We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Norton House Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mumbles
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights at the beginning of September. The hotel has been refurbished to a very high standard and the room we stayed in was tastefully decorated and very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice and a freshly cooked full Welsh breakfast. There is a large car park and it is only a short walk to the shops and restaurants in Oystermouth. The staff were all really friendly and helpful and we would recommend this hotel as we will definitely return for another short break.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank LJP2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norton_Manager, Manager at Norton House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and can't wait to see you again soon.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (470)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 470 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2017

We are regular visitors to this hotel and Alan, the proprietor has made great improvements. Every room has been refurbished to a high standard.
The restaurant is excellent with a good variety of food. The staff are fantastic and try to accommodate the various dietary needs. The quality of the cuisine is of the highest standard and the steak, just melted in the mouth.
The staff are, in my opinion, without equal. They go out of their way to make us feel welcome. Mbention must be made of the redoubtable Julia, with Graham , Monika and Lauren. W e then have Alex at the desk with a welcoming smile.

Room Tip: Rooms 3,4 and5 would be my choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Hiraethwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

I have stayed here many times. Great location, efficient and friendly staff and, above all, fabulous food. Great choice for breakfast whether you go for a 'healthy' option of fresh fruit and yogurt or the full Welsh. Btw you must try the laberbread and cockles. Always impresse. Feels like a home from home, but I don't get this standard of care at home

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TheProf1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norton_Manager, Manager at Norton House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello,

Thank you for your kind words and positive feedback. We are thirlled you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

We decided to stay here for several reasons. Firstly, my husband used to deliver newspapers here as a boy when he lived in Swansea!!! Secondly, after looking at previous reviews, the accommodation looked really nice and thirdly, the location at the Mumbles end of the town, away from the city centre. On arrival we were taken by a lovely young lady to our room. It was on the first floor overlooking the front of the hotel. It was nicely decorated, obviously recently refurbished as the bathroom was lovely. A modern shower, sink and toilet with beautifully tiled floor and walls. Toiletries and bathrobes provided too. The only drawback was that every time we used the bathroom, we had to close the blind as the window wasn't frosted and there were rooms directly facing the window across the car park! In the evening we wandered down to Oystermouth and ate in the White Rose pub which was fine.

After a good night's sleep, we went for breakfast. There was a well-stocked table of cereals, continental breakfast items, juices, fruit, yoghurts etc and breads for DIY toast. We had the full Welsh breakfast which was very tasty with gorgeous bacon and sausage, black pudding, beans mushrooms and a choice of eggs. Tea or coffee was available for you to help yourself.

On the 2nd evening we opted to eat in the hotel restaurant after a drink in the bar. Not the cheapest of restaurants but we had a lovely meal with excellent service.

We would gladly stay here again on our next visit to Swansea. All in all, a very nice hotel, very pleasant and welcoming staff and lovely food.

My one and only gripe....Please get rid of the plastic covered pillows!!! I realise you need to keep them protected but they make your head sweat - at least they did with mine - a lot!

Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017

What a wonderful find, lunchtime menu lots of choices and so reasonable, food was excellent, both in presentation and taste, high chair provided for little one, special meal provided for him not on menu without any fuss, staff were so helpful but unintrusive, low background music, the staff brought my birthday cake out with candles lit and led the happy birthday chorus, would have no hesitation in recommending for a meal and will be back shortly, thank you for a great afternoon

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Helen186466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mumbles
5.5 km away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
1.1 km away
The Mumbles Hotel
The Mumbles Hotel
#3 of 3 in Mumbles
144 reviews
10.4 km away
Mercure Swansea
Mercure Swansea
#14 of 22 in Swansea
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 km away
Oxwich Bay Hotel
Oxwich Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oxwich
1,028 reviews
6.2 km away
Morgans Hotel
Morgans Hotel
#9 of 22 in Swansea
768 reviews
6.1 km away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#7 of 22 in Swansea
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norton House Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norton House Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Norton Road, Mumbles, Swansea SA3 5TQ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Swansea > Mumbles
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mumbles
Price Range: $92 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Norton House Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the world-famous tourism destination of Mumbles, the eighteen bed-roomed Norton House Hotel and Restaurant is a perfect blend of up-market urban chic and gracious Georgian elegance. The beautifully preserved country house is in private grounds framed by mature trees, manicured lawns and flower beds and is just minutes away from the smart shops and boutiques of the picturesque seaside village of Mumbles. The Georgian credentials of this graceful period building offer the gift of perfectly proportioned rooms, lofty ceilings and a feeling of airy spaciousness, quite the ideal ambiance for fine dining and for lively celebrations of all kinds: weddings, parties, and functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Norton House Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norton House Hotel And Restaurant
Norton Hotel Swansea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing