We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute and quaint”
Review of Luna Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Luna Apartments
Reviewed 16 November 2017 via mobile

This accommodation is perfect for a couple or two friends travelling together. The apartment is located is a very central in Reykjavik close to shops and restaurants. It's a 3 min walk to the large church, Hallgrímskirkja. This has a well stocked kitchen and it's kept very clean.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank KJL L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

14 - 18 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2017

I stayed in Reykjavik in September, 2017 at the Luna Apartment Hotel. The location I stayed was Baldursgata. The apartment was modern, clean and well appointed. The location was second to none. It was close to restaurants and attractions in Reykjavik and there was free parking at the church 5 minutes away. It was great to make coffee or eat in the apartment and save a few dollars (restaurant food is quite pricey in Iceland). I would highly recommend the Luna Apartments as an option over regular hotels. We expected it to be noisy but it wasn’t at all.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank JJamieson007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017

Booked in September to stay in the Art Studio in December. Confused that I could only find the apartments on booking.com and trip advisor, and nowhere else online apart from a company called Luna. Very confusing name and website situation. Turns out they are Luna.is. Emailed to confirm that I had indeed booked the Art Studio, was informed around a week later that it wasn't the Art Studio in the photos and that they have a new Art Studio, which was essentially a very nice looking little apartment, nothing to do with Art. Thought, fine, looks lovely, I'll keep the booking. When I checked back on booking.com around a month ago where I'd actually booked through, I noticed that they had removed 3/5 of the photos of the new Art Studio from the link to it in my booking confirmation. They also seemed to have a new check in office at a different location. You'd think they'd contact all of their bookings to inform them of this? So I emailed again using photos of the apartment I found I here from a good review of it ( it's the one with the black kitchen, hanging lights, sloped ceiling, dark grey L shaped sofa, and 1 bedroom) to check that this definitely was the apartment I'd booked and explained that I was sorry to hassle them, but I was starting to feel quite stressed (this is a surprise booking for my boyfriends birthday) and I just didn't want to arrive and find that they'd actually put me in a similar but difffernt apartment, I thought I'd get a response. About a month later now, still no response to my emails. So I cancelled and booked a really nice AirBnb. Couldn't be dealing with the stress and terrible service from these people. It's a shame as we stayed here about 3 years ago when the house these apartments are in had lovely, helpful owners and we had a great stay. Seems that they've sold up and the new owners seem to have loads of apartments across the city, are very disorganised, and don't seem to care. Avoid this place unless you can get direct and reliable contact with them!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank GraphiteNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017

Booking our stay at Luna Apartments Hotel was easy to do online and we got a great deal, though cancellation will result in being charged for the full amount booked. Luna Apartments have units at two or three addresses in central Reykjavik. We booked a studio apartment in a building (Baldursgata 39) located one block to a busy shopping street and two blocks to the Hallgrimskirkja church. There are many restaurants and shops within walking distance. The location was the big attraction for us and the studio we stayed in for 5 nights was clean, modern and equipped with a kitchen. The kitchen was a big plus - by eating in frequently and shopping for food at the local grocery, we reduced our restaurant bills considerably, as prices for restaurant meals are shockingly higher than what we are used to paying when traveling. The unit was light and bright due to the big windows there. Management was very helpful, getting us into the unit as soon as it had been cleaned. Our only quibble with this unit was minor as we discovered a bag of garbage on the balcony outside. Our cable TV quit once as well, but a call to management resulted in a quick fix while we were gone. We would definitely stay here should we ever visit Iceland again!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank PDX_Nomad2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017

Great, modern apartment on Baldursgata. Free parking on the street outside or at the church just up the road. We had the penthouse with two bedrooms and bathrooms which was spotlessly clean and nicely decorated. There is no reception or check-in; you just get your keys from the keybox downstairs and then let yourself in. This suited us perfectly. Walking distance to all the restaurants and shops of downtown Reykjavic. Great bakery just round the corner and a supermarket too.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank HMWF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Rey Apartments Hotel
Rey Apartments Hotel
#5 of 110 in Reykjavik
523 reviews
Room With a View Apartments
#25 of 110 in Reykjavik
905 reviews
The Swan House
The Swan House
#8 of 110 in Reykjavik
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Our House
Our House
#4 of 110 in Reykjavik
174 reviews
Apartment K
#38 of 110 in Reykjavik
1,272 reviews
Island Apartments
#29 of 110 in Reykjavik
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Apartments

Address: Laugavegi 37, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Formerly 37Apartments)
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 110 Speciality Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range: $245 - $531 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Luna Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, these smart luxury apartments are situated just steps away from a wealth of Icelandic cultural and culinary experiences. We offer long and short term accommodation with facilities to compliment your stay. There is also abundance of local amenities within walking distance, including leisure activities such as saunas and swimming pools. 37Apartments Hotel's unique boutique style studios and suites will satisfy both your business and pleasure needs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
37apartments Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing