We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location. But still overpriced.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bogstad Camp & Turistsenter
Ranked #23 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Oslo
Reviewed 27 August 2014

This may be the best location in Oslo. Quiet, peaceful, and 20 minutes from Slottsparken and the Royal family's castle. The reception staff are very friendly and helpful. There is free wifi at the reception area only.

HOWEVER, for US$150/night, I would expect clean bathrooms and shower. We knew we would have to share, but assumed that the showers would be clean. The floors were slimy and dirt filled and the bathrooms were so far away it was tempting to squat next to the cabin (no comment on if this happened at 3 a.m. or not). Showers cost extra, but parking is free.

If you head into Oslo, there is a bus that will take you there. The bus is HIGHLY recommended as parking is so expensive. The bus also takes you directly to the Royal Family's park and home. Very pleasant for a picnic or a walk.

Tip: buy the bus ticket at the front desk for a significant discount

Room Tip: Ask to be near the bathrooms. It will make a big difference. And BRING SHOWER SHOES.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights in June 2014 as part of an organised tour of Scandinavia.

Location-wise the campsite is on the outskirts of Oslo (it took about 20mins to drive into the centre of the city) and in a really lovely setting, with views across a golf course and down to a lake. It's in a residential area and is overlooked by apartment blocks, but has plenty of green space and is very quiet.

We had one of the cabins, which had 2 bunkbeds in it, a table and chairs and a nice little veranda. There was only one plug socket in the cabin, which wasn't idea but the mattresses were fairly comfy and all the furniture seemed relatively new.

The ablution block is only accessible with the key card, which was a bit annoying as we only had 2 key cards between 4 of us. You also use these to put shower credit on. There are separate showers and toilets for men and women and there are plenty of cubicles to use - there was also plenty of hot water and good water pressure and everything was pretty clean.

The wifi was okay - the range wasn't that great (it's just by the reception block) but you can sit in there to use it. There are also laundry facilities in the block too.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheLush101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We were worried about this place before our trip to Oslo. We travelled to Norway in July and it would be very depressing to find a very crowded camping place during our first stop. On the contrary camping area was very silent and peaceful. You can find frequent bus service to the city center where takes aboy 45 mins. Free wi-fi is available around the reception building. You can find a small lake for a short stroll nearby the camping area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank quti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

This campsite is 7km from the centre of Oslo and reached very easily by a bus that departs from a side street just down the road from Oslo central station. TIP! - don't pay for a ticket on the bus. It cost us 50NOK each one way and its only 80NOK for an entire day pass to use as much as you like. it was our first time in Norway and we didn't know this. We stayed here as Ekeberg camping didn't open for another day. its a lovely big campsite with a bar and a supermarket. It has a nice site to pitch your tent. We stayed for one night before heading of into the mountains. We would stay again if we returned to Oslo.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barbs111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We stayed here in very cold conditions with several feet of snow! The cabin was cosy and very comfortable, with a small kitchen area, bed and lounge.

It was very easy to get into central Oslo by taking the bus.

My only complaint is that it was very hard to get to the shower/toilet area through several feet of snow. The area was very badly lit and you really had to watch your footing. It really was very inconvenient, especially if you needed the toilet in the night.

However not a bad stay and really enjoyed the warmth of the cabin after a long day!

Room Tip: Make sure you book a cabin with a bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Laura N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anker Hotel
#45 of 103 in Oslo
1,461 reviews
Sentrum
Citybox Oslo
Citybox Oslo
#18 of 103 in Oslo
1,717 reviews
Anker Hostel
#8 of 35 in Oslo
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bogstad Camp & Turistsenter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bogstad Camp & Turistsenter

Address: Ankerveien 117, Oslo 0766, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Oslo
Price Range: S$148 - S$186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bogstad Camping is a large camp site with all the necessary facilities. Bogstad is located 9 km from Oslo's city centre and can easily be reached by public transportation. There are 46 cabins for hire - some of them have shower, toilet and TV. Open all year. Right next to the camp is the lake Bogstadvannet, where you can go for a swim or rent wind-surfing equipment. Bogstad has a miniature golf course and a playground. In winter you can go downhill skiing in Tryvann Winter Park or cross-country skiing around Bogstad. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bogstad Camp & Turistsenter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing