We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reykjavik mid September”
Review of Hotel Fron

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Fron
Ranked #27 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were pleasantly surprised at the location of our hotel. It is within walking distance of many center city sites. Food is expensive and we were pleased that the wonderful breakfast was included in our room cost. A similar breakfast at the airport cost 22 Krona. The front desk staff were friendly, efficient, and helpful. Prior to our trip, the staff promptly responded to our e-mail questions. The facility is older but it is clean and well-maintained. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: As our room did not face the street, we did not have an issue with noise.
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank 5-k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,288)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

33 - 37 of 2,291 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our room was ready when we arrived (rm 103). The room was nice, and having been to Europe several times the size was not a big deal. It worked for what we needed.
The buffet continental breakfast we great and filling every morning. The wonderful lady at the front desk was so helpful. She informed us that our Northern Lights Tour had been cancelled for this evening. This gave us a chance to get out and explore Reykjavik, which we did. When we come back, and we will. We will stay here.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper do not get Room 103.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lars_92705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Arrival at Keflavik Airport was well dealt with and pick up was soon on way to Reykjavik. The coach drops you at the main terminal and then mini bus you to your hotel. Reykjavík has 12 drop off stops for the Hotels and Fron is no. 7. (these are also pick up points for the tour companies) Once dropped at no. 7 a fifty metre walk up the slight hill then turn right and another 70 metre uphill walk, then turn left and the Hotel Fron is about 30 metres away. Less than 5mins from the stop. Check in is quick and easy and you are given the WiFi code at that time. The rooms are comfortable and adequate, the bathrooms are small but everything is there. Be prepared for the water's smell from the shower though! It's very strong on sulphur, it isn't the drains! . (this is not restricted to this Hotel btw) One failing of this hotel is no kettle or hot drink facility in the room, this was greatly missed. Breakfast is served in the adjoining bar to the hotel and can be a little cramped as so many people are up early for tours. If you are a light sleeper try to get a room which is not over the bars which are both sides of the hotel on the ground floor. Music is not that loud but if you're a light sleeper as our friend was this may be a tad annoying. I would recommend this hotel as an economical stay, the staff were friendly and helpful, and there are numerous restaurants and bars in the vicinity of it. BUT! Be prepared for a shock especially if you are from the UK, Iceland is very, very expensive. Beer is anything from £8-£11 for 500ml. Wine is about £7-£8 a glass. A basic one course meal with a drink each for two will set you back £40-50. At the Geyser cafe I paid £10.50 for three drinks from a vending machine. Clothing is expensive also. So take something warm rather than think you'll buy it out there. As stated, Hotel Fron is a good base to work from for a short break in Iceland, IF I were to go back I would happily stay there again, but it is unlikely as Iceland is just so darned expensive!! ( but we did get to see the Northern lights

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank adezhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hotel fron is very convenient being in the centre of rekyavik. The breakfast is continental and although the same every day there is plenty and always fresh. Our room was comfortable and maybe a bit on the warm side even though the heat was off, not sure what could be done about that. There is no kettle in the room. There is a well stocked mini bar. Reception staff are very helpful. I would recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front of the hotel suffer from noise due to being above the pub next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynnandade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have stayed at this hotel twice in one of their studios. It's worth paying the extra for the bigger room which includes a seating area, kitchen with fridge and microwave.

It's nice to be able to make a coffee and relax on the two seater sofa provided whenever you feel like it.

The hotel itself is very good with good facilities and the rooms are kept clean and are up to a good standard.

One of the best points is the fantastic location. This hotel is right in the centre of Reykjavik's Main Street with a short walk to excellent eateries cafes and bars.

Room Tip: Book a studio
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank iangE691CY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Fosshotel Raudara
#41 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,141 reviews
Fosshotel Lind
#34 of 54 in Reykjavik
971 reviews
Hotel Odinsve
#14 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
CenterHotel Klopp
CenterHotel Klopp
#35 of 54 in Reykjavik
917 reviews
CenterHotel Skjaldbreid
#39 of 54 in Reykjavik
653 reviews
Fosshotel Baron
#40 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fron

Address: Laugavegur 22A, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: $182 - $433 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fron 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Fron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fron Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing