We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Glymur(Akranes)
US$188
US$184
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Hafnarfjall(Borgarnes)(Great Value!)
US$217
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$201
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Laxnes(Mosfellsbaer)
US$197
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$296
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$290
US$272
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Cabin(Reykjavik)
US$170
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$422
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (377)
Filter reviews
377 results
Traveller rating
273
77
22
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
273
77
22
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsglacier tournorthern lightslava cavethermal poolshotel restaurant ismodern hotelgreat hikinghead waiterbad weatherwonderful hotelstandard roomhotel guestsfine diningremote locationhot springscourse mealthree nights
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 377 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very nice rooms, and great beds.. Dinner was over the top, had the lamb and husband had the cod.
Ladies at the Front desk so nice and helpful. Wish the weather would have cooperated and we could have played golf.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank travelbyv2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Unnar B, Manager at Hotel Husafell, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for choosing Hotel Husafell and taking the time to review our property. I'll be sure to pass on your compliments to Edda & co at the front desk. June was worst weather on record in Iceland... but we hope to see you back for some midnight golf or autumn hiking. Cheers from West Iceland!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Wonderful hotel in a beautiful place Húsafell. The swimming pool is excellent and the staff is friendly.
I am definitely coming back - this year in the autumn.
Looking forward to the next stay at Hotel Húsafell.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank thz893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Unnar B, Manager at Hotel Husafell, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your review. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again to our Hotel Husafell! Autumn is an amazing time to hike among the birch trees and moss dressed in fall colors has to be seen to be believed. Please follow us on Facebook and Instagram for our best fall packages. Sjaumst!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We booked this at the end of a 16-day trip around the Ring road. Of the nine places we’ve stayed in Iceland, this is the most disappointing. For the price, you can do far, far better. The pools close at 7 pm on weeknights. The rooms are basic and lack even blackout shades for Iceland’s 24-hour daylight. The staff lacks training and is not Icelandic for the most part — not the least bit authentic as an experience in the country. We were told we had to make a restaurant reservation for dinner and then told we couldn’t have our preferred time — but we were given 30 minutes earlier. During our entire dinner (2-plus hours of slow service by a trainee who meant well but had no idea what he was doing) we never saw the place more than half full. To be fair, the food was fresh and good. The head waiter, when he was around, was friendly and knowledgeable. But overall, it contributes to the theme. This place is over-marketed and over-priced. Stay at the Fosshotel Reykholt down the road. Far better value, bigger rooms and friendly staff. Sadly, Husafell doesn’t live up to its ambitions.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank Silas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Unnar B, Manager at Hotel Husafell, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Silas L,
I’m deeply upset to hear about the disappointing experience you’ve had at the hotel’s restaurant. I apologize that we weren’t able to accommodate the dinner reservation time you requested. I appreciate that you thought the food was fresh and good but that doesn’t make up for the slow service and lack of attention from the wait staff. We are a new hotel that is family owned and operated and many of our employees are still in training. Guest satisfaction is our main priority so we greatly appreciate your feedback as it can only help us grow and improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We didn't stay long, but we had a good experience. The hotel/resort was clean and well maintained. The decor waa minimalistic yet comfortable. The on site restaurant offered tasty dishes and beautiful views. The lounge area was cozy yet contemporary. The geothermal pools were a fantastic way to unwind. Enjoyed the bistro/local on site store, which was convenient. We enjoyed the recommended artist's hiking trail. All around a good experience.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Thank TravelerDSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Unnar B, Manager at Hotel Husafell, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you TrevelerDSS for choosing Hotel Husafell in West Iceland. Although your stay was short it sounds like you were able to enjoy quite a lot during your stay. We're so glad you tried the hiking trails - this is a favorite Icelandic pastime around here. We hope to welcome you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My family of 5 stayed here while visiting the glacier in Iceland. Food is fantastic, and the location is beautiful. Lots of hiking and, of course, easy access to the glacier. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Hot tub on our deck after hiking was a highlight! Rooms in the villa are small but cozy. Great for a family of 5.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank mrgkaplan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Unnar B, Manager at Hotel Husafell, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you mrgkaplan for your review we're thrilled you liked the holiday villas - this is a new venture for us. Please tell your friends and we hope to see you again in West Iceland!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews