We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Am Dom
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Goldgasse(Salzburg)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Elefant(Salzburg)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Stein(Salzburg)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Altstadthotel Kasererbraeu(Salzburg)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Stadtkrug Hotel(Salzburg)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Reviews (416)
Filter reviews
416 results
Traveller rating
240
127
31
10
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
240
127
31
10
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboutique hotelperfect locationold townsmall hotelthe breakfast areatop floortourist informationchristmas marketbed was very comfortablewould definitely stay here againstayed here for two nightsfantastic hotelair conditioningfew minutes walksound of music tourvisit salzburgjosef
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 416 reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2018 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for three nights for Christmas. The room was quiet small but functional, very comfortable bed and big shower. It was very clean and it is located just a few steps from the main square. Breakfast was good, there was a great variety of savoury but a bit less of sweet (just one cake or two and some bread with jam). Anyway we highly recommend this hotel, staff was very gentle and professional.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2018

The hotel is very located on a pedestrian shopping street in the old town, and one of the Christmas markets is at the closer end of that street.

The room, reserved as a single, had a twin bed and a small sofa. The bed was a bit soft. The room had a minibar, which I usually use to store my cold items, but it was so full of stuff that there was barely enough room there for a chunk of cheese. The bathroom decor was too glitzy for my taste, but it worked fine.

This was my second stay at the hotel, and the first time I stayed I didn't realize that reception wasn't staffed 24/7. I had a very early flight upon departure, so I kept the key while waiting for the taxi, then raced back into the hotel lobby to deposit it on the desk.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zoe17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2018 via mobile

A great find on a picturesque Salzburg street. Walking distance to all the sites. The staff were warm and professional. The breakfast, very reasonably priced, was very strong with full continental options plus great coffee and made to order eggs. The room was spacious and nice blend of old and new. If we were to go back, wouldn’t think twice about staying here again.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank jasonmcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2017 via mobile

One of the few hotels in the heart of the Old Town and next to Christmas markets... lovely little boutique 4*. Few doors from the utterly beautiful Hotel Goldgasse - that would be my first choice by miles, but the location and quality of Am Dom was really lovely.
No bar for nightcap and staff leave at 9pm. Receptionist (lady with long hair) was an utter delight, lovely and superb English. I was so disappointed no tea and coffee facilities but came back from outing and surprise!!! She had popped in the room as it was Christmas... lovely lovely touch.
Manager passionate and superb cook - breakfast was absolutely delicious. However he is far too intense, bordering brusque, certainly not warm. His English is not half as fluent as he would hope and made so many mistakes, I gave up asking him, got German speaking guest to translate - this seemed to offend him. Do recommend if Goldgasse is full.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Vicky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017

This is a lovely boutique hotel in a perfect location for the old town and the UNESCO historic district. The hotel is situated in a pedestrian street just off the Residenzplatz. Although cars are restricted in parts of the old town our taxi dropped us off at the beginning of Goldgasse and it was less than a 50 yard walk to the hotel. The hotel has 15 rooms on 6 floors and there is a lift. The hotel is quite narrow and has been converted from a house that was originally built on the site in the 16th century. The lobby area is quite small and immediately behind it is the breakfast area. Our room was on the 1st floor and the window looked out onto a small courtyard and the next building along. The rooms are very modern and decorated with modern art which makes them feel quite quirky.Our room was of medium size with a short hallway leading off on the left to the glass fronted bathroom and on the right through an arch to the bedroom. The room was spotless and had all mod cons - excellent wifi, mini bar, phone, table & chair etc. The bathroom was quite large with a single washbasin but plenty of space around it. Our room had a large walk in showere. They were plenty of towels and toiletries. The towels & bath mats were changed every day though there was no flannels. The breakfast area had about 10 tables which was fine unless everyone comes down to breakfast at the same time (which happened to us on one morning) . The breakfast buffet consists of cereals, juices, bread, cold meats, cheese and smoked salmon. Eggs , scrambled, boiled etc are cooked to order. It was ideal from our point of view. However notwithstanding that this is a lovely boutique hotel what sets it apart is its location. It is perfect for anywhere in the Old Town. The Cathedral is 100 yards away, Mozartsplatz and the Museum are a couple of minutes away and the funicular to the Castle is 5 minutes away. Although Salzburg is not a large town all the attractions are within easy walking distance , Overall the hotel was extremely comfortable and with its location made it ideal for our stay in Salzburg

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stonellas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews