We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“to avoid”
Review of Bukowski the Pub

Bukowski the Pub
Ranked #1,620 of 4,673 Restaurants in Vienna
Neighbourhood: Neubau
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Neubau
Reviewed 21 June 2020

the pub was packed with loud students. It is cheap but the quality is not there. If you want cheap booze to get drunk, you can go there...

Date of visit: June 2020
Thank Tommylucky12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2019

This popular, dusky, cramped, studentesque Vienna pub offers some countercultural, un-yuppie, f-you ambiance that may start to convince you they care WHY the place is named after Bukowski, a writer whose lifestyle is steeped in drink & contrariness. But if you don't find thick clouds of film-noirish cig smoke & a distracted barmaid atmospheric, then yr in trouble. It does offer a decent, CHEAP menu of cocktails, house wines & beers from uninspiring Lowenbrau & Beck’s, to reliable Pilsner Urquell to more aspirational cloister brews or Tergensee...

Cig smoke doesn’t bother me but dropped ops do: It could be so much more than mere tongue-in-cheek refs to Buk & 1 large black-&-white Buk portrait as reminders of its namesake, the ever-popular, rascaly, raunchy poet who, along with Kerouac, convinced a million wannabe writers into living a life other than what they’d been spoonfed – to live on the edge in pursuit of their muse – a noble, if not very lucrative pursuit.

How about weekly readings in the Bukowski spirit; a mini-library display case showcasing his inspiring books; a DJ-bartender who spins more than just blasé electronica/techno, too loud for actual conversation. Replace it with an eclectic mix featuring contemporary sounds inc. lounge, interspersed with the many sounds, samples & post-beat spoken word trax that draw the bohemian theme together. & forget TV broadcasts of soccer matches! Maybe it was just an uninspiring, glum-weather evening. But they’re trying.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank wreckthismess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2019 via mobile

Bukowski The Pub is an absolutely fantastic pub we always look forward to visiting on any holiday my twin brother Stephen and I take to this most beautiful of city's.
The pub is cool,great decor and furnishings including a cool looking serving bar ,great wall art and plenty of seating options spread throughout this pub both inside and outside looking out onto the busy and bustling streets around the pub.
We were here on a Monday afternoon, greeted warmly by a very pleasant member of staff who served us a beer each,we just chilled out and took in the great pub we were in.
My beer was exceptional, a light,hoppy and unpretentious beer bursting with taste,very easy to drink, a totally refreshing beer.
We really enjoyed our beers in here and the great vibe so much so that we ended up staying for another beer each before we moved on and as on every other visit to here we had a great time.
Bukowski The Pub is easy to locate on Siebensterrngasse in an area teeming with pubs,bars and restaurants and some amazing architecture and a major tourist destination.
Opening hours are;
Monday to Saturday ,10am till 4am.
Sunday, 10am till 2am.
A great pub ,well worth a visit if your in the area.

Date of visit: June 2019
1  Thank 293neilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2018 via mobile

I have been there 2 times with friends and both the times it happened that they gave us a wrong change!!! Do they always do this with tourists?
So bad!!!!
There are way better places around... I absolutely don’t recommend this place

Date of visit: May 2018
2  Thank uischial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2018

Great bar to pop in for drinks in the Museum Quarter. Good value for a few beers, welcoming staff who were helpful even when the place got busy. Recommended!

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
Thank swtraveller2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bukowski the Pub also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Bukowski the Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
US$USD
Singapore
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.