We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,439)
Filter reviews
1,439 results
Traveller rating
526
413
269
128
103
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
526
413
269
128
103
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private pool tower room indian restaurant sea view island bar cocktail bar reception staff la vallette choice of restaurants il giardino terrace restaurant sa re ga ma days in advance shopping centre steam room half board four star
Filter
Updating list...
172 - 177 of 1,439 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2016

We had a wellness room which was amazing the staff from the spa showed us how to use all the equipment in the room, our room had not only a sea view room but a view of Valletta the capital city, we had a hot tub on the balcony!
We ate at many restaurants in the hotel the first was the taste restaurant where we had our breakfast which included food from full english to pastries, to an omelette and pancake bar , the second one was the can thai restaurant which we got 20% off on arrival and cost 20 euros for a tasty 3 course dinner, the terrace restaurant which is on the sea front and had a range of dishes and cocktails, was also really great.

I would recommend this hotel to all of my family and friends couldnt ask for a more relaxing, beautiful hotel!

Also Mike Tabona was very helpful who owns the hotel and advised us all near by places and taxis etc

Room Tip: sea view rooms have amazing views,
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank gabbiemerton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2016 via mobile

This place is excellent! The view from our room was spectacular!!! We spent here a very lovely week! The rooms are clean, the staff is friendly and efficient. I would like to particularly thank Mariana for being so kind and efficient, she really made a difference. Also the restaurants in the hotel are worth to try. I would come back.

Stayed: August 2016
2  Thank Marianna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

Retuned to the Fortina spa resort in Malta, for a 10 day holiday, great warm welcome at reception, greeted with a glass of champagne. Had an amazing room on the 17th floor, where you could see Valletta across the water. I cannot fault the food or the staff, fresh fish everyday,The staff can't do enough for you making sure everything is just right. I also made use of the gym, which is very spacious and all the latest equipment and again great views over to Valletta, all in all I had an amazing holiday and I've recommended the Fortina to all of my friends, once you have been once you are sure to return. Until next time, ...

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
2  Thank Mimmyya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2016

Just returned from a delightful two week stay in Malta, at the 5* Fortina Spa Resort (not to be confused with the Fortina 4* across the pool from the 5*).
Having had a hip replacement a few months ago, and with my wife having problems with her back, we booked a Spa room (located on the 4th floor). The room was superb; large, with Jacuzzi behind the bed, and separate room with shower / steam / sauna / therapeutic bath / bed. The Hotel / Resort has brilliant Spa facilities - massage and wide variety of 'pamper' treatments. The icing on the cake however, was having our own private pool, accessed by a spiral staircase to the roof of the 4th floor. The pool area was kept spotlessly clean and the pool water sparkling and crystal clear. There was a fridge and Barbecue (beware, it will cost you about £40 each to use the BBQ facility). We spent a lot of time sitting / lying / snacking on the terrace of our own pool - brilliant. The only downside, our private pool being on the 4th floor, was overlooked by other sections of the hotel and the upper floors of the 4* opposite. We got round that by always closing the privacy curtain and with strategic placement of the large umbrella. Parts of the pool, however, were not overlooked, which was great.
The hotel is superbly located - Malta's largest very modern shopping mall (with supermarket) at Tigne Point, just 150m away. Also within easy walking distance are the berths and bus stops for Captain Morgan Cruises, and Hop-on-hop-off. The bus to Valetta (13 & 14) stops just a 150m away from the Fortina 4*. You can also get the ferry across to Valleta, but be prepared for a bit of a hilly walk.
The Fortina Resort boasts 7 restaurants, but when we were there, the Arigato (Japanese) and IL Giardino (Italian Pizzeria) were closed. We went B&B, and ate a couple of times in La Vallete (buffet) - cost about £50 for 2, but a 75cl bottle of still water will cost you nearly £4. Table 1 has a great menu, we chose fillet steak one night, which was absolutely superb but be prepared to add a further £10 to the standard £25 - £30 charge; with a glass of wine your bill for 2 people will be about £80. There is an evening dress code (smart casual - and we like to dress for dinner) but that was generally ignored, with people dining in La Vallette in shorts and flip-flops. Most mornings we had breakfast in Taste, very disappointing the first two mornings, because the buffet breakfast was cold (problems with the heating elements we were told) so we just ordered our poached eggs /omelette (fresh-made to order). Once or twice we tried the breakfast buffet in La Vallette, but found it too big and too noisy. Advising about noise, one of the downsides (for us anyway because we like to go to bed early and get up to enjoy walks in the fresh morning air) was the noise from the entertainment situated at the pool side between the Fortina 5* and 4*. The water bounced the sound upwards, which then resonated in the trapped enclosed space between the two buildings. Some nights, even ear-plugs couldn't keep the noise at bay. One night it was so bad, we actually wrote a letter of complaint to the management.
However, putting that to one side, we had an absolutely wonderful holiday. The room that we had was certainly 5*; spotlessly clean throughout and the service from every single member of staff was faultless. Would we go back - YES, if we could get the same room again, at perhaps at a quieter time of the year.
Allen & Moira Cartmell
Durham.

Room Tip: If you want a Spa room with private pool book one of the 9 rooms on the 4th floor (441 to 449)
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Allen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2016 via mobile

Not served at all by the fortina Tropical Garden, pool boys carrying umbrellas tables and fridges all the time, not safe at all (it's supposed to be a relaxing day by the pool) and of course we paid alot of money for this nightmare. One last thing very rude bar man. Totally not served.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
3  Thank kkzarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews