We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (450)
Filter reviews
450 results
Traveller rating
377
51
14
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
377
51
14
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmurray familyafternoon teadining roomfour poster bedfirst classcountry houseowners and staffexcellent foodprince rupertsandwichesst clementsa real treatlovely groundswedding anniversaryhigh standardfine diningold building
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 450 reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2017 via mobile

This is the most amazing hotel you will find. This is our final night of our 4 night stay and Lewtrenchard Manor and both ourselves and Bob the dog could not of asked for more. The hotel is stunning, our room was spotless with amazing views of the grounds (highly recommend the Prince Rupert room) and the whole place is just incredible.

The service is 5 star. Duncan and the team made our stay special, they could not of done more for us. Bob was welcome in all areas (except the restaurant which is fully understandable) and enjoyed plenty of time with us in front of a roaring fire. The service here is personal and far exceeds many 5 star hotels.

The food at the hotel is outstanding. We are lucky enough to have dined at many top restaurants and the food here is as good as the fine dining at many of the top restaurants in London. Every dish perfectly seasoned.

On our last night there had been a large lunch function and you would not have known. I have to mention Hayley who worked tirelessly making sure we received 5 star treatment over dinner even though it had been a busy day.

The owners have done an amazing job with this hotel and I if you are looking for a great break in a fantastic hotel with outstanding food and service which is hard to beat then I recommend Lewtrenchard Manor. We can’t wait to come back - neither can Bob the dog!!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Macmonk74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan M, General Manager at Lewtrenchard Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2017

Dear Macmonk74

What a lovely review. Thank you very much for all your positive comments. We are so glad that Bob enjoyed his stay too and we look forward to seeing you both and Bob again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2017

So pleased To see that the table’ d hote menu has returned at lunch time.
Absolutely delicious. Comfortable relaxed atmosphere Staff very friendly and helpful.
It’s the food that really sets it apart.
Thank you for listening to your customers.

Room Tip: Preferred table overlooking the courtyard
Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank StevesDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan M, General Manager at Lewtrenchard Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2017

Dear StevesDevon

Thank you very much for your lovely comments. Most guests are delighted that we have
reinstated the table d'hote menu. A few are not - You can't please all the people all the time!! We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017

Lewtrenchard Manor is situated deep in a quiet wooded valley just west of Dartmoor and upon arriving you will immediately feel that you have left urban life far behind. The Manor was originally built in Jacobean times and has Victorian additions and many of these early features have been retained. There is a warren of rooms on the ground floor, mostly wood panelled, the walls are hung with oil paintings and there are many interesting decorative touches and much antique furniture. It is a unique hotel and is as far as you can get from the usual sleek modern hotel.
Our room, Aurelia, was very spacious, had a very large (modern) en suite and its own balcony. very comfortable bed, tv etc. No safe. The room decor was rather old fashioned (no grey paint), but in keeping with the building.
There is no mobile phone signal in the hotel, so if you're under 30 stay at home. The wifi connection was good in our room, contrary to the warnings of the young lady at reception. I was nice and warm too, in spite of inclement autumn weather.
There are very pleasant grounds around the hotel, which envelop you in soft autumn sunshine and solitude.
A good, hearty breakfast is offered with hot options cooked to order, as well as croissants, cereals, pastries and fruit.
The members of staff I encountered were all efficient, polite and could converse without having to resort to American Hotelese. How unusual is that?
To sum up - a wonderful hotel in which to get away from it all. Would I stay again? Yes. Should you stay? Yes (unless you're under 30.)

Room Tip: "Aurelia" recommended
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jim04y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan M, General Manager at Lewtrenchard Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Dear Jim04y

Thank you very much for your great review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. Believe it not we do have quite a few guests under 30!! I think they come to get away from their mobiles for a while!! However, I am delighted that you are hoping to return and we will look forward to it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017 via mobile

We were in need of a port in a storm following a stream of disappointing hotels on our tour of the countryside and WHAT a port! This is a truly special place and, while it’s not cheap, worth every penny. Beautiful surroundings, lush interiors, great staff and delicious food. We were also very fortunate to find out we were expecting a baby while here after struggling, so it will always be a very social place to us.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank BevoTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan M, General Manager at Lewtrenchard Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Dear BevoTravels

Thank you so much for your lovely comments and I am delighted that we were a good "port of call"! I am also delighted that you have such good news. We wish you every good wish for the months ahead.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017

We were given a voucher for an afternoon tea so what better place to head than this beautiful manor house nestled in the Devon countryside. It did not disappoint! We upgraded to the champagne tea and it was fab. I dont know what jiggery pokery created the cakes but I dont think I will ever have anything as delicious again unless we head back there for another treat! Now there's a plan..!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rachy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan M, General Manager at Lewtrenchard Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Dear Rachy76

Chef loved your jiggery pokery comment! thank you so much and I am delighted you enjoyed your tea. I must admit with the fires crackling away now in almost every room, it is a very comfortable and warm spot for this most English tradition - Afternoon Tea!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews