We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$289
US$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$279/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Fosshotel Lind(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
US$199
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
US$257
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$201/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hlemmur Square(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
US$188
US$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$309
US$295
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reykjavik Downtown HI Hostel(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
US$159
US$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$306
US$267
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$299
US$283
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Loft HI Hostel(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
US$182
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (1,912)
Filter reviews
1,912 results
Traveller rating
403
955
418
98
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
403
955
418
98
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswaffle makerthe main shopping streetbreaddomino's pizzanorthern lightssea viewmake your own waffleshot waterhappy hourpaper cupsshower curtaintwo blocksthree starblue lagoonherringsulphur smellbreakfast buffet
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 1,912 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2018

Our room was above a supermarket, in the roof space. Natural light was supplied by 2 roof lights, approx. 2 metres above floor level. So we could see only sky. Also these would not have been permitted in the UK, as in the event of a fire in the hotel, it would not be possible to escape through them. Apart from that, friendly staff, very good breakfast.

Thank johnbday7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fosshotel-GRM, Front Office Manager at Fosshotel Baron, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Hello John,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We would like to mention that our hotel is of course regularly inspected for fire safety, both by local authorities as well as several tour agencies such as the British TUI that have their own strict regulations and our hotel has always passed with flying colours.

We appreciate the kind words for our staff and breakfast and would love the opportunity to give you a nice ocean view room and impress you further if you ever visit Reykjavik again!

Best regards,
Hjalti Freyr
Front Office Manager at Fosshotel Baron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2018 via mobile

We arrived on Wednesday June 6, 2018 to stay at this lovely and spacious hotel. They have a separate room for my boyfriend’s mom who is traveling with us. Very helpful staff helped us book the blue lagoon tour on the first night. And they have a daily happy hour from 5-8pm. Breakfast is really good with plenty of variety for your taste. The hotel is a block away from the Main Street and the sun seeker sculpture. Excellent and affordable choice for a quick stay.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Noemi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fosshotel-GRM, Front Office Manager at Fosshotel Baron, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018

Hello Noemi,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us and your fellow travelers your great feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that we could serve as a great base for your exploring of our beautiful country and city.

We would love to welcome you back if you visit Iceland again in the future!

Best regards,
Hjalti Freyr
Front Office Manager at Fosshotel Baron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2018 via mobile

Very minimal amnesties in room. No fridge, no ice machine access. Bathroom is tiny, shower area cannot fit any standard size adult without touching the curtain. Water from tap smell aweful like full of sulpher. No card key access to room had to use conventional actual key. The size of the tv in room is smaller than standard computer monitor we use in USA. Hotel of this class will be priced at motel 8 or lower rate in USA .. in Iceland it is over $200!

Stuff were great though. Allowed us to early check in without any problem and was very very welcoming and nice! Free parking is a great bonus.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Papillon_xcape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fosshotel-GRM, Front Office Manager at Fosshotel Baron, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Hello there,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We regret that we could not meet your expectations for your recent stay. The hot water in Iceland in most places is geothermal and does have a hint of sulphur smell, it is however perfectly harmless and according to Icelandic folk lore actually very healthy! European sized rooms are on average smaller than US rooms but our rooms are actually above average size for standard rooms in Iceland and Europe. We always recommend our deluxe rooms for those that would like larger rooms and would be happy to give you one of those if we get another chance to impress you.

We thank you for the kind words for our staff and hope that you had a wonderful visit to Iceland overall!

Best regards,
Hjalti Freyr
Front Office Manager at Fosshotel Baron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2018

This hotel was booked for us by Iceland tours, and we stayed in it for 2 nights at the end of our Iceland trip. It is hard to find any fault with it. The staff were very friendly and able to cope with a couple of special requests from us. They even do their best for early breakfasts for guests like us with early departure times to the airport (4 am in the morning). There is free parking directly in front of the hotel, and we never had any difficulty finding a parking space. Our room on the 5th floor was quiet, and there is an elevator to get the bags up. WiFi was solid, and TV had some English channels. Our only minor gripe, in common with almost all the hotels we stayed at in Iceland, is that there were two single beds pushed together to make a double. I don't know why this is some common in Iceland - it really isn't as comfortable. The hotel is very close to the main street with restaurants and souvenir shops. Highly recommended, it would be our first choice if we came back to Reykjavik.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duncan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fosshotel-GRM, Front Office Manager at Fosshotel Baron, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Hello Duncan,

Thank you so much for the kind words and high praise! It is always wonderful to hear that we could make our guests stay so enjoyable and that we are delighted that we could help you experience all that Reykjavik has to offer.

We are very proud to have earned your recommendations and hope to welcome you back in the future!

Best regards,
Hjalti Freyr
Front Office Manager at Fosshotel Baron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018

I took the Fosshotel Baron because its location and price. The price of hotel room is moderate for Reykjavik, and I takes only 10 min. to reach the center of town. The room are specious enough, radiators works (very important fro the cold weather in June in Reykjavik) and the breakfast is excellent (fruits is very important for my diet).
The hotel is connected by Flybus with airport (That service is really excellent in Reykjavik), another important issue!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Samir D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fosshotel-GRM, Front Office Manager at Fosshotel Baron, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Hello Samir,

Thank you for the lovely review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you could freely explore Reykjavik from our great location!

We hope to see you again in the future!

Best regards,
Hjalti Freyr
Front Office Manager at Fosshotel Baron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews