We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average food”

The New Kings Of Aphrodites Tavern
Ranked #376 of 630 Restaurants in Paphos
Restaurant details
Reviewed 29 June 2018 via mobile

Wonderful family history and Marios revealed his story, seems a very nice man.
Good value menu but our food was average. T-bone was over cooked and tough. I had garlic mussles which was nice, a rare sirloin which was a bit chewy from the set menu. Other meals where the same. My desert of baklava was delicious though. Will give it another go on a Sunday when the charcoal is on!

1  Thank busterone2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna C, General Manager at The New Kings Of Aphrodites Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2018

Thank you hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2018

3 really good visits during my stay June 2018. Great meals at excellent value for money, very friendly staff. Extensive menu something for everybody, even if it's just a chicken kebab in pitta bread you'll get it here, BUT be warned portions are big.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 91,163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna C, General Manager at The New Kings Of Aphrodites Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2018

Thank you we are glad you enjoyed yourself in our restaurant and hope you return

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2018 via mobile

Looking for a reasonable price and great Cypriot food ..Well look no further..
Great set meal for €14 with a lovely large choice...
I started with garlic muscles and main course pork kebabs with Greek salad and potato chips... it was that good i couldn't eat the pudding!!
The owner and the staff made you feel very welcome.
Wine and beer around €3 euros each.
Did have tables out side (for smokers)
But didnt intrud or spoil are enjoyable evening.

1  Thank ikeasteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna C, General Manager at The New Kings Of Aphrodites Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2018

Thank you for the review we are glad you enjoyed yourself at our restaurant and look forward to seeing you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2018

The New Kings of Aphrodite restaurant is on the Tomb of the Kings Road and is a little jewel in the crown that is Paphos.

We dropped in on our way back from the Tombs of the Kings tour, though as we had a largish lunch, we didn't want too much. The waiter/concierge saw us looking at the menu outside and wandered over, there wasn't the pushiness normally associated with resort restaurants, but he did mention he had pork chops the size of our arms if we wanted one! When we said that actually we only wanted something light, he responded by showing us the snack menu which seemed to normally be reserved for lunch, but seemed happy to let us choose from it, which we did.

The second time we visited purely because he's been so helpful, and the quality of the snack we had previously made us decide to revisit, this time for Meze.

We'd had Meze a couple of evening earlier at another restaurant so was interested as to how they might differ. The New Kings didn't disappoint. The menu was similar, but seemingly more "home cooked". The New Kings does seem to be run by a family, so it seemed the home cooking would shine, and it did, though they could have left off the chips, they weren't needed.

With and expansive menu offering all sorts for all tastes, The New Kings has it. Considering we visited on a Sunday night when it seems no one eats out (we were one of two couples in the place), they weren't fazed that we asked for Meze, which must be disheartening to create so many different dishes for one table, but they seemed happy, and we were ready with alternatives if it looked like it could be difficult, but no, they were happy to oblige.

Its on the main road, so sitting outside won't be for everyone, but that's probably the only negative, and in fairness they see it too, they only have three or four outside tables.

So they still get 5 stars, for food quality and value alone its well deserved. Try it, I don't think you will be disappointed.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank SteveErr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna C, General Manager at The New Kings Of Aphrodites Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2018

Thank you for your review we are glad you enjoyed dining with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2018

in this restaurant we went one night walking from our hotel. it is good place with cyprus food and they do dancing after,

1  Thank sergeiyvanovits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna C, Director of Sales at The New Kings Of Aphrodites Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2018

Thank you so glad you enjoyed your visit in our restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The New Kings Of Aphrodites Tavern also viewed

 
Paphos, Paphos District
Paphos, Paphos District
 
Paphos, Paphos District
 

Been to The New Kings Of Aphrodites Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing