We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to try Icelandic cuisine”
Review of Tapas Barinn

Tapas Barinn
Ranked #53 of 570 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Miõborg
Description: TapasBarinn is an extremely lively restaurant where Spanish tapas tradition meets the freshest Icelandic ingredients. It is located in a cellar at Vesturgata 3 in Reykjavik's central. The menu at TapasBarinn offers over 50 different meat, fish and vegetable dishes so you can take your time and experiment various flavour combinations. A must try is the Icelandic gourmet feast which is a great way to taste the best of Icelandic produce in one meal. The restaurant has been open since the year 2000 and has become a local favourite. It has the only kitchen in Reykjavík that is open 23:30 on weekdays and 01:00 on weekends. The breezy atmosphere and the Spanish effects in the decorations make TapasBarinn ideal for an enjoyable evening, a true ray of sunshine in downtown Reykjavík.
Reviewed 5 February 2018

Went here for dinner our first night in Reykjavik. Tried the taste of iceland menu. At least I can say I tried puffin and minka whale, although I wasn't a huge fan of either. The seafood small plates were delicious though. My wife is a vegetarian and enjoyed the vegetarian tasting menu. Nice ambiance and friendly staff.

Thank Travel_Snack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maron G, General Manager at Tapas Barinn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

Hi,

Thank you for taking your time to write this review. Great to hear that you enjoyed both our Icelandic menu and of course the vegetarian menu. We hope we will see you again sometime!

Best regards,
Maron Þór

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,729)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

125 - 129 of 1,729 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2018 via mobile

We headed here as we wanted to try some of the traditional food without having to commit to a whole portion. And boy did it deliver!
We shared 7 tapas plates which were all delicious, personal favourites included the mink whale and beer glazed lamb.
Really lovely atmosphere and staff the only disappointment was that we went here on our last night so couldn’t go again!

This is one of my favourite meals in a very long time! Thank you Tapas Barinn

Thank Katy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maron G, General Manager at Tapas Barinn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

Dear Katy,

Thank you so much for your positive review! We are humbled by your review. Awesome to hear that you guys enjoyed our tapas plates and we hope we will see you again if you are ever back in Iceland. Thank you!

Best regards,
Maron Þór

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2018 via mobile

The food is absolutely excellent. We had 9 courses and they were all perfect. The dessert tray that they have is to die for. Definitely an amazing experience and worth every penny.

Thank Irene T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maron G, General Manager at Tapas Barinn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

Dear Irene,

Thank you so much for taking your time to give us this feedback. We are really happy to hear that you guys enjoyed all of your courses and of course the sweet dessert tray! We truly hope we'll see you again sometime.

Best regards,
Maron Þór

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018

What a wonderful place for all sorts of occasions on a night out. Family, friends, coworkers. Great food and great company.

Thank Bustravel-Iceland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maron G, General Manager at Tapas Barinn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2018

Hi,

Thank you so much for taking your time to write this positive feedback and we hope we will see you soon, always welcome!

Best regards,
Maron Þór

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2018 via mobile

We went downtown on a Friday night without a reservation. That was our bad, but it worked out great because we wandered into this tapas joint. We asked to sit at the bar and they were happy to accommodate. Hubs ordered something boring, but I got the Bullfighter tapas. It's various assorted hot meat includkng langoustine skewers, lamb, and beef. Now, this place isn't cheap, but this was basically a full sized dinner plate and came with a bread, tapenade,and hummus plate to start. Excellent food with a super hip vibe.

Thank Kelli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maron G, General Manager at Tapas Barinn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2018

Dear Kelli,

Thank you so much for taking your time to write this review and for your visit last Friday! We are glad that you wandered into our tapas joint :)

We hope we will see you guys again sometime!

Best regards,
Maron Þór

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tapas Barinn also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Tapas Barinn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing