We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing nest with family taste in absolute privacy”
Review of Oasis Creole

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Terres Basses
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Oasis Creole
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We didn't chose Terre Basses and Oasis Créole at the first glance. We were attracted by more apparent locations, as Orient Bay or Oyster Pond. Then – you know as it works on Tripadvisor – you sift, comb, search, read, research, come again on the same addresses many times, other times, then eventually something sparkled from Terres Basses, lightning Oasis Créole. And it has been our chance. You can stay hours on Google Map, on the sat picture, but you will never get the "real" picture of a place – luckily, otherwise it would be useless to travel! When we received by email the codes to enter Terres Basses, two codes one for the outer gate and the second for the Oasis Créole property, we didn't realize well. Then after picking up our unbelievable "aubergine" deep purple Daihatsu Materia (see picture) we arrived in front of a gate with a 12 digit keyboard. And we realized that all that immense area, which is in fact a huge estate, is totally securely protected, the most secured and protected of the island. At Oasis Créole gate Jean-Pierre was waiting for us. You couldn't expect a more welcoming and hospitable landlord. Just after parked the Materia, Jean-Pierre picked us up his Jeep and drove us to the closer spots to show us the supermarket, some restaurants and snacks, and then on the way back he showed us one of the most exclusive attraction of Terres Basses: Baie Longue and Baie aux Prunes, two immense, seclude, totally private beaches, the best of the island, exclusively reserved to the estate users (see pictures). The day after Nicole, Jean-Pierre’s wife, returned from Paris and joining his husband showed us all her charming kindness and hospitality, offering us a refreshing, exciting and stunning T-punch, a typical rum-base drink that she enriched with tropical fruits and flavours. After a couple of glasses you are hilariously stoned, in the best and friendly way. Oasis Créole is surrounded by tropical green, and thanks of all these trees the Trade Wind gets more gentle, rustling through branches and leaves. J-P and Nicole offer three accommodations: the Villa, for large wealthy families, the cottages around the pool, the best, and two smaller cottages facing the trees. All of them are clean, well furnished and pleasant. The only noise you can hear, but the rustling leaves, are the cock-crows in the early morning, crossing the valley. But if you are coming from Europe and you are still under jet lag, there is no problem. You wake up anyway before sunrise!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank silviaebeppe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2013

The hosts, Nicole and Jean-Pierre were welcoming, engaging and helpful guides!

Nearby private beaches that you will access to.

It is in a beautiful setting with tropical trees. It is quiet as well. You will wake up to bird song.

Strongest recommendation to stay there.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2010

We stayed 5 nights at Oasis Creole in Terres Basses. 3 nights in the Studio Nevis and 2 nights in the Suite Familiale. The place is very peaceful and from the swimming pool and shaded terrace you have a beautiful view over Terres Basses and in the background the hills of Saint Martin. Our host, Jean Marie, was really welcoming, relaxed and anything was possible. He offered helpful advice and prepared some great rum-drinks! We used the large, gas-fired BBQ several times. Halfway our stay we changed to Suite Familiale because there was more wind (meaning fewer mosquitoes) and the suite was larger. Studio Nevis was a bit separate, so more privacy but also no view over Terres Basses directly from the room and a small stairs to the pool. Both the studio and the suite had a really nice bed. We thought the Chambes d’Hotes were also great value (right next to Suite Familiale), but they were already booked. Terres Basses is a residential area with many villas and beautiful beaches on three sides. However you do need a car to explore the area. There are no shops or restaurants within walking distance. Cupecoy is 5 min by car and Marigot approx 15 min. We really liked the detail to service at Oasis Creole. You can borrow travel books, board games, a beach umbrella and they can arrange a baby-sit if you need one. The only minor points we can think of are the quietness of the area and that you do not have a sea view from the hotel. Altogether Oasis Creole offers great value for money. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mirjam13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2010

Spend 10 days there with wife and kid. Excellent location of "Terres Basses", peaceful, huge tropical garden, nice pool, large rooms in a wonderful environment and the best excellent "service" by our host.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sxmfranck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phiphi75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Oasis Creole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oasis Creole

Address: 306 Baie Longue, Terres Basses 97150, St Martin / St Maarten
Region: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Saint-Martin > Terres Basses
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Terres Basses
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing