We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Fron
Nearby Hotels
US$345
US$313
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$303
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Fosshotel Raudara(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
US$230
US$193
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Fosshotel Lind(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
US$229
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
US$298
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hlemmur Square(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
US$195
US$186
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$216/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Island(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
US$257
US$182
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reykjavik Downtown HI Hostel(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
US$888
US$798
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$561
US$505
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (2,451)
Filter reviews
2,451 results
Traveller rating
797
1,211
337
64
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
797
1,211
337
64
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main streetbreadscandinavian restaurantgreat locationyogurtcentral locationattached restaurantstudio apartmentcold meatssmall kitchenettecooking facilitieshot waterkitchen areabreakfast staffcontinental breakfastsulphur smellmini bar
Filter
Updating list...
173 - 178 of 2,451 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2017

Our room was ready when we arrived (rm 103). The room was nice, and having been to Europe several times the size was not a big deal. It worked for what we needed.
The buffet continental breakfast we great and filling every morning. The wonderful lady at the front desk was so helpful. She informed us that our Northern Lights Tour had been cancelled for this evening. This gave us a chance to get out and explore Reykjavik, which we did. When we come back, and we will. We will stay here.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper do not get Room 103.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lars_92705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017 via mobile

Arrival at Keflavik Airport was well dealt with and pick up was soon on way to Reykjavik. The coach drops you at the main terminal and then mini bus you to your hotel. Reykjavík has 12 drop off stops for the Hotels and Fron is no. 7. (these are also pick up points for the tour companies) Once dropped at no. 7 a fifty metre walk up the slight hill then turn right and another 70 metre uphill walk, then turn left and the Hotel Fron is about 30 metres away. Less than 5mins from the stop. Check in is quick and easy and you are given the WiFi code at that time. The rooms are comfortable and adequate, the bathrooms are small but everything is there. Be prepared for the water's smell from the shower though! It's very strong on sulphur, it isn't the drains! . (this is not restricted to this Hotel btw) One failing of this hotel is no kettle or hot drink facility in the room, this was greatly missed. Breakfast is served in the adjoining bar to the hotel and can be a little cramped as so many people are up early for tours. If you are a light sleeper try to get a room which is not over the bars which are both sides of the hotel on the ground floor. Music is not that loud but if you're a light sleeper as our friend was this may be a tad annoying. I would recommend this hotel as an economical stay, the staff were friendly and helpful, and there are numerous restaurants and bars in the vicinity of it. BUT! Be prepared for a shock especially if you are from the UK, Iceland is very, very expensive. Beer is anything from £8-£11 for 500ml. Wine is about £7-£8 a glass. A basic one course meal with a drink each for two will set you back £40-50. At the Geyser cafe I paid £10.50 for three drinks from a vending machine. Clothing is expensive also. So take something warm rather than think you'll buy it out there. As stated, Hotel Fron is a good base to work from for a short break in Iceland, IF I were to go back I would happily stay there again, but it is unlikely as Iceland is just so darned expensive!! ( but we did get to see the Northern lights

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank adezhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

Hotel fron is very convenient being in the centre of rekyavik. The breakfast is continental and although the same every day there is plenty and always fresh. Our room was comfortable and maybe a bit on the warm side even though the heat was off, not sure what could be done about that. There is no kettle in the room. There is a well stocked mini bar. Reception staff are very helpful. I would recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front of the hotel suffer from noise due to being above the pub next door
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynnandade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

I have stayed at this hotel twice in one of their studios. It's worth paying the extra for the bigger room which includes a seating area, kitchen with fridge and microwave.

It's nice to be able to make a coffee and relax on the two seater sofa provided whenever you feel like it.

The hotel itself is very good with good facilities and the rooms are kept clean and are up to a good standard.

One of the best points is the fantastic location. This hotel is right in the centre of Reykjavik's Main Street with a short walk to excellent eateries cafes and bars.

Room Tip: Book a studio
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank iangE691CY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

Clean, modern, trendy hotel with a Scandinavian restaurant adjacent to the reception area, which I would highly recommend to eat in. Centrally located, with the nearest bus stop about a 3 minute walk away. The lady at the reception desk was brilliant and so helpful as I checked in at around 7:45pm and asked her if there was any possibly I could go on the 'Northern Lights Tour' that evening. She said she'll try but couldn't guarantee it as the coach pick up was for 8:30pm. She phoned the tour operator to ask if I could go and she succeeded, with 45 minutes to spare so I was really happy with that. The hotel can book anything from airport transfers to daily excursions. The bed was very cosy and I slept without any disturbances. I would 110% recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Reykjavik and provides an excellent service. I just wish I stayed a few more nights.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews