We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Vienna City
Ranked #60 of 358 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 November 2014

We stayed there for 4 nights in October. It is about a 20 minute walk to the center or a 5 min walk to the subway. There are lots of things to visit in and around the city, cathedrals, churches, museums, galleries, cafes and restaurants galore. The hotel is very clean and the staff were very friendly. The room was modern and clean and adequate space for two. The breakfast buffet had a huge choice and sparkling wine too (always a treat!) The only downside was the wifi that needed to keep being logged into and became frustrating. But overall a really good location for a hotel in Vienna. On my last day i left my travel charger in the room, which whilst out the receptionist had kindly placed in my luggage. I am very grateful for this and thank you. You can also reach the airport easily from the local subway and much cheaper than a cab !!!

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellingNessy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

367 - 371 of 1,127 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2014

As an IHG Rewards Platinum member, I found this property to be lacking. First off, the hotel is disjointed with 2 separate elevators depending on which part of the hotel you are staying in. The back area of the hotel requires you to go up about 3 steps, then go back down about 3 steps before reaching the elevator. For anyone with a disability this could present a challenge since no ramp is provided on the first set of steps. In addition, if you have luggage it can be difficult to lift it up these stairs. I also was not impressed that as a platinum member the hotel did not upgrade us to a higher floor and/or better room.

Another issue with the hotel is the rooms are extremely dated or at least the room I received was. The room was small, had bluish black carpets that were spotted, and the water temperature while taking a shower fluctuated. In addition, this hotel is typical of European hotels where it requires you to enter the room key into a slot upon entering the room to turn on the lights. However, this is the first European hotel I have stayed at that also turns the air conditioner completely off when the key is removed from this slot. As such, the room would be 85-95 degrees Fahrenheit when we arrived back in the afternoon and housekeeping would always open the window which allowed the humidity to come into the room. As such, we initially thought our air conditioning wasn't working because we turned the thermostat all the way down to the coldest setting when the room hadn't cooled off after several hours and we like to keep the room at 75-78 degrees Fahrenheit, but after about 7-8 hours the room would finally become comfortable, just in time to wake up the next morning.

Another issue we had was that housekeeping when they made up the room removed the comforter from the bed and folded it in such a way that we every evening had to take the comforter off the bed, turn it around and then place it back on the bed to sleep. As such, we considered the bed to have not been made on a daily basis.

We did really like the area the hotel was located in with a great traditional Austrian restaurant only a few blocks away that the front desk recommended. We also liked the Nacht Markdt which was only a few blocks away for the variety of restaurants as well as the vendors who sold a variety of prepackaged and fresh food. There was a supermarket just down the street, and the metro (about a 10 minute ride into town) was located right next to the Nacht Markdt which was probably a 10 minute walk. Later at night we did sometimes feel a little unsafe when walking back to the hotel from the metro if we took certain streets because of the construction and lack of lighting.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Joseph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Vienna City, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2014

Dear Joseph C,

Thank you for leaving a comprehensive review, highlighting not only the bad but also the good points of your stay. We are glad to hear you found our location convenient. We truly regret the overall disappointment you may have had especially with the room that you were given and the housekeeping level of service being below par. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you again for your comments and continued loyalty as an IHG Rewards Club Platinum member.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2014

A good hotel and not far from the underground. Excellent breakfast buffet. Staff all friendly and reception very helpful. Near the market too with lots of lovely food choices.

Our room was quiet but as the weather was mild we opened the windows and sadly then had smoke from smokers sat talking in the garden.

Room Tip: Ask for a room over the garden to avoid traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kathryn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2014

We stayed there for 3 nights late last year. It is a 20 minute walk to the centre of Vienna. Lots of nice cafes and restaurants in the area and a nice dress shop where I got my wife a nice dress as part of the trip. The hotel itself is very clean and the staff seemed very friendly. The room was modern and clean and adequate space . We didn't eat at the restaurant as it seemed quite expensive. So we ate in town or local cafes for our stay. Overall a really handy position for a hotel is you are sight seeing the historic part of Vienna

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ray G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2014

The time I spent at the Hotel was great staff were extremely polite and helpful, room was very comfortable, food in restaurant was excellent, it was very near to the underground U-Bahn I was greeted every time I entered the reception which made my stay great I would definitely stay at this hotel in the future. The WiFi was good and also free to use. This is a place you should definitely think about using as a base for your stay

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank clarinet325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
Hilton Vienna Danube Waterfront
Renaissance Wien Hotel
#66 of 358 in Vienna
1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Landstraße
Austria Trend Hotel Savoyen Vienna
Dobling
Ibis Styles Wien City
Ibis Styles Wien City
#56 of 358 in Vienna
1,005 reviews
Hilton Vienna
#108 of 358 in Vienna
3,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Vienna City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Vienna City

Address: Margaretenstrasse 53, Vienna 1050, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Margareten
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Vienna
#45 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#56 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#60 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: $119 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Vienna City 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Vienna visitor, because of its central location the Holiday Inn Vienna City is an ideal starting point to explore Vienna. The attractions of Vienna, such as the 'Ring', the State Opera House, the 'Karlskirche', the 'Musikverein', the popular 'Naschmarkt' and the 'Mariahilferstrasse' are only a short walk away from the hotel - the Schoenbrunn Palace, the 'Hofburg' and the Vienna International Centre can comfortably be reached with the underground nearby. All hotel rooms are equipped with High Speed Internet access, in public areas such as the bar, the lobby and the restaurant Wirless Lan is installed. Recreation is offered in the hotel owned steam bath and during the summer months in our romantic garden. In our conference rooms we ensure the smooth operation for your event for up to 50 people. Dear Vienna visitor, we would be delighted to welcome you at our hotel during your stay in Vienna. Yours sincerely, Holiday Inn Vienna City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Vienna City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Vienna City Hotel Vienna
Vienna Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing