We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor hotel and not worth the price”
Review of Hotel Imlauer Wien

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Imlauer Wien
Ranked #68 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2017

The hotel booked was for Imlauer and when we went to check in we were told its the building on the other side of the street called Nestroy.

Elevator- First we couldnt find the elevator upon entering. it actually took us quite a while to find the door to an old kind of elevator. The elevator basically stopped in between floors so one would need to climb stairs anyway.

Room- I got an attic for a room. The furnishings seemed dark and depressing and not modern. The room was exceptionally hot and not very sound proof.

Bathroom- Terribly small and inconvenient. There was not enough space in the bathtub to even stand. The shower handle was not high enough and water literally trickled down so took a lot of time to have a shower. The washbasin was so small that the towels kept basically covered the basin

Breakfast- Decent but they asked for extra charge to provide an omlette and the staff were very rude about it.

Room Tip: Avoid this unless there are no other options
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank joydeep d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IMLAUER_Hotels, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Imlauer Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2017

Dear Joydeep D.,
We thank you for your visit and for your feedback. I am sorry that the elevator felt inconvenient to you. It is a typical Viennese building of the early 20th century and they were usually built in this way. I am also sorry that you did not like the room. All our rooms are equipped with the modern necessities like air condition, minibar, safe, free WIFI, free tea and coffee making facilities and much more. We will have a look at the air condition as well as the windows. There should be no noise coming in from outside, when they are closed. Please apologize any inconveniences.
We are very sorry that we could not satisfy you on this stay. We thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.

With best regards,
Gerald Wlcek – General Manager
Hotel IMLAUER & Nestroy Vienna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (831)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 100 of 831 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2017 via mobile

The rooms may be nice and the location is not far from the centre but all is undone by the snootiness of the service. In case you need reminding, it is customers that pay your bills and salaries, so we could do without your smart-arseness and that stoic Teutonic nonsense of mumbled telegraphic answers starting with No! More to the point; one baby high chair is not enough for a dining/breakfast room of 50 seats or so. "The other one broke" is not a good-enough excused when you are charging north of 150 Euros a night. Replace it Fritz or give a discount or a complimentary something instead. And an apology. Open a dictionary if you don't know the meanings of any of those words. Furthermore, when children are in residence, give their rooms a proper cleaning, not just some half baked light dusting as was the case for us. Your housekeeping missed the obvious and so did your staff - courtesy and genuine interest in your guests.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank tommy437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IMLAUER_Hotels, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Imlauer Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2017

Dear Tommy,
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that you felt not competently treated by our staff. It is our foremost aim that our guess are comfortable and happy. Unfortunately, things can get broken and I am sorry that we could not provide you with another baby chair, but it was just not possible to replenish it at that moment.
I am very sorry that you were not satisfied with the cleanliness in the room. We will discuss this with our team form the housekeeping and will take extra efforts to ensure a very good quality here.
We are sorry that we could not satisfy you on your stay. We thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.

With best regards,
Gerald Wlcek – General Manager
Hotel IMLAUER & Nestroy Vienna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2017

We asked for a quiet room and we got it.The hotel is in a nice quiet area and within walking distance of the centre. Our room was clean the bed was fantastic as was the en suit bathroom/toilet.The air conditioning was perfect and we looked down onto a small court yard.We did not eat in the hotel but found some excellent restaurants and coffee houses very nearby.The staff were friendly yet professional and nothing was too much trouble.We have no hesitation in recommending this excellent hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 206Robert206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IMLAUER_Hotels, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Imlauer Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2017

Dear Robert,
Thank you very much for your amazing feedback and for recommending our hotel to other guests. This is a very nice compliment for us and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay so much. Thank you for your satisfaction with the cleanliness in the room and with the room itself. It is good to hear that you felt well assisted by our staff and liked their friendliness.
I hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you again at our hotel IMLAUER Vienna. Thank you very much for your excellent review.

With best regards,
Gerald Wlcek – General Manager
Hotel IMLAUER & Nestroy Vienna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2017

Hotel in a quiet side street, very unassuming from the outside. Modern decor and pleasant inside. Good service although there is no formal restaurant, mainly (nice) bar snacks, hot and cold, and a reasonable breakfast.
Good location only a few minutes walk from the Taborstraße (a station on Line U2 of the Vienna U-Bahn)
Good free internet service, connection held for 4 days and speed was fine.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank DuncanMc16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IMLAUER_Hotels, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Imlauer Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2017

Dear Duncan,
We are delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us and liked the location of our hotel very well. We indeed do not have a restaurant in our hotel, as there are so many restaurants around in the area. Our staff is always happy to give directions and recommendations where to eat. For a small snack, our bar serves several dishes and drinks.
We thank you very much for your visit to our hotel IMLAUER Vienna and your very good feedback. It would be nice if you would choose our hotel also for your next visit to Vienna.

With best regards,
Gerald Wlcek – General Manager
Hotel IMLAUER & Nestroy Vienna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2017

Lovely hotel around 10 – 15 minutes from the centre.
Located in a quiet street and so there was very little traffic noise
The rooms were spacious and the beds very comfortable, especially the really soft pillows.
Staff were great too.
The barman was also very friendly and made us some lovely cocktails.
All in all a reasonable priced lovely hotel

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AllanNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IMLAUER_Hotels, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Imlauer Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2017

Dear Allan,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review on your stay at our hotel IMLAUER Vienna. It is good to hear that you enjoyed your visit and were very satisfied with the comfort of the room and the location of our hotel. Thank you very much for your kind words about our staff. It has been very nice to have you as our guests and we would be delighted to welcome you back for another stay at our hotel.

With best regards,
Gerald Wlcek – General Manager
Hotel IMLAUER & Nestroy Vienna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
Hotel Nestroy
Hotel Nestroy
#181 of 359 in Vienna
596 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Der Wilhelmshof
Der Wilhelmshof
#31 of 359 in Vienna
1,560 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Austria Classic Hotel Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Margareten
Holiday Inn Vienna City
Holiday Inn Vienna City
#57 of 359 in Vienna
1,143 reviews
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Imlauer Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Imlauer Wien

Address: Rotensterngasse 10-12, Vienna 1020, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#50 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#74 Family Hotel in Vienna
#96 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: $93 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Imlauer Wien 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a peaceful part of the city, Hotel Imlauer Vienna makes a great base, with the subway stations Taborstraße and Nestroyplatz only 5 minutes away. Guests can walk to the Prater amusement park, 10 minutes away, and ride the Riesenrad, Giant Ferris wheel, which made an appearance in the famous movie The Third Man. Guests can pore over their guidebooks and plan the next day's sightseeing in the hotel's charming glass-covered courtyard. Other welcome amenities include a sauna and a small fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Imlauer Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imlauer Vienna Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing