We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”
Review of Hotel Klettur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Klettur
Ranked #31 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Reviewed 13 October 2017

The hotel was very comfortable, clean, good location. They have a fabulous tour booking service, easy to find out info and easy to book. Picked up and dropped off right outside the hotel for both airport transfers and day trip tours. Breakfast was included, buffet style and was very tasty, good start to the day. I especially liked the porridge. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zaravb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ída S, sales and marketing representative at Hotel Klettur, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear zaravb,

Thank you so much for the recommendation and the review. We are delighted to read about your recent visit. We agree, the hot porridge is indeed tasty - glad you liked it :)
Thank you again for all the kind words and compliments. We really appreciate them.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hótel Klettur soon.

All best,
Hótel Klettur team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,655)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 1,655 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2017

My two friends and I stayed for two nights at Hotel Klettur. It has a great location, garage parking and was perfectly comfortable. It was about a 15 minute walk downtown, and they had lots of tours leaving right from the hotel lobby. I'd definitely stay here again. Next time, I might even take advantage of their car rental program for added convenience. Check in time was very firm for us, the earliest they could do was 3 PM. Keep that in mind, in case you have a really early flight.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank gina8668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ída S, sales and marketing representative at Hotel Klettur, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear gina8668,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a great review regarding your stay with us.
We are delighted to know that you liked our location, we agree with you :) Hótel Klettur is only a few minutes away from the main shopping street, Laugavegur. The supermarket store Bónus is also just right around the corner, very convenient :)
Check-in is at 3 pm, the reason for that is that we need time to clean all the rooms before our next guests arrive. We would like to mention that we sometimes offer earlier check in depending on availability.
Once again, thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back.

All best,
Hótel Klettur team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017 via mobile

Hotel was nice for our 6 night stay. Rooms are clean and good views from the top floor rooms with a balcony.
Staff were helpful & friendly on Reception.
The breakfast was very basic. Only porridge as hot option. Everything else was cold with fruit/cheese/ham/bread. It would of been nice to have a hot breakfast, especially before a full day excursion.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank LM2510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ída S, sales and marketing representative at Hotel Klettur, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear LM2510,

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing to stay at Hótel Klettur.
Glad that you liked your room, the views and the effort from our staff - we really appreciate all the kind words :)
Our complimentary breakfast buffet consists of cereals, a selection of sandwich fillings, fruit, bread, skyr, cheese, pastries and hot porridge. We try to offer something for every one. We are sorry if it did not quite meet your expectations - we thank you for your feedback, we are always looking for ways to improve.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

All best,
Hótel Klettur team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed here Wednesday to Sunday last week, we booked through Iceland air, flights were superb.
We arrived at the hotel we smiled at the reception staff and they smiled back they are so very helpful.
We too asked for extra pillows, they came straight away, tea,coffee,kettle etc. in the room, the room was lovely and warm and the shower was toasty hot just what you need after a full day out. Breakfast had everything we needed the staff in there were smiley and helpful too.
We were promptly collected from reception for our trips, blue lagoon, whales,northern lights and golden circle all the trips were fab.
Look out online for the 'free walking tour on a Saturday afternoon we had Sara she was very knowledgeable but funny to, we tipped her very well, we loved that couple of hours with Sara.
All in all a great first trip, thanks Iceland air and the Kletteur xxx

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank flossylil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ída S, sales and marketing representative at Hotel Klettur, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear flossylil,

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We appreciate all your kind words - your feedback is indeed very helpful for our potential future guests :)

It is nice to know that your room was both warm and lovely, the breakfast buffet was a hit and that you liked the effort from our lovely staff. Thank you again for all the compliments.

Hopefully we will see you again, very soon!
All best,
Hótel Klettur team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

great little hotel, within walking distance of the main street and just around the corner from a grocery store (and Devitos which is a great pizza place) Nice, helpful staff. Solid breakfast (European style; meat, cheese, bred/toast, coffee, fruit/veg, cold cereals) with good serving hours (7-10am) will even pack you a breakfast if you have to depart from your flight very early. comfy beds, pillows were a little inconsistent, my bed had a rather firm memory-foam type pillow and my mothers had a quite flat regular pillow, but they were happy to give us more. 24hr check in and a tour desk to set up or confirm your tours for you.
Added bonus: All our tours picked us up right at the hotel, some downtown hotels are on routes the buses aren't allowed on so they had to go to stops to be picked up, but they are able to pull right up to Klettur.
Views from the rooms seemed like they mostly looked over the small barren courtyard towards the other wings room, but stepping out into the hallway gave a beautiful view over the bay from our wing.
There is also a luggage storage room to leave your things if checkout (or check in) don't line up with your flight.
Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Erica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ída S, sales and marketing representative at Hotel Klettur, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear Erica D,

Thank you for your great feedback and for choosing us. It was a pleasure reading the review :)
We are glad to know that you had an enjoyable stay at Hótel Klettur and we look forward seeing you again, very soon :)

Kind regards,
Hótel Klettur team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Fosshotel Raudara
#41 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,144 reviews
Fosshotel Lind
#34 of 54 in Reykjavik
972 reviews
Fosshotel Baron
#39 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Háaleiti
Hotel Island
Hotel Island
#33 of 54 in Reykjavik
553 reviews
Háaleiti
City Park Hotel
City Park Hotel
#23 of 54 in Reykjavik
299 reviews
22 Hill Hotel
#24 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Klettur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Klettur

Address: Mjoelnisholt 12-14, Reykjavik, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range: $199 - $362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Klettur 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Klettur is a beautiful first class hotel, a stone's throw from downtown. The hotel's name is derived from the rock that breaks through the wall on the first floor. When choosing the color theme and the interior decoration for the hotel we had in mind the unique color scheme of the Icelandic nature.Hótel Klettur has 166 rooms, of which there are 146 Standard rooms and 20 Deluxe rooms. The rooms are all modern, bright, spacious and well quipped. The Deluxe rooms are located on the top two floors of the hotel and have a shared lounge and balcony facing south.In every room you will find a refrigerator, telephone, satellite TV, internet connection, ironing board, clothing iron, hair dryer, coffee and tea maker and a safe.Hótel Klettur is well located in Reykjavík, only about two minutes walk from the main bus terminal and Laugavegur shopping street. The hotel is within 2 km walking distance from all the major sights and only about 1,6 km from Harpa concert hall and conference center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Klettur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing