We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,557)
Filter reviews
2,557 results
Traveller rating
1,180
1,105
191
57
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,180
1,105
191
57
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationbreakfast buffetperfect locationarriving by trainnice hotelsingle roomgreat breakfastnutshell tourairport expressoslo fjordbusiness roommain stationhotel is locatedcity centreoslo passpublic transportationvisiting oslo
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 2,557 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2018 via mobile

Spacious hotel with nice rooms. Unfortunately the air conditioning did not work properly but thats normal in Scandinavia. This hotel has the best dining and breakfast area that I have experienced in all of the countries I have visited in this region. It has just been renovated, is spacious and loved eating there.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank colm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eline J, Front Office Manager at Thon Hotel Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Dear colm1

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us at Thon Hotel Opera. I'm glad you have enjoyed your visit to Our hotel and you liked our newly renovated dining and breakfast area. I hope will have the joy of welcoming you back to Thon Hotel Opera also on a future occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2018 via mobile

We stayed for two nights. All in all a good hotel though some drawbacks made us somewhat disappointed. The room was basically comfortable even if no toiletries were available as they usually are in other 4-star hotels even in standard rooms. The bed linen was clean but the pillow was smelly. The worst was the air conditioning at breakfast which made you really uncomfortable. Hopefully when the restaurant refurbishment is complete this issue will be solved. The staff at reception are very helpful and good-mannered.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank BradBradley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marius L, Guest Relations Manager at Thon Hotel Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Dear BradBradley,

Thank you for taking time to write a review of your stay with us at Thon Hotel Opera. I’m glad you mainly have enjoyed your stay, despite some issues. I do hope we might have the joy of welcoming you back to Thon Hotel Opera soon again, and that you will find the newly refurbished restaurant better then the temporary breakfast room.

Kind regards
Marius Lilleng
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

The location of the hotel is awesome. Close to the train station and walking distance to most major attractions. It was easy to get to/from the airport.
The room and bathroom are clean. We had a superior room which gave us more room and a separate shower and tub. We did have a safe in our room.
We were really disappointment with the breakfast buffet. The was a lot of food but it was not of quality and the layout was disorganized and the room where we were sat felt like a High School Cafeteria. Actually, the food tasted like cafeteria food too.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Harsharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marius L, Guest Relations Manager at Thon Hotel Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Dear Harsharon,

Thank you for taking time to write a review of your stay with us at Thon Hotel Opera. I’m happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that the room was of your liking, but sorry that the breakfast did not taste good. As you might be aware of the restaurant has been under refurbishment this summer, which have forced a temporary location for the breakfast. I do hope we might have the joy of welcoming you back to Thon Hotel Opera on a future occasion, and that you also will have a great breakfast on your next visit.

Kind regards
Marius Lilleng
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

Superb hotel right next to the rail station and City Center. Immaculately clean. Great room. The restaurant was being refurbished, so dining facilities were temporarily sited in the Conference Room, which resulted in a limited choice of food and slightly less than ideal table arrangements. Nevertheless this did not spoil our break in any way.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marius L, Guest Relations Manager at Thon Hotel Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2018

Dear David R,

Thank you for taking time to write a review of your stay with us at Thon Hotel Opera, and thank you for your top rating! I’m happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that our location has been convenient for your visit to Oslo. I’m glad that the refurbishment did not interfere more on the total experience, and I do hope we might have the joy of welcoming you back to Thon Hotel Opera on a future occasion so that you may experience the result of the refurbishment.

Kind regards
Marius Lilleng
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay, arranged by our cruise line, Viking. Hotel staff were very helpful, breakfast buffet was wonderful, and they had a bar with televisions so we could watch the world cup! Location was perfect!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Thank JLP2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marius L, Guest Relations Manager at Thon Hotel Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Dear JLP2016,

Thank you for taking time to write a review of your stay with us at Thon Hotel Opera, and thank you for your top rating! I’m happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and I do hope the whole trip was a success. Thank you for your kind words about our staff, the breakfast and our bar. I do hope we might have the joy of welcoming you back to Thon Hotel Opera on a future occasion.

Kind regards
Marius Lilleng
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews