We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff and comfortable stay for family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Norton House Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mumbles
Reviewed 24 August 2017

I have worked in hospitality for many years and after reading some of the recent comments on Tripadvisor I was a little worried on bringing my family here. I didn't have to worry as it was easy to park, check in was friendly and quick - young lady gave me a great Welsh welcome, room/apartment was very modern, clean and comfortable - the modern TV's (there were two!) were great, couch easy to convert into a bed for the kids - everything needed was there. Went to the hotel for a drink and use Wi-fi (not in rooms yet), restaurant was buzzing and food looked good. Bar area is small but adequate. Got served quickly and efficiently. Breakfast was great in the morning with a lot of choice and we had pancakes which were made to order and were delicious. Kids were very happy with everything and staff were great with them. Location was spot on for everything. Kids loved the indoor water park and beaches. Overall a great stay. We left something small in the room by mistake and the hotel were kind enough to send it on to us to Ireland at no extra cost ;-)

Recommendations to improve:
Extra staff member to help in the morning - the staff that were on were doing very well but were run off their feet - toaster wasn't working but staff were bringing it out on request

Room Tip: Apartments ware modern and easy for families to use. They are currently updating the rooms in the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cyril D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norton_Manager, Manager at Norton House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Hello,

Thank you for your kind words and positive feedback. We are thirlled you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (479)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 479 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2017 via mobile

Hotel staff friendly and welcoming! On the down side.... Not pleased with the bed, pillows to light and the 5am alarm call via a false fire alarm frightened the life out the grand children however don't think you could hold it against the hotel staff and it was a one off!... OK for a short stay!... Close to the beach

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank wayne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norton_Manager, Manager at Norton House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Hello,

Thank you for your kind words and positive feedback. We are thirlled you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

A really nice hotel just off the main road around Swansea Bay. Walkable to Verdi's for an Ice cream. The room was just on the car park so we were worried about noise. Not a problem. Very quiet. A good nights sleep followed by a lovely breakfast. We had just one night here, but we were looked after well. The room (113) was newly decorated and fitted out. It was lovely and clean. Tea and coffee available (and hot chocolate) we sat on the little terrace outside our room while we drank it and watched the world go by. Could even see the sea!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norton_Manager, Manager at Norton House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and can't wait to see you again soon.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile

The Seafood Bistro is one of a number of restaurants I frequent whenever I am looking for superb cuisine and, service with a smile.

The dining experience is elegant, the piped music mellow and the surroundings very old worldly and I love it here.

I have been there twice now and on both occasions, I have been tempted to have the Seafood Platter, meant for two sharing, followed on by the Ribeye steak and on this occasion the Creme Brule, which not only epitomises beautiful food but also the culmination of a wonderful experience.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Thank Jai A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norton_Manager, Manager at Norton House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Hello Jai,

We are glad you chose to visit us again and very pleased you received another enjoyable meal. Your kinds words are greatly appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

Lovely, clean twin room. Bed linen and towels excellent quality. Modern bathroom and freshly decorated. We were lucky with the weather, so took advantage of the sun terrace in the evening. Very helpful and professional staff. Dined in the restaurant and had the most delicious fish in a beurre blanc sauce and perfectly cooked steak, so the biggest 'thank you're goes to the chef and restaurant team. Will definitely return .

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Sharon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norton_Manager, Manager at Norton House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Hello Sharon,

Thank you for taking the time to post this great review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and cant wait to welcome you back to Mumbles soon!

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mumbles
5.5 km away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
1.1 km away
The Mumbles Hotel
The Mumbles Hotel
#3 of 3 in Mumbles
143 reviews
10.4 km away
Mercure Swansea
Mercure Swansea
#14 of 22 in Swansea
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#6 of 22 in Swansea
1,006 reviews
5 km away
The White House
The White House
#18 of 22 in Swansea
169 reviews
11.4 km away
Oxwich Bay Hotel
Oxwich Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oxwich
1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norton House Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norton House Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Norton Road, Mumbles, Swansea SA3 5TQ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Swansea > Mumbles
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mumbles
Price Range: $92 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Norton House Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the world-famous tourism destination of Mumbles, the eighteen bed-roomed Norton House Hotel and Restaurant is a perfect blend of up-market urban chic and gracious Georgian elegance. The beautifully preserved country house is in private grounds framed by mature trees, manicured lawns and flower beds and is just minutes away from the smart shops and boutiques of the picturesque seaside village of Mumbles. The Georgian credentials of this graceful period building offer the gift of perfectly proportioned rooms, lofty ceilings and a feeling of airy spaciousness, quite the ideal ambiance for fine dining and for lively celebrations of all kinds: weddings, parties, and functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Norton House Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norton House Hotel And Restaurant
Norton Hotel Swansea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing