around and were delighted with the whole area. There's a little mall nearby where I found an outlet and got some cool duds.

Room Tip: Don't be at the front!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debralou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bertmari, Guest Relations Manager at Viking Village Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2017

Dear debralou,

Thank you for taking your time to write this lovely review.
We're thrilled to hear that you had such a good experience with us, despite it being a short visit. I will make sure the chefs hear about your comment regarding the lambshank, I bet they will appreciate it.

Please give us another visit, we would gladly welcome you again to our hotel and restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (367)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 367 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2017 via mobile

Room was not appealing at all but the reason might be the Viking era feel. The hot tub was very dirty and there are no changing rooms so you have to change in your room. During the evening I had a hard time finding any staff because they were across the street serving at the restaurant. To my pleasant surprise the breakfast in the morning was excellent. Not sure if I'll come again due to the above and steep price for one night.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
Thank xDOTCOMx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bertmari, Guest Relations Manager at Viking Village Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2017

Dear xDOTCOMx,


Thank you for taking your time to write this review.

I'm sorry you didn't find your room to be very appealing. I don't know what room you were in, but honestly the superior rooms are so much nicer and larger than the standard rooms, and for future reference, the front desk would happily upgrade you to a room more to your liking.
Speaking of the front desk, during evenings sometimes they must assist the restaurant staff. We are very sorry for the inconvenience it might have caused you, but just so you know, you can always ring the doorbell outside and one of the front desk staff will come to your assistance.
Glad to hear you liked the breakfast.
Not so long ago for a couple of days we had trouble with our hot tub, so it was quiete difficult getting it cleaned properly. That happens very rarely, luckily it has been fixed.

I sincerely hope your experience hasn't discouraged you too much to give us a second chance. We would love to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

If you want the viking experience go for it....
Most the staff are helpful.
Rooms very basic, 1 pillow asked for another but had to pay, so didn't do that.
Light in bathroom kept fusing out. You have to pay extra for tea and coffee and your away from Rejklavik.
There is a takeaway pizza place up the road so if you can sneak that in your room.
The main thing that completely disgusts me is. I went down for breakfast with my husband and I wasn't feeling great as I was 4 months pregnant. So I thought I'd make a cheese and ham sandwich... breakfast is interesting... any way wrapped my sandwich in tissue, went to walk out and they said you can't take the sandwich. I explained I was pregnant and feeling queezy, they still insisted I couldn't take the sandwich. I could pay £5 for my sandwich I just made? I said no I'm not paying for a breakfast that is included and put the sandwich on the bar.
2 Mornings later (last day) I go down to the breakfast bar... and there cut up for anyone to take is my sandwich... pictures to prove!!! Would never ever go back there! How I didn't get food poisening!!!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Milly878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bertmari, Guest Relations Manager at Viking Village Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2017

Dear Milly878,

Thank you for taking your time to write this review, though we are terribly sorry you had this experience with us.

When anyone stays at the Viking hotel and feel like their room is too basic or not good enough, the front desk will gladly upgrade the guests to a better room, for a small fee. The front desk would also gladly put new lights in your room, they are always there to help when needed.

We can put in your room extra tea, coffee, sugar and creamers free of charge. But if you want to buy coffee in the lobby then you would have to pay.
What do you mean by "your way to Reykjavik" ? If you're talking about the bus tickets then I'm sorry we don't even sell bus tickets.

The hotel doesn't charge for extra pillows, could it be that you meant bathrobes not pillows? People can rent bathrobes for a small fee, but the extra pillows are free of charge.

It's absolutely ok to take food up to your bedroom, we are completely fine with it. So there was no need to hide the pizza. If any of our staff said that it wasn't allowed then it was their mistake, and I sincerely apologize on their behalf.

We are truly sorry that your breakfast experience was so bad. Like many hotels, we don't allow people to take food from the breakfast, unless for a very small fee.

Again, I apologize on the behalf of the entire hotel staff. It's very unfortunate you had this kind of experience. We truly would love to welcome you to our hotel again, and bring you a much happier, better and memorable experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017

This is not a high end, everything uniform hotel with little identity, it has a unique character of it's own. The character is steeped in Icelandic foke lore and presents something different in all of it's nooks and crannies. Our room was big, extremely comfortable, clean and well presented. Everything needed was there, tea, coffee, TV very comfortable beds and pillows. The water was hot and the shower effective. Breakfast is the usually buffet, smoked, ham, cheese, boiled egg, coffee was good, as was the porridge. An array of breads with jam and marmalade as well as cereal. There is a lift. Opposite the hotel is the restaurant where you can be serenaded by 2 Viking musicians whilst enjoying good food. Expect to pay the normal rate of Icelandic prices, but the food is worth it, seems freshly and expertly cooked, and the beer is good. The people who staff this hotel are extremely helpful and interested in making sure you have any help you need, they will contact your tour company for you if picking up arrangements need to be changed and ensure you're clear about what those changes are. There is a hot tub at the back of the hotel, we didn't have time to enjoy it, but quite a few guests did, take a bath robe with you and fit flops to get to and from your room otherwise you might have to hire a bathrobe from the hotel. the towels in the room are great for your bathroom but not good enough for wandering around the hotel when using the hot tub. The water will smell like rotten eggs because of the gel thermal heat, but the smell doesn't linger and doesn't stay on you. The cold water is cold, doesn't smell and is fine for drinking which we did, every day. When you come out of the hotel and walk forwards past the restaurant and white church there is a small shopping centre, lovely cake and coffee shop as well as confidence store in this small shopping centre. You can buy tickets for the bus into Reykjavik which will have 1 Vellir on the front of it. It's a 30 min bus ride into the city, use the map which is available at the hotel as it will tell you what bus stops are where and how you can pick the bus up to go back. In the street behind this shopping centre there are a couple of good Icelandic produce shops, selling pottery, pictures, wool and jewellery the prices are as good as in the city if not better and if you spend over 6000 Isk you can claim tax back at the airport.

Stayed: March 2017
2  Thank Izzy271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bertmari, Guest Relations Manager at Viking Village Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2017

Dear Izzy271,

Thank you taking your time to write this wonderfully detailed written review, I am sure it will be helpful for many.
We are so glad you liked the service, room and food.
We truly hope to get the chance to welcome you to the Viking Village hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2017

The room was smaller than a cabin on a cruise ship but at least on a cruise ship there are places you can go and enjoy. The room was about 110 sq. ft including the bathroom. It was dirty by American standards. There were two single beds with about 2 feet of space between each to stand. The furniture was old and handmade; a high school wood shop student could do better. The table between the beds (the only table in the room) was a 2’ x 2’ - ¾” piece of plywood with legs. One bed was an oversize mattress on a smaller box spring which kept sliding off, they changed it to a foam rubber covered with a fitted sheet. Housekeeping skipped the room on morning. The closet was an old ardmore falling apart, there was a wall cabinet made again by hand with plywood. Everything was finished with a coat of stain and clear finish.
I would not recommend this Hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: Skip this Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mfisher1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bertmari, Guest Relations Manager at Viking Village Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2017

Dear mfisher1028,

Thank you for taking your time to write this review.
We are terribly sorry for this. However for future reference, you can always ask the reception to upgrade you to a larger nicer room. They would gladly do it for you.
I truly hope we get a second chance from you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hafnarfjordur
16.9 km away
Hotel Laxnes
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
1,094 reviews
1.8 km away
Nordurey Hotel Reykjavik Road
Nordurey Hotel Reykjavik Road
#1 of 4 in Hafnarfjordur
517 reviews
38.2 km away
Frost and Fire Hotel
Frost and Fire Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hveragerdi
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 km away
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#17 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,889 reviews
30 km away
Hotel Berg
Hotel Berg
#1 of 9 in Keflavik
817 reviews
8.1 km away
Kriunes Hotel
Kriunes Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kopavogur
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viking Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Village Hotel

Address: Strandgata 55, Hafnarfjordur 220, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Hafnarfjordur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hafnarfjordur
Price Range: $161 - $415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Viking Village Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Viking has 56 well furnished and cozy rooms including shower, WC and television. The décor of the rooms on the first floor is Viking style and on the second floor it is a West Nordic theme. When you enter the Hotel, you are greeted with fine art and crafts from these three countries, Iceland, Greenland and the Faroe Islands. We have access to wireless Internet and free parking just outside the hotel. In our geothermal hot tub and sauna you can recuperate and freshen up and relax after a long day of excitement.Our guests are welcomed to our Fjörukráin,the Viking Restaurant, which is open for dinner from 18.00 every day.The style is Viking whereby during these famous feasts there is never a dull moment and the guests can expect various treats and surprises offered by our singing Valkyries and Vikings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Viking Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing