We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$289
US$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$282/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Fosshotel Lind(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
US$199
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Loft HI Hostel(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
US$257
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$201/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Fron(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
US$251
US$197
roomertravel.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hlemmur Square(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
US$188
US$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$310
US$295
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reykjavik Downtown HI Hostel(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
US$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$306
US$267
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$299
US$283
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (495)
Filter reviews
495 results
Traveller rating
258
169
60
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
258
169
60
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdouble windowsgreat locationcentral locationheated towel rackbeautiful hotelparliament buildingboutique hotelrain showerfriday and saturdaynoisy at nightjunior suitewalk in showerrooms are modernother hotelsfront desk staffgreat showermini bar
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 495 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2018

We stayed at the Apotek Hotel for 5 nights in June 2018. The location of the hotel is as good as it gets. It is in the center of everything:dinning, shopping and night life. However, the hotel is 100% utilatarian. There is no lobby and the rooms are small. We used it as a base to shower, and sleep. We did not spend any time in the room or the hotel. There is a gym in a neighboring hotel (Borg) you can use but you need to go outside to get there. There are some small nice anemities such as heated towel rack and slippers. The staff is courteous and efficient and the rooms are very clean. Idid expect more for the cost (500 USD a night) but I guess Ijust bought the location. The restaurant is outstanding but Iwill cover it in another review.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alain C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keahotels, General Manager at Apotek Hotel by Keahotels, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Dear Alain C,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We emphasize on great service, great location and high standard of cleanliness and I am happy to read that you experienced all of the above during your visit.

We hope to be able to serve you again in the nearest future.

Warm regards,
Sigrún Pétursdóttir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

We loved the Apotek Hotel perfectly located in central Reykjavik. The staff greeted us warmly and offered good advice about restaurants and tours. The breakfast spread was included and was of high quality. The room was modern, clean and spacious with views of the park directly in front of the hotel, and we were able to watch the 100 year independence day celebration from our window with front row seats. The shower had a huge overhead showerhead with tons of water pressure and there was a desk and a sitting area in our room. Overall, what a wonderful hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank docmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keahotels, General Manager at Apotek Hotel by Keahotels, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Dear Docmark,

Thank you for your lovely and detailed comments and for taking the time to share them with us and the Tripadvisor community. We hope you visit us again soon and we look forward welcoming you back!

Warmest regards,
Sigrún Pétursdóttir



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018 via mobile

Hotel is at good location. Need renovations. Plumbing not good. False fire alarms.
Breakfast is good but most tours start early and time does not fit schedule. They should have separate price with and without breakfast.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank joe9999369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keahotels, General Manager at Apotek Hotel by Keahotels, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018


Dear Joe9999369,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Apotek Hotel. We are disappointed to hear that on this occasion your overall experience did not meet your expectations. We'll share your feedback with our team so we can address the issues you mentioned and improve future visits for our guests.

Hopefully we will get another chance to impress you in the nearest future.

Best regards,
Sigrún Pétursdóttir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018 via mobile

Perfect location, great style & ambience. Staff was very helpful & accommodating. Excellent restaurant & bar in hotel. Can’t think of anything to improve on! We will definitely stay here during our next visit!!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Melanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keahotels, General Manager at Apotek Hotel by Keahotels, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Dear Melanie R,

We thank you for taking the time to write the review, and we are really happy to hear you had a great stay with us and look forward to seeing you again!

Warmest regards,
Sigrún Pétursdóttir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2018

We stayed a couple of nights at the Apotek and would happily have stayed longer.
Grear hotel, very imaginatively converted from the historic Apothecary in the City Centre.

Great room, very quiet, really good and spacious bathroom. Occasional noise from other guests, but no real problem. Breakfast first class. Service and reception exemplary.

We eat in one evening and enjoyed it, but it was VERY busy and a bit noisy for our taste. But the food was really good and no problems with the service.
There are cheaper and more relaxing places but this will do very nicely if you don't want to walk out!

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 99Martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keahotels, General Manager at Apotek Hotel by Keahotels, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Dear 99Martin

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you again at Apotek Hotel

Warm regards,
Sigrún Pétursdóttir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews