We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Vik Arctic Comfort
Nearby Hotels
US$190
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Fosshotel Lind(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
US$185
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
22 Hill Hotel(Reykjavik)
US$158
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$194
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$135
US$132
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$427
US$257
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
CenterHotel Klopp(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
US$152
US$147
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$308
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
City Center Hotel(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
US$127
US$118
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Odinsve(Reykjavik)
US$176
US$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (596)
Filter reviews
596 results
Traveller rating
82
253
187
51
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
82
253
187
51
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity centrehot waterminute walkthe busbuilding next doorsecond buildingdropped offhour supermarkettea coffee making facilitiesseparate buildingquiet areacleaned every dayhired a carbreadmini fridgeshort breakdecent hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 596 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel was part of a package, it is out of the way and there is nothing much to do surrounding it. The reception is in need of a make over drastically and the hotel is split into 2 sections we were out of the door into the next block.

There are no lifts so be prepared to carry your luggage up stairs, also watch out for the door jams they can trip. The rooms are very warm and you open the window via a pully system.

The shower leaked over the floor and although hubby got used to sulphur smell when having a shower I couldn't.

You pay 2000 isk for breakfast which tbh is not worth 5 isk.

It is a 45 min walk into town, we didnt even attempt the buses as the map was not very clear.

I am glad we were only there 3 nights, would I stay there again no I don't think I would

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank CherylHooson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in this hotel as part of a package, probably wouldn't have booked myself. That said it was fine. Staff were friendly. The room smelt musty when we first went in but realised this was the sulphur in the hot water, cold water is fine to drink. Tea and coffee and a small fridge. Beds comfy, the quilts are a bit thin but deceptively warm. If you like a good pillow you'll be disappointed, very small flat offerings. Hairdryer wasn't working, reported on the first day but not repaired. Breakfast was 1000 ISK (about £7.25). Cereal, fruit, yoghurt, toast, cheese, ham, waffles, jams, teas, coffee and juice. Given the price of stuff in Iceland this was quite good value for money. As the other reviews report, it's a long walk to Reyjkavik, we tried to walk but the rain meant that we gave up. A 15/20 minute walk to Kringlan shopping mal you can get a free shuttle bus into the city centre. Taxi cost about 2,500 ISK (£17.00). Now that we're aware of the area we will return to this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in the separate building on the top floor, no lift but quiet
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Barb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were assigned this hotel as part of a holiday deal and I was a bit worried by some of the reviews. Granted this hotel is not in the town centre but the area is wonderfully quiet and there are places to shop and eat within a short walking distance. The room was clean, warm and comfortable with a TV, mini fridge and tea/coffee making facilities. It was cleaned every day. The staff were friendly and helpful. Yes the shower room has a glass front but it’s frosted and faces the wardrobe so not an issue - the shower was plenty powerful enough and no tinkering required to get a decent hot shower. The hotel makes a good base for trips but the Hilton it’s not. We were quite happy staying there however.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Clare1602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here as part of a package. It was very basic but clean. No restaurant on site and a bit off the beaten track. We walked into the city centre which took 45 mins. It’s nothing fancy but if you need somewhere to put your head down and you use it as a base for excursions it does the trick.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank nectaflute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018

We were allocated this hotel as part of a deal by a U.K. Company called BARGAIN LATE HOLIDAYS. All we wanted was something warm and clean as a base. We left after 20 minutes!

Check in is like a back street mini cab office. All you have to do is look at the dirt on the carpet in this area to get a feel of what the rest of the place is like. After filling out the forms we were taken to the adjacent office to our room. Here it got no better the carpets up the stairs and in the hallway are all filthhy.

Once in our room it got worse. The sheets on the bed were grey and dirty. After pulling back the quilts we found other peoples hair in the bed. I was sent downstairs to see if we could get clean bedding. The manager returned with me to see what was wrong. On returning my wife showed him where nothing had been cleaned and the state of the beds. She had also been in the bathroom at this point which was of the same unclean standard.

The staff were hastily called and we were asked what could be done to improve the situation. To be fair 400 gallons of petrol and a match were the only real solution to this dump!!

We were offered another room but it wasn't going to happen. A quick look on line for another hotel nearby and free found us the hilton a mile away. It was freezing cold and we were tired but my wife said lets walk, with suit cases, just to get away from this place quickly.

The big down side is that this was pre-paid via other agencies so getting a refund from BARGAIN LATE HOLIDAYS will be difficult, as we didn't contact them to find another 'doss house' to be put in before booking somewhere on our own.

If you are thinking of booking this hotel as a cheap place to do Iceland don't bother. I have had 5 star hotels in New York Times Square for far less than I paid for this dump.
If you have it booked already I suggest to cancel it and find elswhere. If you are allocated it by BARGAIN LATE HOLIDAYS or their partners. Refuse it!

Trying to do Iceland on the cheap doesn't work, pay a bit more and find somewhere better and enjoy it.

On a positive the manager seemed like a nice bloke but the old adage of 'you can't polish a t***' stands firm for this place.

Room Tip: Find another hotel!!!!
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank smithawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews