We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$376
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$298
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Fosshotel Lind(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
US$218
US$192
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$351
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
US$207
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Island(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hlemmur Square(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
US$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$287
US$244
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reykjavik Downtown HI Hostel(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
US$230
US$224
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Fron(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
US$208
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,297)
Filter reviews
1,297 results
Traveller rating
561
496
145
65
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
561
496
145
65
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsart decooverlooking the squarenew wingbeautiful hotelcafe parisparliament buildingperfect locationroom was largeearly hoursunderfloor heatingthe heart of the citybreakfast buffetwithin easy walking distancerestaurants and barscentral reykjavikblackout curtainsblue lagoon
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 1,297 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2018 via mobile

My husband took us as a surprise trip to Reykjavik, on arrival at 1am when my husband had 2 suitcases plus bags and I was carrying our 6 yr old son asleep - NO help was offered. They put our family at Room 104 above their hotel bar, which had loud music until 3am. Who puts people with kids above a hotel disco! Put young people which go clubbing until 3am, they will be in paradise. Absolutely insensible management!!! Up on complaint front desk didn’t seem surprise!! At a 350Euros p/night never again!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Julie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArnarFr, Assistant Hotel Manager at Hotel Borg by Keahotels, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Dear Julie J,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and we're very sorry that you were unhappy with your stay with us. Our management team is reviewing your comments to ensure they are used to improve our guest's experience.

Best regards,
Arnar Freyr Óskarsson
Assistant Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2018 via mobile

I have a bad back and I can say in all my traveling for business and vacation I have never slept on a better bed. My back actually improved during my stay. The rooms we more American in size, which is great.

Free coffee for hotel guests in the lobby restaurant is a nice touch. I did not use it but there is a spa on site as well.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank johncizmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArnarFr, Assistant Hotel Manager at Hotel Borg by Keahotels, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Dear johncizmar,

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel.
It is great to see that your back got better.

We hope you enjoyed your time in Iceland and hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,
Arnar Freyr Óskarsson
Assistant Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018

We were there for 5 nights April 24-29. Front desk staff were very accommodating by allowing us to have our room on arrival at approximately 0800. The room was on the first floor facing the rear. This was not a quiet room and we did change rooms on our last night which was much quieter (thank you Marco!). In our first room which was situated in the new wing the room was very small, the heated floor did not work and the heated towel rack never came on. In spite of reporting this and supposedly checked this was never fixed. Also the HVAC system was not in operation, so we were forced basically to have the door open and of course were awoken by noise either by bottles being deposited in recycling bins, screaming revelers, or loud music.
Gym was very small and basic, on most mornings when I was there it had not been cleaned. There is a hot tub, steam and sauna that we did use 1 day, but since the massage room was being used we were asked to not make any noise.
Had breakfast there in the mornings (included) and it was very good, although the Cafe Paris across the street had much better coffee.
Be warned that Iceland is VERY expensive, very beautiful and very popular.

Room Tip: Stay in front or side, higher floors with opening windows. The fan they gave us made more noise than the partyers outside. .
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Neil W W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArnarFr, Assistant Hotel Manager at Hotel Borg by Keahotels, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Dear Neil W W,
Thank you for your review.
It is good to see that our front desk staff was able to accommodate you so early.
Im sorry that HVAC system did not work in your room, if there is anything you can always contact the front desk, they will do their best to fix whatever the problem is.
I hope that you had an amazing time in Iceland and if you ever return we would be more that happy to welcome you again to Hotel Borg.

Best regards,
Arnar Freyr Óskarsson
Assistant Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018

We stayed here for a full week as our conference was booked here and we didn't want to change hotels. So we used Reykjavik as a base for day trips. Even though it required some travel to get to destinations, it was offset by not having to pack up and get settled into new places and the adjustments that go with that. And whenever we had free time, we had plenty to see and do and stores to shop at in Reykjavik. The hotel itself was lovely. The beds and bedding were comfortable and the shower was great, our two most important requirements. The rooms are on the small side though, unless you book a suite. Breakfast is served in Jamie Oliver's restaurant, which is attached. The breakfast is good, but not as varied as many hotel breakfast buffets I've had elsewhere. It's probably partially due to the size of the hotel and the number of guests. However there could be some variety day to day as it only changed minimally if at all from one day to the next. The hotel staff is excellent. The front desk was very helpful. It seemed we needed to change our restaurant reservation time nearly every night as it was hard to predict when we would be back from touring. They called the restaurants on our behalf. On our last night, the two men working the desk were especially helpful. When they called the restaurant, they ensured we were seated at one of the best tables. They also brought us a bottle of wine to our room before dinner, which was totally unexpected and they refused to accept a gratuity. And the hotel's location could not be beat. We were within a few minutes walking of every restaurant.

Room Tip: If a suite is in your budget, they are much roomier.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArnarFr, Assistant Hotel Manager at Hotel Borg by Keahotels, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Dear Ellen L,

Thank you for your detailed comments and for taking the time to share them with us and the Tripadvisor community. We hope you visit us again soon and we look forward welcoming you back!

Kind Regards,
Arnar Freyr Óskarsson
Assistant Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018 via mobile

The hotel is nicely located and like most premises in Iceland, spotlessly clean. The breakfast was prohibitively expensive so we didn’t bother. Similarly we were disappointed to see that there was an additional charge to use the gym: a first in my experience. Incidentally, leave your car by the cathedral for charge free parking: it’s only a ten minute walk. We found this out rather than being told about it.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank noel i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArnarFr, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Borg by Keahotels, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018


Dear Noel I,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We hope you will come back and visit us soon!

Best regards,
Eva Björg Eyjólfsdóttir
Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews