We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast makes the difference”
Review of Fosshotel Baron

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fosshotel Baron
Ranked #39 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Reviewed 20 October 2017

Good location. The bar had a reasonably priced happy hour which would not normally be important but given the very high costs of alcohol in the country this is useful. Similarly the breakfast which is fresh and with a good choice helps make the hotel cost more reasonable. The room was basic but had a reasonable view and good tv service with UK channels. The bed was comfortable and there was coffee in the room. The only downside was the shower curtain did not reach to the bottom of the shower so the room tend to flood a bit. There was also a very efficient check-in and check-out.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better as there are sometimes large tour groups coming and going from the hotel
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank WarrenHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fosshotel-GRM, Front Office Manager at Fosshotel Baron, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello Warren,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. It's always great to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay. Iceland can be relatively expensive so we really try to provide great value for money at Fosshotel Baron so we are very happy to hear that we could help because we want everyone to be able to explore our beautiful country without too many budget concerns.

We hope to see you again in the future at Fosshotel Baron and the first drink will be on us next time!

Best regards,
Hjalti Freyr
Front Office Manager at Fosshotel Baron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,740)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

35 - 39 of 1,740 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2017 via mobile

Location is unbeatable, right in the heart of town with a great pizzeria Eld Smidjan a block away and a supermarket just opposite. Breakfast buffet is satisfying with decent variety, and you can even make your own waffle!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank teerameesoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fosshotel-GRM, Front Office Manager at Fosshotel Baron, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello there,

Thank you for the wonderful and succinct feedback!

We're delighted that you liked your time at Baron and hope to see you again!

Best regards,
Hjalti Freyr
Front Office Manager at Fosshotel Baron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017

Upon arrival at the hotel early in the morning we were told that our room was not ready and to come back at around 2pm. We stored our luggage in the lockable luggage room and went out exploring.

We returned at 2pm and checked in. we had booked a historical room but we were given room 404 – a large double with a sea view. We were over the moon.

The room was very comfortable, with a lovely bed. The TV had loads of English channels and there were plenty of tea & coffee supplies.

Breakfast was amazing. Plenty of choice, plenty of tables and very friendly staff who kept everywhere spotless.

We slept very well at the hotel as it was a lovely temperature and very quiet at night.

The location was perfect as it is just a short walk to the main area of town and just across the road from the seafront.

I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here if we return to Reykjavik

Room Tip: room 404 had a lovely view across to the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebrisDoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fosshotel-GRM, Front Office Manager at Fosshotel Baron, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Hello there,

Thank you so much for the great review and high praise! We're absolutely delighted to hear that we could make your stay so comfortable. We always aim to give great service and it is very motivating to hear that we succeeded.

We are proud to have earned your recommendations and would love to welcome you back at Fosshotel Baron.

Best regards,
Hjalti Freyr
Front Office Manager at Fosshotel Baron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017

My group of 6 stayed at the Fosshotel Baron for two nights at the beginning of our Iceland trip and then one night for our last night there. The location was great for exploring the city and seeing all the tourist spots. It also made it really easy to walk around to find a restaurant for supper.
The buffet breakfast was great and is included in the room fee! I can't believe they were missing anything. They appeared to be really aware of what North Americans eat as well as what Europeans would want to have.
We rented a car and were easily able to get a parking spot which was free with our room reservation.
Our rooms overlooked the water so it was a nice view. I think the other side overlooked the city buildings but there was a lot of construction happening while we were there so not as nice.
The beds were really comfortable and they have 2 extra pillows in each room. As well there was a coffee maker and a hair dryer.
The only complaint I have was with the showers. Each room seemed to be a little different but there was no containment of the water from the shower so the bathroom floor was quite wet and we had to use some towels to tidy up. Maybe that's just a Canadian issue as it is very different from what we are used to. Also in one room the water was extremely hot in the shower and the cold wouldn't come on, so I showered in my friend's room. I did call reception and they advised me where to turn the knob to get cold which I already tried but It just wasn't cooling down.
The reception staff was friendly and helpful. We arrived on a 5:30 am flight so did a walking tour in the morning and then the hotel staff let us in our rooms at about 12:30, a few hours before check in. We were very grateful for this!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank discover-fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fosshotel-GRM, Front Office Manager at Fosshotel Baron, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Hello there,

It's always fantastic to hear that our guests had a great stay with us and we really appreciate that you took the time to give us such a wonderful review. We'll make sure to have a look at the showers as well too so thank you for the suggestion. We understand the importance of an earlier check-in after a long day of traveling so we always try to accommodate our guests whenever we have the availability for it and it's great to hear that we could help with that!

We very much hope to see you again at Baron in the future!

Best regards,
Hjalti Freyr
Front Office Manager at Fosshotel Baron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

When I booked, I misunderstood and thought I was booking Fosshotel Reykjavik (should have realized the rate was so reasonable), but oh well... after we got used to it, the hotel serviced us just fine for 9 days. Hubby on business and me with limited physical abilities limited what we did, but there seemed like there was plenty to do!

The location is spot on as it is just on the edge of the city center. Even I could take a short 2 block walk up a hill to enjoy shopping and the sites of downtown. We stayed on the second floor in a Deluxe Room that had a patio overlooking a construction site (there is construction going on all over Reykjavik at this time (10-2017), so that was probably unavoidable no matter where we stayed. There was also a well-stocked but expensive convenience store - the "10-11" right behind the hotel, so if you forgot something, you could get it in a short walk.

Not only is the location great, but the breakfasts are awesome! You need to make sure you get down there early enough because they end at 10AM, and they are not kidding! You can eat enough to last you past lunch! They have anything and everything you might want in a buffet style and plenty of tables. There is also a bar on site that opens around 18:00 and I'm not sure when it closes (I didn't take advantage of it).

The room was clean and serviced every day, the desk is managed 24 hours and the staff tries to be as accommodating as they can. They seem to be upgrading parts of their services, as while we were there they added refrigerated cases to the lobby so if you wanted a cola or beer (beer is very popular in Reykjavik) off hours, you can buy it from them.

There were a few first world issues: Beds were comfortable but were two twins pushed together with separate bedding. Sofa was an older fold out. HUGE painting of a ruffly 18th century dude over sofa (could have done without that), TV that couldn't be watched from bed (pout), Drip coffee pot (good coffee was abundant downstairs), Small fridge and microwave hidden in a counter (found it the second day we were there). Round table and chairs, and the aforementioned patio. Construction begins at 08:00 sharp and ends at 17:30 and will wake you up, but why not? You can hustle downstairs to snap up your food!

All-in-all, a good hotel - no bad experiences here, and the airport bus will drop you off at the door. Also, across the street is ProCars, where I eventually rented a car when we needed one. There is a fast food restaurant and the beautiful seawall with the Johann Eyfells "Icelandic Cairn" sculpture as well as others along the sea wall walk. Nice!

Stayed: October 2017
Thank lbravo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fosshotel-GRM, Front Office Manager at Fosshotel Baron, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Hello there,

Thank you so much for the very well thought out and helpful feedback for us and your fellow travelers. We're delighted to hear that we could live up to your standards and that our location which is closer to the downtown area than Fosshotel Reykjavik served as a positive for you and your husband! Reykjavik is indeed a fast-growing city so there is construction in a lot of places especially here in the city center.

We appreciate the high praise and would love to welcome you and your husband back if you ever visit Iceland in the future!

Best regards,
Hjalti Freyr
Front Office Manager at Fosshotel Baron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Fosshotel Raudara
#41 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,145 reviews
Fosshotel Lind
#34 of 54 in Reykjavik
974 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
CenterHotel Klopp
CenterHotel Klopp
#35 of 54 in Reykjavik
922 reviews
Hotel Hilda
#42 of 54 in Reykjavik
167 reviews
Háaleiti
Hotel Island
Hotel Island
#33 of 54 in Reykjavik
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fosshotel Baron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fosshotel Baron

Address: Sigtun 38, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#13 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: $183 - $426 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fosshotel Baron 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fosshotel Baron with its 120 rooms and apartments is an official year-round 3-star hotel in downtown Reykjavik. We are located only a few steps away from the main shopping street Laugavegur and the main attractions in Reykjavik's city center. All of our rooms and apartments have a bathroom with a shower, TV and there is free Wi-Fi in all areas of the hotel. Fosshotel Baron is a family friendly hotel and offers special features for families and children. Our reception is manned at all hours for the convenience of our guests. All rooms and areas of the hotel are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fosshotel Baron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fosshotel Baron Reykjavík
Fosshotel Baron Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing