We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rejuvenated in Mumbles.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Norton House Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mumbles
Reviewed 25 September 2017

Wonderful room, en-suite and comfy chairs. The décor relaxing, good mattress and linen, and light from large sash window in Room 5 a great place to read. Breakfast was superb and dining area spacious but friendly.
Lovely smiley, courteous and efficient staff. We had to sleep with the window wide open as the heating system extremely warm but did not disturb us.

Room Tip: Room 5 gave a great modern flavour to the historic grandeur with 4-poster,high ceilings and sash win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank marquisno3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norton_Manager, Manager at Norton House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and can't wait to see you again soon.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (495)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 495 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2017

Didn't think this hotel could get any better but it just did. First time we stayed we had one of the apartments and it was perfect - huge two bedroomed space - clean and very inviting totally enjoyed our stay. Second time we had a twin room in the annex and again it was perfect - nice comfy and clean.
This time we were staying to visit family - and didn't hesitate in rebooking - again we had a twin room again in the annex - and it turned out to be the room we had actually stayed in previously. However now its been refurbished. Lovely carpet you sink in to. Lovely decorated and exceptionally clean. Walk in shower with huge shower head - trendy bathroom.
Only comment I would have re room is it was extremely hot - in fact it was throughout the hotel - even though in the room the radiator wasn't even on.
Breakfast was included and we had a full Welsh Breakfast both days. Cleared plate on both occasions.
Dined in the restaurant the first evening - excellent selection / choice - meal we had was perfect.
Only complaint in respect of breakfast time - room lacks atmosphere - and is too quiet. Needs some light background music or something to lighten the mood.
We will most definitely use Norton House again when in the area visiting family - and wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TheDragonMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norton_Manager, Manager at Norton House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Hello Nick,

We are glad you chose to visit us again and very pleased you received another enjoyable stay. Your kinds words are greatly appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

Stayed at the Norton House on 9/10. Stayed one night. Room was newly renovated. Getting up to the room required stairs. When we got into the room it was stuffy, so we turned the towel rack off. We should have left the window open during the night to get more airflow (silly yanks). Had a limited view of the bay from the window. Staff was great and breakfast was good. Parking was with large spots. Good little bar (not a pub).

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tyson B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norton_Manager, Manager at Norton House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Hello,

Thank you for your kind words and positive feedback. We are thirlled you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights at the beginning of September. The hotel has been refurbished to a very high standard and the room we stayed in was tastefully decorated and very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice and a freshly cooked full Welsh breakfast. There is a large car park and it is only a short walk to the shops and restaurants in Oystermouth. The staff were all really friendly and helpful and we would recommend this hotel as we will definitely return for another short break.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank LJP2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norton_Manager, Manager at Norton House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and can't wait to see you again soon.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

We are regular visitors to this hotel and Alan, the proprietor has made great improvements. Every room has been refurbished to a high standard.
The restaurant is excellent with a good variety of food. The staff are fantastic and try to accommodate the various dietary needs. The quality of the cuisine is of the highest standard and the steak, just melted in the mouth.
The staff are, in my opinion, without equal. They go out of their way to make us feel welcome. Mbention must be made of the redoubtable Julia, with Graham , Monika and Lauren. W e then have Alex at the desk with a welcoming smile.

Room Tip: Rooms 3,4 and5 would be my choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Hiraethwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mumbles
1.1 km away
The Mumbles Hotel
The Mumbles Hotel
#3 of 3 in Mumbles
146 reviews
5.5 km away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
6.8 km away
Premier Inn Swansea Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 km away
Oxwich Bay Hotel
Oxwich Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oxwich
1,060 reviews
5 km away
The White House
The White House
#18 of 22 in Swansea
172 reviews
6.2 km away
Morgans Hotel
Morgans Hotel
#9 of 22 in Swansea
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norton House Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norton House Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Norton Road, Mumbles, Swansea SA3 5TQ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Swansea > Mumbles
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mumbles
Price Range: $97 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Norton House Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the world-famous tourism destination of Mumbles, the eighteen bed-roomed Norton House Hotel and Restaurant is a perfect blend of up-market urban chic and gracious Georgian elegance. The beautifully preserved country house is in private grounds framed by mature trees, manicured lawns and flower beds and is just minutes away from the smart shops and boutiques of the picturesque seaside village of Mumbles. The Georgian credentials of this graceful period building offer the gift of perfectly proportioned rooms, lofty ceilings and a feeling of airy spaciousness, quite the ideal ambiance for fine dining and for lively celebrations of all kinds: weddings, parties, and functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Norton House Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norton House Hotel And Restaurant
Norton Hotel Swansea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing