We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Hospitality, friendly staff, nice room with free wifi,excellent breakfast,value for money-”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Vienna City
Ranked #57 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2011

I visited Vienna, Austria for the first time (13 May- 17 May 2011. )Travelled alone from Manila-Doha-Vienna after a 16 hour flight, exhausted and sleepy, took a cab with only one address in mind. Holiday Inn Vienna City. I had to memorise the address as this is not an English speaking country but knowing that I will be billeted at Holiday Inn I felt really secured and confident that I am in good hands. I have been to a several Holiday Inn Hotels such as in Barcelona and Paris and I really felt that I am home whenever i set foot in the hotel. Front Desk people are always friendly and accommodating. In Vienna City, the staff who assisted me was very helpful , I arrived really early and my room was not ready but she did her best to find a room for me and gave me alternative place to freshen up and rest while my room is being cleaned. Everything you need in a hassle free stay is present in the hotel. It was raining in Vienna and they had umbrella ready for the guests. They offer excellent breakfast from pastries to cereals to yogurt and the famous salami and sausages. They also have free WIFI. The rooms are neat, and clean with complete amenities of a luxury hotel except that the room is smaller. But it is value for money .... The location is close to the train station , the famous Nasmarkt. and a convenient store/supermarket (Billa).

Room Tip: I like the rooms facing the garden- :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ahsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

667 - 671 of 1,143 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2011

Especially in summer, find a place with a working air conditioner. I am a loyal holiday inn guy, platinum priotity club, and this was a total disappointment. You'd think that they would offer a new room or some assistance, but they did not. The location is ok, but there are MUCH better values to find in Vienna. Take this from a guy who stays in ICH brand hotels wherever he goes...... You can do better.

They also nickel and dime for everything, even as a platinum member.

Room Tip: Find somewhere else to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kool8d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndiLienz, Manager at Holiday Inn Vienna City, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2011

Dear Kool8d,
Thank you for taking the time to write this comment. I very much regret that we did not manage to see you leave our hotel with good memories and therefore immediately went to check with my team to reconstruct the happenings. However your feedback left us puzzled. It is true that the air conditioning was not working the first night and I apologize for the inconvenience this has caused to you. At the same time you write that we were not willing to offer you any assistance - a point I do not agree with.
On your arrival day the air conditioning in your room was indeed not working. As we could not fix it the same day (Sunday) we put a ventilator into your room as well as bottle of cold mineral water to make the night as comfortable as possible. We also did consider a room move. Unfortunately this was not possible because we were fully booked that same night. In my opinion this shows that we did offer you assistance by offering you as many options as possible at that moment.
The next day (Monday) the engineers were called and they discovered that the issue was linked to a mistake of one of craftsmen during the recent refurbishment in winter. In any case the problem was fixed immediately so that on Monday night as well as during the rest of your stay the air conditioning was working.
Dear guest, I very much regret the inconvenience caused to you and I would be very happy to discuss this matter further if you wish. It would also help me to better understand what had gone wrong and to improve our service for the future.

Yours sincerely,

Andrej Wimmer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2011

We were reaching vienne by nine in the morning and had requested a early checkin..but were doubtful being a busy tourist season...but on arrival and reminding the desk of our request,,,were pleasently surprised when the lady across smiled and said your room is ready sir you can checkin immediatly.
we are a senior couple and the care and the hospitality of staff has had us not only recommending this hotel...but their personal care is very much like home. It was our first trip and thus the location was perfect very central.
The top rooms are the best..very spacious and well lit.The staff very caring and delivering room service within minutes
The food is just great...one cannot ask for more away from home. all I can say is Going to Vienna...Just go to Holiday Inn....Leave the rest to them...they know how to take care of you.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bhavya3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2011

Lady at the reception remembered that I was running in the morning and wished me luck :)
Nice, clean, simple. They gave me a pack of Gummi bears and asked me to write a review. And I did :)

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank golobm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2011

it is not your average traditional looking austrian hotel but it is well priced and good value for money
rooms are new and there is marble in the bathrooms
funny the choice of giving you 30 mins free internet after which you must purchase tickets
thery also have a very nice garden in the back for an al-fresco aperetivo or a for a nap on their sun chairs

Room Tip: ask for a room far from the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marco R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
Hilton Vienna Danube Waterfront
Renaissance Wien Hotel
#70 of 359 in Vienna
1,189 reviews
Dobling
Ibis Styles Wien City
Ibis Styles Wien City
#55 of 359 in Vienna
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Landstraße
Austria Trend Hotel Savoyen Vienna
Leopoldstadt
Austria Classic Hotel Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Vienna City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Vienna City

Address: Margaretenstrasse 53, Vienna 1050, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Margareten
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Vienna
#41 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#56 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#60 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: $111 - $404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Vienna City 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Vienna visitor, because of its central location the Holiday Inn Vienna City is an ideal starting point to explore Vienna. The attractions of Vienna, such as the 'Ring', the State Opera House, the 'Karlskirche', the 'Musikverein', the popular 'Naschmarkt' and the 'Mariahilferstrasse' are only a short walk away from the hotel - the Schoenbrunn Palace, the 'Hofburg' and the Vienna International Centre can comfortably be reached with the underground nearby. All hotel rooms are equipped with High Speed Internet access, in public areas such as the bar, the lobby and the restaurant Wirless Lan is installed. Recreation is offered in the hotel owned steam bath and during the summer months in our romantic garden. In our conference rooms we ensure the smooth operation for your event for up to 50 people. Dear Vienna visitor, we would be delighted to welcome you at our hotel during your stay in Vienna. Yours sincerely, Holiday Inn Vienna City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, IHG, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Vienna City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Vienna City Hotel Vienna
Vienna Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing