We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleepless in Vienna”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cordial Theaterhotel Wien
Ranked #149 of 358 Hotels in Vienna
Reviewed 1 December 2016

We chose this hotel as it was four star and located close to the centre of Vienna. First of all I agree with some other reviewers. I don't know how it has been classified as four star. The décor is straight out of the 20's and 30's and although the room we had was spacious, it was dull with poor lighting. There was a kitchenette, however, all of the cupboards were locked and therefore it could not be used. We couldn't even make a cup of tea! The breakfasts were adequate and the staff very friendly and helpful. By far the main issue was that our room faced the street and although we were on the third floor, as the road is relatively narrow, the traffic noise was very disturbing. Trams, cars, buses, lorries they all passed within feet of the bedroom window and I found it very hard to sleep through. To top it all and I must stress this is not the hotel's fault, for two of the three nights we stayed, there was road works being undertaken from 10pm to 5 am immediately adjacent to the hotel. Yes everything from petrol generators to road drills all night right outside the hotel. I can't believe the Vienna authorities allow this to go on but these works were covered up during the day and only worked on through the night.
Therefore if you are happy to stay at a 1920's style hotel, make sure you ask for a room at the rear away from the road.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the house overlooking the street are very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malcolm P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ihrGastgeber, Geschäftsführer at Cordial Theaterhotel Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2016

Dear Malcom,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!
Next time please as for a room located to the backyard.

Sincerely,
Christoff Seibert
General Manager
Cordial Theaterhotel Wien Zentrum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (350)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 350 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2016

Had wonderful stay, and enjoyed the very nice breakfast that is mixed between warm and fresh food! The hotel is located in the heart of Vienna, on a walking distance from the different breathtaking sceneries of Vienna!
Also I could go jogging in the morning and enjoy the charming architecture of the building in that part of the city.
The staff are wonderful and so helpful too. Usually I send postcards to friends (yes I still keep that old habit of a pens and postcards), so the reception has postcards which is very nice so I don't need to look around for them!
Finally I loved how they have chosen different themes for their rooms! by naming them after the name of famous poets/artists/philosophers, it felt like getting more insights into the Austria history too! :-)

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ziad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ihrGastgeber, Geschäftsführer at Cordial Theaterhotel Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2016

Dear Ziad,

thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
Christoff Seibert
General Manager
Cordial Theaterhotel Wien Zentrum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2016

The hotel is very wellcoming,and the checkin was easy and friendly.All staff were pleasant in all areas of the hotel.My room was a great base and very clean,breakfast had a fantastic range of foods on offer.The information available from reception staff was of great use.Very near to tram stop and underground station.Various tourist attractions were within a 10 min walk.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ihrGastgeber, Geschäftsführer at Cordial Theaterhotel Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2016

Dear Jeff,

thank you for the great review of our hotel!
Thank you for the positive remarks depending our employees and our breakfast service.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
Christoff Seibert
General Manager
Cordial Theaterhotel Wien Zentrum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2016

I got a good deal on booking.com for the hotel. Double room for single occupancy. Requested a quiet room and it was. The hotel is warm, clean, the staff are very friendly and helpful. Free wifi and had no problem with connection or speed. As a solo female traveller I felt safe in the hotel and surrounding area. It's in a nice street with interesting shops, a small Spar opposite for supplies if necessary. Lots of cafes/restaurants around and easy walk to the museum quarter and the old town. Handy for public transport. Would recommend and stay again.

Room Tip: I was on the top floor, room was quiet as requested.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FeeFeeF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ihrGastgeber, Geschäftsführer at Cordial Theaterhotel Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
Christoff Seibert
General Manager
Cordial Theaterhotel Wien Zentrum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2016

Arrived in Vienna with no hotel reservation. Found a quality hotel in the heart of the theatre district. Appeared safe and good lighting for nightly walking. We stayed in a suite consisting of a bedroom and living room with very comfy pull out couch. Had a small dining area with kitchenette, mini-bar, fridge & stove. Bathroom was modern and very clean. A few restaurants were within walking distance and wine store & pharmacy around the corner. Approximately 12 minute walk to the heart of Vienna with high end shopping. Great value for 129 Euros! Free Wifi a plus. Price did not include buffet breakfast on main floor lobby area. 18 Euros for breakfast if wanted.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ihrGastgeber, Geschäftsführer at Cordial Theaterhotel Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2016

Dear Kim,

thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon, but next time with reservation ;).

Sincerely,
Christoff Seibert
General Manager
Cordial Theaterhotel Wien Zentrum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
25hours Hotel at MuseumsQuartier
Mariahilf
Hotel ibis Wien Mariahilf
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi
Josefstadt
Fleming's Selection Hotel Wien-City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cordial Theaterhotel Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cordial Theaterhotel Wien

Address: Josefstaedter Strasse 22, Vienna 1080, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Josefstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#109 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: $120 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cordial Theaterhotel Wien 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cordial Theatre Hotel Vienna is a stylish, comfortable 4-star hotel situated practically in the centre of the city. Right next door you'll find the famous Theater in der Josefstadt, the oldest theatre in Vienna. The hotel's central location lets you walk to the Old Town to see the Stephansdom and the stately buildings of the Ringstrasse in just a few minutes. The CORDIAL Theatre Hotel Vienna has 54 comfortable studios and suites, each equipped with a flat-screen TV, telephone, radio and minibar. Some have a kitchenette. Elegance and cosiness has been skilfully combined. For your health and wellbeing, we also offer massages and cosmetic treatments on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cordial Theaterhotel Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cordial Theaterhotel Wien Vienna
Cordial Theaterhotel Wien Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing