We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing ”
Review of Way Down South

Way Down South
Reserve with OpenTable
Way Down South is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #61 of 1,592 Restaurants in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$38
Restaurant details
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great service, amazing food and a brilliantly done pecan pie with homemade? Ice cream. We will be back soon enough.

Thank Lourdes L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

On holiday, I visited with my wife.

The platter was incredible! Everything was superb, but a special shout out to the corn bread (and the sausage, and the ribs etc etc.!)

So good, we visited twice in 2 days! We visited Tennessee, Kentucky & Louisiana last year - this was as authentic and as good as the best food we ate there! Ribs as good as the best I’ve ever tasted (BB Kings jazz club in Memphis!)

Thank tbrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018 via mobile

We were so happy with our visit here. Everything was perfect. The food, the service and the drinks. We will be going back here for sure.

Thank Gerd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Polyanna R, Guest Relations Manager at Way Down South, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thanks, Gerd!!!
Will be a pleasure having you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2018

It's a small bustling restaurant with a buzzing vibe. I ordered the fried chicken and corn bread which did not disappoint! It was well above average fried chicken you normally get. Jim who was working, was kind enough to take the time to talk to me and explain some of the recipes and influences behind them which was a really nice gesture. I was also stuffed with my main so I couldn't handle desert but it looked amazing!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MrAPham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Polyanna R, Public Relations Manager at Way Down South, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

Thanks so much, MrAPham!!!!!
We do agree that Jim is the best! <3
Welcome back!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2018

This was our second visit to this place. Very welcoming reception, easygoing waiter. We had brisket for two, fried chicken and freakshake. Great food, we will definitely come back! The best smoked meat in this part of Europe:-) Freakshake deserves its name..totally crazy good desert! The stuff is very professional yet easygoing. We felt very welcomed. Even chefs are smiling behind the bar. Great place for date with a date or friends.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pandora0566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Polyanna R, Public Relations Manager at Way Down South, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

Thanks, Zina0566!!!!
It is amazing to get reviews as yours! We are very happy and grateful for your kind words!
Welcome back to WDS!
Cheers, Polyanna - WDS Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Way Down South also viewed

 
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 
Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 

Been to Way Down South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing