We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (680)
Filter reviews
680 results
Traveller rating
256
280
101
31
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
256
280
101
31
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews amazing breakfast national gallery free weights small gym great hotel spent one night modern hotel pleasant stay major attractions the hotel staff nice room excellent location quiet area hotel breakfast smoked salmon city hall by foot
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 680 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2018

My extended family stayed at the Scandic Hotel for a family reunion in Oslo. Our group included 8 families, each with children or teens, making for 35 people in total. Elisabeth helped us with the reservations and she could not have been more responsive, especially considering everyone was arriving and departing at slightly different times over several days, with some last minute changes and requests, etc...

The Scandic gave us a great rate and made check in and check out easy. Everyone on staff was helpful. The hotel was centrally located which made walking to sites and the train easy. The rooms are small (by American standards) but clean and well appointed. A huge breakfast spread was included, which was a real bonus, allowing our whole group to dine together each morning.

Given the rate, we had expected far less and were very pleasantly surprised by what a positive experience we had at the Scandic St. Olavs Plass. Thank you!

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank lcsm2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mads H, Front Office Manager at Scandic St. Olavs plass, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2018

Dear lcsm2018,

Thank you very much for your 5 stars feedback!

We are really happy to know you and your family had a great experience here at Scandic St. Olavs Plass.
We appreciate your nice comments regarding our breakfast, rooms and service.


We are looking forward to see you here again in the nearest future,
Welcome back!

Best Regards



Yasemin.vurucu@scandichotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2018 via mobile

We stayed twice at this hotel, before and at the end of our Norway tour. Our experience during the second stay was quite different from the first. The room during the second stay was much much smaller, the air conditioner did not work and when we tried to open the windows for some fresh air, they wouldn’t open! Certainly did not get the value for money!

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank SKV22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mads H, Front Office Manager at Scandic St. Olavs plass, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2018

Dear DKV22,

Thank you for your review of our hotel.

We are really sorry that you had a bad room experience.
We do have larger rooms at the hotel, and we recommend to book Superior Extra rooms, as they are larger with more space and better view where you can open the window.

There are no air condition but central ventilation system in the hotel. We can also adjust each room from the reception if its too cold or too hot.

We hope to see you again in the nearest future,
Welcome back!

Best Regards



Yasemin.vurucu@scandichotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2018

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Scandic Hotels
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mads H, Front Office Manager at Scandic St. Olavs plass, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 1 August 2018

Nice room, modern and clean. Good bath room, extra mirror for shaving/make-up. A bit busy but all in all nice breakfast, good variation. Restaurant and bar, snack bar, short way from main Street, but quiet environment.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
Thank Eva Helen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mads H, Front Office Manager at Scandic St. Olavs plass, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2018

Dear Eva Helen A,

Thank you for your review.

We are happy to hear you had a great stay with us!

We are looking forward to see you here again,
Welcome back!

Best Regards



Yasemin.vurucu@scandichotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2018

This is the values Scandic is standing for, a budget hotell. You get what you pay for. Unfortunately this was one of my most terrible experience in all the Scandic chains Ive been visited. For sure i only stayed for one night but the service should be with out exception good anyways. Started with checkin with a guy on service desk on 24/07 witch was an unpleased experience. Not a hello or not even "welcome to our hotell". He just gave me the key and gave me an unpleasant nasty look while i was walking my way to the elevator. The morning next day im starving for breakfast and walking into the restaurant area where i get a shock of how all the empty tables with dishes everywhere. I feal stressed out and with my only plate with some fruit i keep standing and eating. There is no breakfast waiters cleaning the tables neither no tables to sit at. With a disappointment i walk out from the hotell to take my morning run, and im meeting the same guy as yesterday at service desk. Saying good morning to him without any respons and not even hi. Unpleasant stay with no service at all..

Room tip: Service Desk service is terrible
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank D1840TEdanielc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mads H, Front Office Manager at Scandic St. Olavs plass, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2018

Dear Daniel

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us. I really sorry that you felt that our staff was unfriendly, this is not how we want to preform. I'm also sorry that the breakfast was not up to standard. I would appreciate if you can contact me directly on email so that we can discuss this matter further.

Best regards
Mads.hammer@scandichotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews