We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly straff, big rooms and breakfast w/bacon :-D”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scandic Ishavshotel
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 1 August 2017 via mobile

Friendly staff, great view and next to the pier in Tromsø and 1 minute walking distanse to centrum.
Parking place on the outside (with app).
Big rooms, perfect breakfast (and plenty of bacon).
Some noice from boats at the quai.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
Thank Kvalitetsreise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie A, Front Office Manager at Scandic Ishavshotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Dear Kvalitetsreise,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your review of our hotel. Hope you enjoyed your stay with us! See you soon :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (334)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

24 - 28 of 334 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2017

We were in awe when entering our room. Directly facing the ocean front and Ishavskatedralen over the fjord. With a view like that you don´t need anything else.

Breakfast was probably one of the best I have had- congratulations to the kitchen staff!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the docks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RuneViking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie A, Front Office Manager at Scandic Ishavshotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Hi RuneViking,

Thank you for the lovely review! Hope to see you back soon :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017

Nice and clean hotel with excellent location. We especially enjoyed the breakfast - lots to choose from for example freshly squeezed orange juice and barista bar. We stayed for two nights but there were no cleaning, which I mentioned at checkout and as a response I didn't even get an apology.

Harbour view was a bit over advertised. Cruise ship docked to the harbour had its engines on idle throughout the night.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Marialina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie A, Front Office Manager at Scandic Ishavshotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Dear Marialina,

So sorry you didn't get our good service from the housekeeping department that you deserve. I will let them know so they don't do it again.
Hope you enjoyed your stay with us :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017 via mobile

Liked this hotel in the middle of the town. Nice view and Clean rooms.

Good service and a very good breakfast.

Children friendly
But why are the bar closing so early?

Service 4
Atmosphere 4
Price 3
Breakfast 4.5

Can recommend to stay at.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
Thank Olof H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie A, Front Office Manager at Scandic Ishavshotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Thank you for your kind review! Hope to see you soon again :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017

Harbor view from room, comfortable, clean, free WiFi, heated floor in bathroom, buffet breakfast, blackout curtains, window opens, coffee in room(instant), small fridge. Scandinavian design. Would return.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Atlantis_514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie A, Front Office Manager at Scandic Ishavshotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Thank you for the lovely review :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.1 km away
Clarion Collection Hotel With
0.1 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
0.3 km away
Clarion Hotel The Edge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Scandic Grand Tromso
Scandic Grand Tromso
#10 of 18 in Tromso
516 reviews
0.4 km away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0.1 km away
Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Ishavshotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Ishavshotel

Address: Fredrik Langes gate 2, Tromso 9008, Norway (Formerly Rica Ishavshotel)
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Tromso
#3 Green Hotel in Tromso
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tromso
#5 Family Hotel in Tromso
Price Range: $186 - $420 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Ishavshotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scandic Ishavshotel has a unique location on the quay in the centre of Tromso. It is easy to get to as the bus station is close by and the airport is just 5 km away. Our rooms are of a high international standard and for conferences and events we have rooms in all sizes for 2 - 450 participants. Our restaurant offers a contemporary a la carte menu consisting only of the freshest seafood, fish and local meats all prepared in an original Josper grill featured in our open kitchen. Free WiFi is available in the rooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Scandic Hotels, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Scandic Ishavshotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rica Ishavshotel Hotel
Rica Ishavshotel Tromso Tromsø
Rica Ishavshotel Tromso Hotel Tromsø

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing