We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tatty and overpriced apartment lets the hotel down - awful beds and no windows as well”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Norton House Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mumbles
Reviewed 12 August 2017

The hotel building looks really lovely but sadly we were in the 2 bed apartment which is in dire need of updating. The most surprising thing was that the living room and master bedroom had just one big door that opened out onto the courtyard/carpark so you could not safely have fresh air through the night as there were no windows. The double bed was a 'ziplock' type with a hard ridge down the middle and terrible thin uncomfortable mattresses. The walls were bashed and tatty - somebody had several goes at putting a curtain pole up and not bothered to rectify the mess. The bathroom window could not be closed so this was a concern. None of the crockery/cutlery was very clean despite there being a dishwasher in the kitchen. the shower wouldn't drain so you had a bath at the same time! There was a dead fly in the drawer and the toilets were truly disgusting and had not been cleaned since the previous occupants visit. All the staff I met were lovely and friendly but I felt disappointed that I had spent so much money on our family break and that the photos and description were not a fair or honest representation of what we would be staying in. The hotel building looks lovely and is in a great location so the apartment really lets it down.

Room Tip: Avoid the apartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MrsP2709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (474)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 474 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2017

We stayed on 28-29 July 2017. We couldn't get a table in the restaurant for either night as it was fully booked the 1st night and had an event on the second night, both of which we were unaware although we had spoken to the hotel by phone 5 days before. Litany of extremely poor room servicing. In the flat on one night and a room on the 2nd. Problems included loose loo seats, shower not draining, issues with TVs on both nights, loose hot sink tap, no plug, shower gel empty, flat not fitted out for 4 occupants, awful plastic pillow protector that crackled, breakfast was cold, etc. We complained to staff about all the incidents and as a result we were promised a complimentary one night's stay voucher by the owner when he rang our home, but it never materialised.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norton_Manager, General Manager at Norton House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Further to your comments above they are both untrue and inaccurate, firstly you had the opportunity to eat in the restaurant on the first night you stayed although you were extremely unhappy that we could not offer you a table until 8.30pm when you wanted to eat at 7.30pm. We accommodated your eating request at 7.30pm albeit through room service. On arrival you stated that the only reason for coming to the hotel was to eat if this was the case then surely you would have booked a table in advance and not left it to chance, its unreasonable to expect any hotel or restaurant to reserve a table for guests hoping they will book a table on arrival. On the second night of your stay the hotel had a private function which meant you could not eat in the restaurant, we do try to notify guests in advance but because you booked through a certain web site we did not have your email address but this information is accessible on our website. We consider your comments regarding the rooms, apartments and breakfast inaccurate, following the refurbishment of all the rooms you can see from guest reviews how well these have been received and the positive comments made by other guests. Shouting at hotel staff, banging our reception desk on check out threatening to leave bad reviews in our option is not a reason to bow to your demands.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

We booked our wedding at Norton House late 2015, with the help of Alan and Amy. Throughout the planning of our wedding nothing was too much trouble for Norton House, and Amy was a superbly efficient co-ordinator, offering her valued experience. The hotel and rooms have been recently refurbished to an excellent standard. Our wedding took place on a very sunny Saturday, and a fantastic time was had by all. I can't express my gratitude enough to Alan and his superb team, they were impeccable and ensured our day ran smoothly. Julia was on duty in the morning, and she made me feel extremely relaxed and confident, telling me 'if you drop so much as a pin on the floor I want you to call me'. The wedding breakfast, canapés, drinks reception and evening buffet were exceptional, and the service throughout ran like clockwork. Many of our guests commented on the quality of the food. Alan acted as compare, and ensured timings were achieved. He also made me and my groom feel relaxed and constantly asked us if we needed anything, always ensured we had a drink in hand and asked us to check we were happy with fine details prior to each part of the day. The gardens are nicely kept, and provided a lovely setting for our photos. We were a little apprehensive about the size of the bar, but at no time was this an issue, even with 150 evening guest to cater for. I am so so pleased that we choose this venue for our special day, it certainly was a great choice and made our day perfect in every way. If you are considering this venue for your wedding I guarantee it will more than meet you expectations. Thank you again Norton House-you are all amazing.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank michellefroberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norton_Manager, Manager at Norton House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Hello,

Wonderful to hear from you again. Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review.

We are thrilled you enjoyed your day and all your kind words.

We hope to see you both again soon!

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

We had an apartment within the hotel complex that definitely doesn't reflect the first nice impression nor the nice picture shown of own of the hotel rooms. Surprisingly we also received any room service (first time in my life) and on the third day I had to ask for toilet paper and fresh towels! The hot water boiler had to be reset everyday by the hotel stuff (very friendly) and when opening the wardrobe you need to be carefully that it doesn't fall on you. In one room a smell of mold was in the air so definitely no value for money

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank H Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

For what we paid for one night B & B here I am amazed at the quality of the place. We were on an overnight trip to The Mumbles and found this place, and booked online. Wasn't really expecting much for the price but was pleasantly surprised. Just 50 yards from the coastal road it is an ideal place to stay if you are exploring this beautiful coastline in this most amazing part of the world. Our room was comfortable and the one staff member we met was cheerful and helpful. My only complaint was that although the breakfast overall was good, the sausage was a little undercooked. All in all though, a delightful place to stay.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norton_Manager, Manager at Norton House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Hello Nick,

We are glad you chose to visit us again and very pleased you received another enjoyable stay. Your kinds words are greatly appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mumbles
5.5 km away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
1.1 km away
The Mumbles Hotel
The Mumbles Hotel
#3 of 3 in Mumbles
144 reviews
10.4 km away
Mercure Swansea
Mercure Swansea
#14 of 22 in Swansea
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 km away
Oxwich Bay Hotel
Oxwich Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oxwich
1,029 reviews
6.2 km away
Morgans Hotel
Morgans Hotel
#9 of 22 in Swansea
768 reviews
6.6 km away
The Grand Hotel Swansea
The Grand Hotel Swansea
#16 of 22 in Swansea
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norton House Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norton House Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Norton Road, Mumbles, Swansea SA3 5TQ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Swansea > Mumbles
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mumbles
Price Range: $91 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Norton House Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the world-famous tourism destination of Mumbles, the eighteen bed-roomed Norton House Hotel and Restaurant is a perfect blend of up-market urban chic and gracious Georgian elegance. The beautifully preserved country house is in private grounds framed by mature trees, manicured lawns and flower beds and is just minutes away from the smart shops and boutiques of the picturesque seaside village of Mumbles. The Georgian credentials of this graceful period building offer the gift of perfectly proportioned rooms, lofty ceilings and a feeling of airy spaciousness, quite the ideal ambiance for fine dining and for lively celebrations of all kinds: weddings, parties, and functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Norton House Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norton House Hotel And Restaurant
Norton Hotel Swansea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing