We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$171
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$162
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$215
US$190
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$188
US$183
Clarion Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$207
US$186
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$180
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel Terminus(Bergen)(Great Value!)
US$191
US$141
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$208
US$189
Hotel No 13
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Augustin Hotel(Bergen)(Great Value!)
US$126
US$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (421)
Filter reviews
421 results
Traveller rating
160
188
55
7
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
160
188
55
7
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationbed female dormgreat locationrent towelscook your own foodfree wifibed linenenter the buildingequipped kitchenprivate bathroomcommon spaceloved staying herelaundry roomshared kitchenguest housesitting roomtwin room
Filter
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 421 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2016

This hotel was well located, clean and modern. The lady on the front desk was very helpful and the hotel offered good facilities such as TV and free wifi. We had a private room which was quiet and had comfy beds.

However, we paid close to £150 per night for this hotel and we thought this was a bit overpriced. Firstly, we had to pay extra for the towels when we arrived. We were also handed linen and told to make our own beds. The bathroom was small and had no bath (the shower also flooded the entire bathroom). And there was no tea / coffee facilities in the room. If we had paid hostel prices (i.e. less than £100), this wouldn't have bothered us so much but we thought that it would be a higher standard of service for the price. Perhaps the price of all accommodation in Bergen was inflated that weekend because of the Hanseatic Days festival and at normal weekends it may be better value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 707ljm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2016

Stayed here for one night with my sister on a short stay to Bergen during the Norway in a nutshell tour. Friendly greeting from the lady on reception. Yes you get given bedding and yes you have to rent towels...but try not to let that put you off!

The room (we had a private double with our own bathroom) was basic and no frills but very clean and the bathroom was spacious. We made our bed and logged on to the fast free wifi - very impressive!

There was a nice looking communal kitchen and plenty of bathrooms and also a laundry room that we spotted.

Location wise it's excellent - 5 minutes from the train station and the middle of town. Couldn't fault it.

Compared to the price of other hotels in Bergen this was something of a bargain - worth booking in advance though!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Amy_Lea_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2016 via mobile

I just want to say that the staff there is so friendly and nice! I made a mistake on my reservation and they were so accommodating and quick to fix my mistake. Also, with our travel delays they were okay with our very late arrival. The room itself was kind of small but our room did have a private bath which was nice. The location was good, close to the train station, the wharf, and furnicular. I'd stay there again if I'm lucky enough to head back to Bergen.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2016 via mobile

All the staff were very friendly and helpful the whole stay, and reception has long opening hours. The location is perfect, 5 min walk to the centre. Great kitchen facilities, and loads of places to socialise or just chill. Room was clean and comfortable, and there was a daily cleaner. Loads of showers and toilets throughout the hostel, all in good condition and clean. Must stay if in Bergen, thanks for the great stay!!

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
Thank sophieplatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception M, Resepsjonssjef at Marken Gjestehus, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2016

Thank you for this awesome review! We hope to see you back in Bergen and Marken Gjestehus some day :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2016 via mobile

Good location with free wifi, however overpriced for a small basic room which fails even to include towels. Another feature which I found strange was the requirement to make your own bed which is a task requiring a strong stomach as a number of hairs can be found under the mattress. Suggest you look elsewhere.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank luke b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews