We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, clean and convenient hotel”
Review of Gaustad Hotell

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gaustad Hotell
Ranked #89 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Reviewed 27 February 2015

This is a great hotel for a budget traveller. Right next to tram lines going straight into the city centre which is very convenient. The breakfast was nice with some hot options and mostly continental options. For the price you can't fault anything. Staff friendly and rooms nice and clean. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: For a nice view, ask for a room overlooking the park, next to the hospital.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaCC94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2015

Stayed here last 3 years cant wait till February to go again clean, great staff,nice breakfast, on the main train rout to the slopes and there's good hiking around the hotel grounds would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Robbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Very nice and clean hotel. Easy to get to downtown with trams 17 and 18 which stops at the hotel. Very attentive and friendly personnel. Nice surroundings to take a walk through. Breakfast could be better though

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Fatima D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

At first you might be scared off by the fact that the hotel is a bit out of the way (at the end of two tram lines), but that shouldn't bother you at all. Those two trams (no. 17 and 18) arrive every 5 mins or so and it's a 15 mins ride to the city center. The rooms are not very modern, but they are big and clean. The bathroom is huge and also very clean. The breakfast is by far the most diverse one I have ever seen in a budget hotel, probably because of the hospital patients. And that leads me to the one problem I had with the hotel, actually not even really a problem. The hotel is right next to a big hospital and many of the patients and their relatives are staying at the hotel, only one floor is for regular tourists. My only problem was that I felt a little guilty that we were there to have fun and all those people were there for surgeries and treatments... But apart from that I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We were in room 220, twin room facing the woods. Good wifi reception, I recommend it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zanduka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

People are often scared of Oslo's high prices, but at 60 euros per night (breakfast included!) this hotel is rather affordable. Literally situated right next to the tram station, you can get to the city center in 15 minutes or less. The breakfast is very good, with a lot of different things to choose from. They also serve lunch and dinner at good prices. The rooms aren't very modern, but that shouldn't bother you if you came to explore the city. It has free wifi, but it works better in certain areas of the hotel. Next time I'm in Oslo, I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank vlad30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Scandic Sjolyst
#27 of 102 in Oslo
496 reviews
Gamle Oslo
Norwegian Hotel
Norwegian Hotel
#63 of 102 in Oslo
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Smarthotel Oslo
Smarthotel Oslo
#35 of 102 in Oslo
977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaustad Hotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaustad Hotell

Address: Sognsvannsveien 20, Oslo 0372, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range: $123 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gaustad Hotell 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Gaustad Hotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing