We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,933)
Filter reviews
1,933 results
Traveller rating
408
964
425
98
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
408
964
425
98
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswaffle makerthe main shopping streetbreaddomino's pizzanorthern lightssea viewmake your own waffleshot waterhappy hourpaper cupstwo blocksthree starblue lagoonherringsulphur smellbreakfast buffetexcellent location
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 1,933 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2018 via mobile

Very minimal amnesties in room. No fridge, no ice machine access. Bathroom is tiny, shower area cannot fit any standard size adult without touching the curtain. Water from tap smell aweful like full of sulpher. No card key access to room had to use conventional actual key. The size of the tv in room is smaller than standard computer monitor we use in USA. Hotel of this class will be priced at motel 8 or lower rate in USA .. in Iceland it is over $200!

Stuff were great though. Allowed us to early check in without any problem and was very very welcoming and nice! Free parking is a great bonus.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Papillon_xcape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fosshotel-GRM, Front Office Manager at Fosshotel Baron, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Hello there,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We regret that we could not meet your expectations for your recent stay. The hot water in Iceland in most places is geothermal and does have a hint of sulphur smell, it is however perfectly harmless and according to Icelandic folk lore actually very healthy! European sized rooms are on average smaller than US rooms but our rooms are actually above average size for standard rooms in Iceland and Europe. We always recommend our deluxe rooms for those that would like larger rooms and would be happy to give you one of those if we get another chance to impress you.

We thank you for the kind words for our staff and hope that you had a wonderful visit to Iceland overall!

Best regards,
Hjalti Freyr
Front Office Manager at Fosshotel Baron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2018

This hotel was booked for us by Iceland tours, and we stayed in it for 2 nights at the end of our Iceland trip. It is hard to find any fault with it. The staff were very friendly and able to cope with a couple of special requests from us. They even do their best for early breakfasts for guests like us with early departure times to the airport (4 am in the morning). There is free parking directly in front of the hotel, and we never had any difficulty finding a parking space. Our room on the 5th floor was quiet, and there is an elevator to get the bags up. WiFi was solid, and TV had some English channels. Our only minor gripe, in common with almost all the hotels we stayed at in Iceland, is that there were two single beds pushed together to make a double. I don't know why this is some common in Iceland - it really isn't as comfortable. The hotel is very close to the main street with restaurants and souvenir shops. Highly recommended, it would be our first choice if we came back to Reykjavik.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duncan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fosshotel-GRM, Front Office Manager at Fosshotel Baron, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Hello Duncan,

Thank you so much for the kind words and high praise! It is always wonderful to hear that we could make our guests stay so enjoyable and that we are delighted that we could help you experience all that Reykjavik has to offer.

We are very proud to have earned your recommendations and hope to welcome you back in the future!

Best regards,
Hjalti Freyr
Front Office Manager at Fosshotel Baron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018

I took the Fosshotel Baron because its location and price. The price of hotel room is moderate for Reykjavik, and I takes only 10 min. to reach the center of town. The room are specious enough, radiators works (very important fro the cold weather in June in Reykjavik) and the breakfast is excellent (fruits is very important for my diet).
The hotel is connected by Flybus with airport (That service is really excellent in Reykjavik), another important issue!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Samir D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fosshotel-GRM, Front Office Manager at Fosshotel Baron, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Hello Samir,

Thank you for the lovely review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you could freely explore Reykjavik from our great location!

We hope to see you again in the future!

Best regards,
Hjalti Freyr
Front Office Manager at Fosshotel Baron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2018 via mobile

Good location. Great breakfast with lots of varietie. Very friendly and helpful staff. Nice and central. The hotel rooms are nice. They also book any tour you are after and organize all the transfers for you.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Keiran C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fosshotel-GRM, Front Office Manager at Fosshotel Baron, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

Hello Keiran,

Thank you for the lovely feedback. We try our very best to be helpful so it is wonderful to hear that we met your expectations and could help you experience what Reykjavik and Iceland have to offer!

We hope to welcome you back in the future!

Best regards,
Hjalti Freyr
Front Office Manager at Fosshotel Baron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2018 via mobile

As I write this review, we’re bedding down for our final night before flying home tomorrow.
We’ve loved our stay here at the Fosshotel Baron, it’s in a great location, it’s clean, comfortable and the breakfast is great. Our daughter has insisted we purchase a waffle maker as soon as we get home because she can’t possibly live without waffles for breakfast from now on.
We have stayed in room 200, it’s fabulous and we were lucky to have a large balcony stretching the length of our room from which you can see the boats leaving the harbour for whale watching tours etc, which is a definite must do!!
I love the style of our room, the beds are very comfortable, even the sofa bed which our daughter has slept comfortably on for our stay.
The bathroom is compact but beautifully fitted. The shower is fantastic.
All the staff have been very friendly and efficient. We’ve hired a car for our stay and one night we couldn’t park in the car park as it was full, when we asked where was best to park the lady on reception took our registration number and told us we could park in the staff car park instead at the back of the hotel. Nothing was ever too much trouble.
The breakfast is delicious with plenty of choice and plenty of seating for all the guests. You never have to wait for a table. Everything is pristine and clean and everything is topped up as soon as items are running out.
We really couldn’t have picked a better hotel. You can walk to the harbour area and all the bars and restaurants, shops etc.. it’s literally a five/ten minute walk away.
We’ve loved our stay and don’t want to leave. It has been our first trip to Reykjavík but it definitely won’t be our last and when we do return, we will definitely come back here.
Well done everyone at the Fosshotel Baron, you truly deserve your five stars!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Nattyb80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fosshotel-GRM, Front Office Manager at Fosshotel Baron, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

Hello there,

Thank you so much for the high praise and fantastic review! We are absolutely delighted to hear that you and your family had such a great visit to Iceland and that we could help you experience all of what Iceland and Reykjavik have to offer. The waffle maker is our secret weapon when it comes to the kids and it's usually a big hit with the grown-ups too!

We really appreciate the kind words I'll be sure to pass on the compliments for our staff, they work very hard and definitely deserve the praise.

We look very much forward to welcoming you back at Baron!

Best regards,
Hjalti Freyr
Front Office Manager at Fosshotel Baron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews