We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly convenient location”
Review of Gaustad Hotell

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gaustad Hotell
Ranked #90 of 103 Hotels in Oslo
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Gaustad Hotell's front door is about 10 metres from the 17/18 trikk (tram) terminus so it's very easy to travel into Oslo city centre and you won't miss the stop on the way back. As other reviewers have said this isn't a luxury hotel and it's part of the Rikshospitalet complex. Rooms are functional and the beds are comfortable. The overnight rate I had included a self-service breakfast.

I accessed the hotel by car and although the turn off the motorway is well signposted it's more difficult when you actually get to the Rikshospitalet site. The hotel's address is Sognsvannsveien but it's actually just to the left of the piazza in front of the main hospital entrance. It's also about 500m back to the multi-level car park.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shieldsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

19 min to the centre of Oslo, the tram stops in front of the door, no 17 and 18. Very noisy but clean rooms. The breakfast is ok, they even have rice milk for vegans. Many customers are (family of) patients of the hospital next door.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hudinek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed in this hotel last weekend (fri-mo) and it was one of the best stay ever. Stuff was enormously friendly, helpful (thanks Ingvild :) ), great location (not so far to downtown, but in quiet location), great price, clean room. Once more, thank you for everything for all of you. We enjoy stay in your hotel.

Room Tip: we had 216, view to park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jakub S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

you get what you pay for and this hotel does not market itself as luxury. The tram stop is also conveniently right outside the hotel making travel to the centre easy. This is necessary as its quite far away. The service was friendly and no complaints there. the rooms however are dated, and there are no added luxuries or additions. In the end we were happy we were only staying for 1 night.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank SonyaS102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012 via mobile

The room was well equipped with a small fridge, couch and tv and was clean. The tram also stops right out the front to travel into the city centre. However we were a little disappointed with the service of staff when checking in and the fact that our showers were fairly cold.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chameleon85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Gamle Oslo
Central City Apartments
Central City Apartments
#70 of 103 in Oslo
57 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Citybox Oslo
Citybox Oslo
#18 of 103 in Oslo
1,718 reviews
Sentrum
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Grand Hotel
#11 of 103 in Oslo
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaustad Hotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaustad Hotell

Address: Sognsvannsveien 20, Oslo 0372, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 103 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range: $129 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gaustad Hotell 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gaustad Hotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing