We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Convenient Hotel Despite at the Edge of the City!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Ranked #18 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Overall, this hotel was clean and modern looking. We had a very comfortable 6 nights stay and found the reception staff very helpful. Having arrived on an early morning flight, the staff tried searching for an available room even if it's before the normal check-in time. Although no rooms were available, we were able to leave our luggage locked in a secure room and started our day exploring the city. The hotel reception desk has everything available, from free city and bus maps, to bus pass and tickets and the city card for purchase. This was very convenient as it was like a one-stop shop. We also received a great restaurant recommendation that was close by the hotel and for a reasonable price compared to the downtown. This hotel only has breakfast available, but there are many restaurants in the area within walking distance for lunch and/or dinner.

Although the hotel is at the edge of the city, we actually found it to be the ideal location for joining tours. This is because we got picked up directly at the hotel instead of needing to make our own way to the bus terminal (BSI) or bus stop/meeting point. On the way back from tours, we were always the first if not second group to get dropped off before the bus made its way to the city centre for other drop offs. This actually saved us plenty of time, especially on long days where we just want to get sleep as earlier as possible. If exploring on your own, the bus stop is within a few minutes walk from the hotel and only 4 stops to Hlemmur (one of the main bus terminals). Once there, the city centre can be explored on foot.

In terms of the buffet breakfast, there was a good variety...just that the same items were offered day after day. No biggie, enough to be full to start the day, and there were disposible cups to take away coffee/tea. Breakfast is from 7am-10am. There was a day which our tour had a 7am start and the front reception staff was able to arrange for a bagged breakfast if you tell them a day in advance. It included a sandwich, juice, and apple.

We were aware of the minimal amenities offered in the room (as listed on website), so we just had to pack any additional items to the hotel ourselves. A quick note that tissue/kleenex boxes are not provided in the room. Either use toilet paper or bring your own. The washroom though, was a bit tricky as the first day the floor tiles flooded after showering once. Perhaps it's because of the design, but after some trial and error, you'll find the angle you need to be in to ensure water doesn't spread to the toilet and sink area. Great thing about the washroom tiles, is that they dry fairly quickly.

There are also 2 heaters in the room that are great to use if you need to dry any wet clothing. Wifi connection in the hotel was good.

The room cleaning though, could be improved as there doesn't seem to be standard way of doing things. Aside from have the blankets folded and placed on the bed a certain way daily, everything else was a hit or miss depending on who did the cleaning. Garbage bins were not always emptied despite being quite full. The floors were also not always wiped/mopped/vacuumed. About half way through our stay, we wanted fresh towels to use and placed 4 of them on the floor (2 big and 2 small ones). When we got back to the room, only 2 new big towels were provided and we decided not to bother asking for the 2 smaller ones back. The window curtains were also inconsistently left opened or closed. In general, these were all minor issues that didn't affect our comfortable stay at the hotel.

Room Tip: Corner rooms at the end of the hallway are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Edith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThorhallurF, General Manager at Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Edith

thank you for staying at Reykjavik Lights and taking the time to leave such a detailed review. I take away from this review both our points of strength and also points where we can improve upon them. I hope you will have the opportunity of staying with us in the future. Sincerely, Thorhallur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,454)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

30 - 34 of 1,454 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel was just what we need for our trip to Reykjavík. It was pretty cheap for the city! The room is basic but we were out exploring during our stay so this was perfect for us. There is tea/coffee and a kettle in the room and hair/body wash in the shower which was useful. The bed was comfortable and it was silent at night! The hotel is close to plenty of place to eat and about a half an hour walk into the centre of Reykjavík. All in all this was an excellent base for our trip and we would recommended it - the staff are lovely too!

Stayed: October 2017
Thank Kirsty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThorhallurF, General Manager at Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Kirsty

thank you for the lovely review, nice to see you enjoyed the room amenities and I will pass on your compliments to the staff.
Sincerely, Thorhallur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great hotel very clean and great breakfast included. Good Wifi,Tea/coffee facilities in the room. There are a few restaurants nearby including a pizza place. The hotel was on the hop on hop off route which is a great way to get an overview of the city. Having had our flight canceled I was able to rebook a further two nights and were able to keep our room. We had a room at the rear which was very quiet and the beds were comfortable. Really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Higher rooms at the front have Mountain views, quieter rooms at the rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janefurnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThorhallurF, General Manager at Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Jane

Sorry to hear about your cancelled flights but thankfully that gave you more time to stay with us and enjoy Iceland!
Kind regards, Thorhallur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

my daughter and i have just stayed here for 4 nights, ,the staff were very helpful .plus with our northern light hunting evening which they got a website up with ideas for where we could drive too [no clouds ] and we were succesful. Breakfast its plentiful and a good varied choice, topped up consistently.we had a room facing the mountains on the 6th ,which i requested previouslly to arrival .quite easy to get out of town to see the sights,we had hire car and there is free parking behind hotel all enclosed so you dont venture outside .Would definately stay here again .

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank rich b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThorhallurF, General Manager at Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Rich

thanks for the lovely review, hope to see you return one day
Kind regards, Thorhallur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

We booked this hotel in a somewhat last minute capacity as it needed to be close to a car rental location. The staff were courteous, and helpful, and our triple room had enough towels, pillows, and blankets for 3 people. There was a small buffet breakfast the next morning. This hotel let us check in at almost 11pm after a 2 day excursion, and because I had pre-paid, there was no paperwork to take care of. It was quick to check, and to check out. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank mehitabel007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThorhallurF, General Manager at Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear mehitabel007

thank you for the kind review, so glad to see you enjoyed our services
Sincerely, Thorhallur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#17 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,802 reviews
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Laugardalur
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
#9 of 54 in Reykjavik
755 reviews
Fosshotel Raudara
#41 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels

Address: Sudurlandsbraut 12, Reykjavik 108, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Háaleiti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range: $210 - $470 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing