We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Scandic Vulkan
Nearby Hotels
US$253
US$227
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$196
US$170
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$197
US$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$137
US$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Citybox Oslo(Oslo)(Great Value!)
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Smarthotel Oslo(Oslo)(Great Value!)
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$197
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$223
US$213
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Comfort Hotel Xpress Central Station(Oslo)(Great Value!)
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$482
US$415
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (725)
Filter reviews
725 results
Traveller rating
246
319
111
29
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
246
319
111
29
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfood hallfood marketnice hotelbars and restaurantscity centreroom was a bit smallkarl johanamazing breakfastclose to the hotelair conditioncomfortable staybusiness tripmodern designmin walkthe room was nicewi fishort stay
Filter
Updating list...
90 - 95 of 725 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2017

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Monica E, General Manager at Scandic Vulkan, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 30 March 2017

I have stayed here twice now and it is great because it is a short walk through a beautiful park to where I need to go for work. Also, it is a short walk to the city center where all of the main attractions are. A short walk to many nice restaurants. So the location is A+ ! The staff is very friendly and helpful and couldn't be more accommodating. The breakfast is great. We are vegan and they offer oat milk and rice milk on the buffet, there is delicious fresh bread with plant margarine and oats, cereals, granolas, nuts, fruits: a lot of options (for Norway). And for everyone else it is a total feast so A+ on the breakfast situation. The room is small but comfortable and I have never had any problems with noise. Nice bathroom with Face Stockholm products. Only complaint was in winter the rack to hang clothes on is quite small so we did not have much room after hanging up 2 heavy coats. The rest of the clothing storage is cabinets/ cubby hole so if you are fancy that would be a drawback. There is an iron and ironing board in the room. Overall, I really do love it. What keeps me coming back is the nice staff, the awesome breakfast, a quiet and comfortable night's sleep, and the perfect location.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank me l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica E, General Manager at Scandic Vulkan, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2017

This is one of my favorites! Thank you so much for your kind words! All the best from the team here at Vulkan :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2017

The Scandic Vulcan proved to be a great choice. It is situated in a great area where there are a good choice of restaurants, as well as the the one within the hotel. The breakfast was excellent, and the staff were very relaxed, helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
Thank gmpryor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica E, General Manager at Scandic Vulkan, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2017

Thank you so much for your kind review! The breakfast was excellent, and the staff were very relaxed, helpful and friendly - the feedback we work and dream of :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2017

In comparison to other 4 star hotels the Scandic Vulkans lacks in many aspects. The location is nice and it is 15 min walk to the city center. But unfortunately, our room was on the side of the street so that we could not sleep due to the noise. My bed was moreover covered with hair of men. When I complained about that, the sheets were not changed, only "cleaned". The room has no minibar. We were also quite astonished that there is no fresh coffee, no fresh juices and no service to be seated at the breakfast. On saturday there was no table left so that we had to sit downstairs in the restaurant and walk up the stairs for every time we wanted to get to the buffet. When checking out, we were not even asked if it was everything okay with our stay. All in all, extremely disappointing experience when one has been to tons of comparable hotels before.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank _Koletta34_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica E, General Manager at Scandic Vulkan, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2017

Thank you for your honest feedback! I am terrible sorry that we did not meet your expectations. We take a mandatory review of our procedures, so that this will not happen again. Unfortunately we do not have table service at breakfast, and because of our sustainabilityhotel - no minibars in our rooms. But our staff friendliness should be better - and this I can assure you will be better!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2017

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Monica E, General Manager at Scandic Vulkan, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews