We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't have done better!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BENEDIKTUSHAUS IM SCHOTTENSTIFT
Ranked #4 of 116 Vienna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2017

The reason I have only given four stars is because on our first night we slept in the only room at the front of the house. Many people like this room because it is on its own at the side of the reception, but the noise of the traffic on the cobbled road outside made it impossible to have the windows open at night. (It was very hot when we were there) Although the room was very comfortable, and a fan was supplied, we opted to change rooms to one at the back overlooking the courtyard, which was wonderfully quiet. All the staff were very friendly, the breakfast good, the location great and the guest house very reasonably priced. I would certainly go back there.

Room Tip: Opt for a room overlooking the courtyard for maximum quiet. Eat in Restaurant Leupold, with garden a...
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank maggielycett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2017

Excellent value in a great location. We will definitely go there again if we are back in Vienna. Only reason that I have given it 4 stars not 5 is that we were there during a hot week and there isn't air conditioning, though they do provide a fan which was a help.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CAFSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017

We were looking for an affordable option for our 3 night visit to Vienna, and came across the Benediktushaus Guest House. Located in the historic Scottish Abbey, you find yourself surrounded by calm and quiet. The entrance is unassuming, so you might miss it, but directions on the website are very accurate. Push open the heavy historic door, and enter the cool heavy stone building. Enter another door, and walk up the spiral staircase (or take the elevator they managed to install in a very tight space!) to the check-in desk. They have specific hours for checking in, especially on Sundays, so be sure you get instructions for entrance if you are outside those hours. Our room on the third floor was located on the inner courtyard, with big windows that opened to welcome a cool breeze. The room was spotless and comfortable. Benediktushaus provided a hot water pot and an assortment of tea and coffee in our room - something we had not received elsewhere during our 4-country visit to Europe this year, and was much appreciated. The shower was immaculate, large and provided very hot water. The Wifi was strong and stable. The breakfast, offered from 7-10:30am was wonderful with a large selection of breads, eggs, jams, cheeses, meats, cereals, etc. The location was absolutely perfect. Located in the 1st District, we were close enough to walk to all attractions and even found some of the best restaurants in the neighborhood. All of this and the quiet solitude we were seeking to rest our feet after walking miles during the day as tourists in Vienna. If our travels bring us back to Vienna, we would look forward to staying here again.

Room Tip: Our room 935 on the inner courtyard on the third floor was large and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ladmiral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2017 via mobile

I stayed here for a business trip and found this Guest House perfectly situated especialy also for the event I was in town for. It is easy to get too, rooms are simple but all you need especially the peace and quietness, as there is no TV in the room. Wifi worked perfectly and breakfast had all you need to start you day relaxed and fresh.
Beds are comfy and I had no issue. Tea and coffee maker when you arrive, otherwise a grocery store is around the corner. Would and will stay here again

Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank tinyhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017

Looked at this place because a Tripadvisor reviewer said it was all you needed and the best priced place to stay. They were right. It's within easy walking distance of the train station and the centre of the city. Free wi-fi, tea/coffee making facilities and the rooms are spotless. Breakfast is more basic than some places but there is plenty of it. You can request eggs but no other hot food is available.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
Austria Classic Hotel Wien
Inner City
Mercure Vienna First
Mercure Vienna First
#36 of 358 in Vienna
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Ruby Lissi Hotel Vienna
Ruby Lissi Hotel Vienna
#31 of 358 in Vienna
722 reviews
Neubau
Hotel am Brillantengrund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BENEDIKTUSHAUS IM SCHOTTENSTIFT? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BENEDIKTUSHAUS IM SCHOTTENSTIFT

Address: Freyung 6a, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 116 B&Bs / Inns in Vienna
Price Range: $136 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BENEDIKTUSHAUS IM SCHOTTENSTIFT 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
According to the tradition of the Rule of St. Benedict, the Benedictine monastery "Schottenstift" ("Abbey of Our Beloved Lady of the Scots") runs a guesthouse. The bed-and-breakfast style BENEDIKTUSHAUS im SCHOTTENstift is embedded in the large historical buildings complex of the abbey in the center of Vienna. Our guests value the very quietly situated, well equipped rooms looking out onto one of the tree-lined courtyards of the monastery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your BENEDIKTUSHAUS IM SCHOTTENSTIFT reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benediktushaus Guest House Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing