We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wanted to love this hotel....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Viking Village Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hafnarfjordur
Reviewed 6 August 2017

I insisted on staying here for our first two nights as a fun introduction to Iceland. The hotel grounds are exactly as the photos show....lots of atmosphere and character with the Viking theme. However, do NOT get a standard double room - they are so small, it's claustrophobic. Picture a very bare room facing the parking lot (with no colour, or decorations or any little personal touches) where three sides of the bed are flush against a wall so you have to climb over your partner to get in and out....and the bathroom is so tiny, even when you close the door to take a shower (which you have to and we did), the bed area becomes so hot and swampy your covered in sweat long after the shower is over. I was so distraught trying to get dressed for our wedding in this room, I started crying as this was impossible task due to the size and the humidity, did my makeup in my car with the a/c on and got dressed down the road. The food is good - but expensive, which we didn't know at the time as we were brand new to Iceland. $11000++ krona, which is about $140.00 for two Cokes, two soups, a chicken dinner and a hamburger and fries. Seriously folks this is brutal. It's also tour bus central (yea!) so we couldn't wait to leave and head to the West Fjords and away from the crowds and that room. I'm really sorry, as I sadly have to give this room the worst designation on our entire 16 day journey.

Room Tip: Do NOT get a standard double room unless you are a solo traveler or don't mind barebones. Spend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MichelleBode2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bertmari, Guest Relations Manager at Viking Village Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Dear MichelleBode2013,

We would have loved to get you a better room, especially since it was your wedding!
I highly recommend for future reference to contact the front desk if you would like an upgrade, or if there's any you dislike. We are always ready to help.
We find it very very unfortunate that this was the worst place of all your 16 days advantrue in Iceland. Honestly, I am very sure of if the staff would have known how you felt about the room, we could have done something to make your experience here more enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (364)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 364 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2017

Spent 4 nights in this hotel which looks very nice in full viking style.

The restaurant is very good quite pricey like everywhere else in Iceland when it comes to food.

The breakfast was extremely disappointing very little choice, and very bad quality.

The room was smaller than a usual standard, which wasn't a big deal for us, the bed was 1 and a half rather than a double.

Weather apart we really enjoyed our holiday and our stay.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Vincenzo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bertmari, Guest Relations Manager at Viking Village Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Dear Vincenzo M,

We are very glad to see you had a good time at Hotel Viking, as well as in the restaurant.
Though it's very unfortunate that you weren't so found of the breakfast, and size of your room.
I hope you choose to stay with us again in the future, our superior rooms have bigger beds than the standard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

This is a good value hotel on the seafront close to Reykjavik but handy to visit.
The main bus terminal is within sight of the hotel and the tide to Reykjavik is about 15mins and costs 440 kroner each.
The breakfast is good, the only criticism is the TV is on in the breakfast room, its only BBC breakfast news, I came away to avoid UK news!!. I did hear an American child ask his mother why they were showing the UK weather!
The staff were great and friendly and the rooms and public areas were clean and tidy

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank psykes1374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bertmari, Guest Relations Manager at Viking Village Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2017

Dear psykes1374,

Thank you for taking your time to write this review, we highly appreciate it.

It's great to hear you feel the hotel has good value, and you liked the rooms, staff and breakfast. Though, I apologize you didn't like the channel on TV, it's actually no problem to just ask the staff to switch to another channel. We could've easily done that for you, or anyone who would have just asked.
I hope you'll give us a second visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017 via mobile

I dined at the Viking village on a business trip with work colleges,we were entertained by a singing Viking,which one of my workmates became an honery Viking,certificate to say so aswell,meals were very nice an staff very helpful.would dine here again.

Stayed: June 2017
Thank Batesy139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bertmari, Guest Relations Manager at Viking Village Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2017

Dear Batesy139,

We are delighted to hear you would dine again at our restaurant! Next time I hope you'll check out the hotel as well :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017

We stayed at the hotel for one night, just before our departure after a 10 day road trip around Iceland. Location is great, there is a boardwalk with a beautiful views of the fisherman's wharf and mountains in the back. Room is very spacious, with huge and comfortable beds. Sparkling clean. Water in the bathroom comes from hot springs, so will have a bit of a smell... But it's good for your skin and you get use to the smell after a while. We had a corner suite and the view was spectacular. At night we were able to see the northern lights, as a farewell gift from Iceland :)

We left very early in the morning so were not able to have breakfast. But the room where they serve breakfast looked wicked. Viking décor. There is a gift shop near reception area as well. Across the hotel there is a restaurant - where you must dine if you stay here and order a Viking Meal. It offers Hakarl as an appy, for gutsy ones, you can wash it down with Black Death :) The rest of the meal was delicious...

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Maria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bertmari, Guest Relations Manager at Viking Village Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2017

Dear Maria T,

It's always so heart warming to see that our guests liked their stay at Hotel Viking, we sincerely appreciate this wonderful review.
Hope we get to welcome you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hafnarfjordur
16.9 km away
Hotel Laxnes
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
1,081 reviews
1.8 km away
Nordurey Hotel Reykjavik Road
Nordurey Hotel Reykjavik Road
#1 of 4 in Hafnarfjordur
512 reviews
38.2 km away
Frost and Fire Hotel
Frost and Fire Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hveragerdi
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 km away
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#18 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,808 reviews
8.1 km away
Kriunes Hotel
Kriunes Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kopavogur
303 reviews
30.9 km away
Northern Light Inn
Northern Light Inn
#2 of 3 in Grindavik
1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viking Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Village Hotel

Address: Strandgata 55, Hafnarfjordur 220, Iceland
Phone Number:
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Hafnarfjordur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hafnarfjordur
Price Range: $165 - $419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Viking Village Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Viking has 56 well furnished and cozy rooms including shower, WC and television. The décor of the rooms on the first floor is Viking style and on the second floor it is a West Nordic theme. When you enter the Hotel, you are greeted with fine art and crafts from these three countries, Iceland, Greenland and the Faroe Islands. We have access to wireless Internet and free parking just outside the hotel. In our geothermal hot tub and sauna you can recuperate and freshen up and relax after a long day of excitement.Our guests are welcomed to our Fjörukráin,the Viking Restaurant, which is open for dinner from 18.00 every day.The style is Viking whereby during these famous feasts there is never a dull moment and the guests can expect various treats and surprises offered by our singing Valkyries and Vikings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Viking Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing