We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If your over by the water - worth a stop”
Review of Aurora Reykjavik

Aurora Reykjavik
Book In Advance
More Info
US$12.80*
and up
Aurora Reykjavík, The Northern Lights Center...
Ranked #22 of 122 things to do in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The Aurora Reykjavik is a new educational, recreational and interactive attraction which uses the latest advances in multimedia technology to bring the Northern Lights to life. The centre's focal point is the experience room which uses a large HD projection to immerse visitors in the Aurora Borealis' majestic green glow. The display is 7 meters wide, it is only a short time-lapse video that goes on a loop with relaxing music under it, some people like to sit there for many rounds. You can also read about some old tales, what people thought of the Northern Lights in the old days. These stories are from different countries where you can see the Northern Lights. We do explain the science behind this phenomena, both with a short video and some readings. You can also play with few touch screens, where you can see how the colors of the Northern Lights changes depending on the height of them. You can learn how to adjust your camera to take a photo of the Northern Lights and try out your camera on the Northern Lights photo simulator. We have two screens where you can see two different Northern Lights forecasts. There is also a beautiful souvenir store at the end where you can find handmade Icelandic Northern Lights items, you can also enter there without paying for the entrance to the exhibition. Aurora Reykjavik is a new feature in Reykjavik's blossoming tourism, it is owned by highly motivated young people who are working hard on making it a feature not to miss. When you come and visit please give your self few minutes to fill out the visitor survey and contribute to our mission.
Reviewed 10 July 2018

Very friendly place. Lots of reading but if you want to know more about the solar system and Aurora Borealus this would be worth a stop. They have a lot of information, movies, reading and photos. The museum is not large and the time you take depends on if you read everything. Sit and enjoy a cup of coffee at the end.

Thank Kristine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grelli_J, Owner at Aurora Reykjavik, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2018

Hi Kristine!

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the museum. The visit time is definitely scalable depending on what you are most interested in, though we do recommend 45-50 minutes in order to enjoy the entirely of the films. It is certainly a lot of information in one place though, and so our staff are always on hand to answer any questions that come up- over a coffee or tea in the lounge! It´s a nice way to decompress after a journey through the solar system- and it sounds like you´d agree on that! Glad you were able to find us, and good luck in all your future aurora hunting!

Takk fyrir!
Grelli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,410)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"virtual reality"
in 73 reviews
"free tea and coffee"
in 66 reviews
"northern lights"
in 674 reviews
"gift shop"
in 106 reviews
"different cultures"
in 28 reviews
"wide screen"
in 19 reviews
"slide show"
in 17 reviews
"small museum"
in 53 reviews
"camera settings"
in 36 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 59 reviews
"beautiful pictures"
in 13 reviews
"interactive displays"
in 19 reviews
"great museum"
in 12 reviews
"rainy day"
in 17 reviews
"take pictures"
in 21 reviews
"interesting information"
in 12 reviews
"science"
in 141 reviews
Filter

40 - 44 of 1,410 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2018

Located in the harbor area near where the Cruise ships arrive. The staff is very knowledgeable and friendly. The museum is perfect for learning about the Aurora from many aspects and has a great video that shows the Aurora in different parts of Iceland. The charge to enter the museum is a very good value.

Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grelli_J, Owner at Aurora Reykjavik, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2018

Hi Tony!

It is always great to know that our staff were appreciated. They have so many stories, and so much information downloaded into their brains, that transcends even our exhibit. In some ways, they ARE our extended exhibit. We are thrilled that you were able to find out, and also that you enjoyed the exhibition.

For future visitors- we are near the old harbour (Miðbakki), which often hosts smaller cruise vessels and passenger ships. However, if you are coming to us from a larger vessel, you may be at Skarfabakki, which is a few kilometers away. There are many ways to get to us, however, including shuttles that are often provided by your cruising vessel. Otherwise, we are always happy to help out with directions.

Thanks again for letting us know about your visit, and for leaving us this kind review!
Takk fyrir,
Grelli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

Thought I was going to have a “ planetarium “ or “ rounded ceiling “ aurora experience. Unfortunately it’s an elongated rectangular large screen of pictures or photos of the aurora in several places around Iceland. The cost of entry for the approximate half hour screening is about £12

Thank 1NONLY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grelli_J, Owner at Aurora Reykjavik, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Hi 1NONLY,

We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed. That is certainly a different experience to what we offer. Fortunately, the admission cost is not just for the 30 minute film, but for the entire multimedia exhibition, access to our virtual reality headset experience, and coffee and tea! We hope you were able to make use of those things while you were with us. Thanks for stopping by!

Takk fyrir,
Grelli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018

Small exhibition on the Northern Lights in the old port area of Reykjavik. Although it is small it gives good information and details on the northern lights and they happen and includes good interactive exhibits as well. Well worth a visit.

Thank NigelRLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grelli_J, Owner at Aurora Reykjavik, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Hi NigelRLondon,

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the museum. We are certainly diminutive in size, but vast in spirit and passion! :) And of course, we are always adding to our treasure troves of information, as the developing science becomes available. Knowing that our mission was accomplished in your visit, is always great to hear. Thank you for taking the time to visit us, and also for letting us know your experience.

Takk fyrir!
Grelli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2018

We were in Iceland during the 24 hour sun, so the northern lights were not something we were going to be able to see. Thanks to stopping here we were able to get as close as possible to seeing them. Their is a history of the lights from around the world provided as well as the scientific reasoning for the lights. There is a room set up to be like being out in the country at night watching the aurora. At the end of the tour you are treated to complimentary tea or coffee and a VR experience of the lights. It was very enjoyable and relaxing.

Thank isitinfected
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grelli_J, Owner at Aurora Reykjavik, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Hæ hæ isitinfected!

First of all, we hope you were able to get that looked at. ;) Second of all- we are so glad you stopped by! You are correct, lady aurora goes away from us on summer holiday. Fortunately, as you discovered, we have managed to capture quite a few of her different faces over the years, to tide us over until she gets back. I am sure that she appreciates our reverence, and the visits of folks like yourself. As do we! Thank you again for spending some of your time with us, and also for taking the time to leave this review. Good luck on your future aurora hunts!

Takk fyrir!
Grelli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aurora Reykjavik also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Aurora Reykjavik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing