We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Park Inn by Radisson Oslo(Oslo)(Great Value!)
US$108
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$113/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Thon Hotel Cecil(Oslo)(Great Value!)
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Smarthotel Oslo(Oslo)(Great Value!)
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Scandic Byporten(Oslo)(Great Value!)
US$317
US$265
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$160
US$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Comfort Hotel Xpress Central Station(Oslo)(Great Value!)
US$143
US$106
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Saga Poshtel Oslo Central(Oslo)(Great Value!)
US$135
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Scandic Holmenkollen Park(Oslo)(Great Value!)
US$194
US$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,493)
Filter reviews
2,493 results
Traveller rating
1,151
1,079
186
53
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,151
1,079
186
53
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationbreakfast buffetperfect locationarriving by trainnice hotelsingle roomgreat breakfastnutshell tourairport expressoslo fjordbusiness roommain stationhotel is locatedcity centreoslo passpublic transportationvisiting oslo
Filter
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 2,493 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2018

Best hotel we have stayed while in Norway.

Location (next to Flytoget station) making arrival to and from the airport easy. Transportation to other parts of Oslo is also excellent because of it's location.

Room are well designed with sound proof rooms, lots of storage and a big bathroom with a very long bath tub.

Breakfast is good breakfast.

Excellent services from all staff.

Room Tip: Rooms are sound proof. Large bathroom with very long bath tub
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no
2  Thank jc_singapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rita L, Manager at Thon Hotel Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Dear jc_singapore

Thank you for your top rating and for taking your time to write a review of your stay with us at Thon Hotel Opera. I’m happy to read that our location has been convenient for exploring our city and that the breakfast spread has been of your liking. Thank you for your kind words of the staff, I do hope we might have the joy of welcoming you back to Thon Hotel Opera on a future occasion as well.

Sincerely
Rita Ludvigsen,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2018 via mobile

Hotel is conveniently located in the city center, walking distance to most of the city attractions. Staff very friendly and communicative. Breakfasts were just amazing: very wide range of product (local and international), fresh and tasty. I recommend this hotel as a great base for city trip.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank HateAllLogins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marius L, Guest Relations Manager at Thon Hotel Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2018

Dear HateAllLogins,

Thank you for your top rating and for taking your time to write a review of your stay with us at Thon Hotel Opera. I’m happy to read that our location has been convenient for exploring our city and that the breakfast spread has been of your liking. Thank you for your kind recommendation, I do hope we might have the joy of welcoming you back to Thon Hotel Opera on a future occasion as well.

Kind regards
Marius Lilleng
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2018

We travelled from Bergen to Oslo by train and then walked less that a football field to our hotel. Additionally this hotel is located right next to the bus terminal as well. The harbor and many major attractions are so easily accessible from this hotel. The trams and the underground are within a block of this hotel. So as far as location is concerned this hotel is hard to beat and certainly a 5+.
The breakfast buffet is another very bright spot in this hotel with a vast variety of great tasting food and a large number of choices which will certainly keep you well nourished for all the activities you may choose to do and the places you will be visiting. WE didn't eat lunch after the breakfast we had! The bread is the most amazing I have ever had. Once again the Breakfast Buffet would rate a 5.
The property is clean and our room was kept spotless.
The rooms however would rate only a 3 because they have a bathroom that has a very high and slippery bathtub...that the average person could easily slip and fall in.
We had a problem with the shampoo and soap dispenser and spoke to the front desk and they said housekeeping would handle it, and by evening nothing had been done, so I spoke to the housekeeper myself and they came up and took care of the problem. Other than that misstep everyone at the front desk were friendly and helpful.
The rooms do NOT have a safe.
We had wanted a king bed, but instead they put two single beds together. The beds are narrow and there is a gap between them...mind the gap, as it can be problematic...enough said!
The weather was hot (85) while we were there and our room faced the afternoon sun and it was never really cool, and the covers on the beds are for cold weather, so it was not possible to cool off the rooms, even though the thermostat was set at the coolest level. The halls were much cooler than our room! WE felt it would be poor taste to sleep outside the room!
WE had a "suite", because it had two chairs...not my idea of a suite?
Overall we enjoyed our stay and the location can not be beat!!

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank LayneFick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marius L, Guest Relations Manager at Thon Hotel Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Dear LaynetFick,

Thank you for your rating and for taking time to write a review of your stay with us at Thon Hotel Opera. I’m happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us, despite some issues during your visit. I’m happy that our location has been convenient and that you have enjoyed our breakfast. I do hope you spoke with our front desk about changing you room, the most of our room categories has shower only available as an option to the bath tub, and this is available in all our twin rooms. I’m sorry that you have not been happy with the bed in your room, as we have a limited number of double beds, the room category booked will normally be the one which is granted upon check in. I do hope the pros overshadow the cons, and that we might have the joy of welcoming you back to Thon Hotel Opera once again on a future occasion.

Kind regards
Marius Lilleng
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2018

The Thon Opera is right by Oslo South and Central stations and, not surprisingly, near the Opera house. It’s good value for money in this expensive city. Also it is close to the Tourist Office, buses and trams.

Our room was on the small side which is common in Norway, and didn't have a view from it’s window. Our only complaint is that no-where in Norway seems to have worked out how to provide proper air-con!

The breakfasts were very good and the staff very helpful. Recommended for a value for money stay in this city.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Stavros45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marius L, Guest Relations Manager at Thon Hotel Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

Dear Stavros45,

Thank you for taking time to write a review of your stay with us at Thon Hotel Opera. I’m glad you have enjoyed your stay with us despite that we do not have air-condition at our hotel. The temperature in Oslo rarely exceeds 25 degrees, but with a uncommon hot May I can understand that the room has been to warm. That being said I’m glad you have enjoyed our breakfast and location, and I do hope we might have the joy of welcoming you back to Oslo and Thon Hotel Opera on a future occasion.

Kind regards
Marius Lilleng
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2018

1) The Reception staff were very helpful and friendly. We were in Oslo only for an overnight stay. The staff referred us to the tram since the hop on hop off bus ends at 5 pm and we arrived at the hotel around 3 pm. Unfortunately, it was a holiday the day we arrived and also the next day so the stores and restaurants were mostly closed. We bought tram tickets but found out that the important tourist spots were within walking distance from the hotel like the Royal Palace, the National Museum and the Parliament and the shopping district.

2) The hotel is conveniently located right beside the Central train station. There is even a roof from the train station to the hotel. You pass the South exit of the train station and will immmediately see the hotel.

3) We took the Flytoget Express Train from the airport to the Central train station/hotel and back. Very convenient.

4) They have a wide selection of delicious breakfast food items and even serve freshly squeezed orange juice. The breakfast servers are very efficient and friendly especially the Filipino waiter.

5) My kids loved the pastel colors of our 2 rooms which had a connecting door as per my request. Our Room had a balcony and the comfortable sofa bed fitted just right in the size of our room.

6) Our only regret is having to stay for only 1 night in this lovely hotel. We will definitely be staying here again in case we go back to Oslo.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizaocampo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marius L, Guest Relations Manager at Thon Hotel Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2018

Dear lizaocampo,

Thank you for your top rating and for taking time to write a review of your stay with us at Thon Hotel Opera. I’m happy to read that you and your family have enjoyed your time with us and that Oslo has been of your liking. I’m glad that our central location has been convenient for your exploration of our city, alongside transportation to and from the airport. I will forward your kind words about our breakfast waiter Romeo, both to him and his supervisor, so that he will have the praise he deserves. I do hope you will consider coming back to Oslo on a future occasion, maybe planning a little bit in advance to avoid the Bank Holidays, and that we might have the joy of welcoming you back to Thon Hotel Opera once again.

Kind regards
Marius Lilleng
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews