We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,019)
Filter reviews
1,019 results
Traveller rating
232
385
259
80
63
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
232
385
259
80
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mark snow shearings coach shearings hotels sea view self drive our waiter entertainment manager evening entertainment entertainment area sea front weekend break half board fourth floor long weekend great position standard room bar prices
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 1,019 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2018

i stayed at this hotel with my mum on a Shearings 5 day break. We paid extra for a Superior Room and extra again for Seaview room. We got room 210 which was close to the lifts. The room was large with lots of space , a small table & 2 chairs next to the window, a large desk with a wall mounted tv. Included was a lovely tea / coffee tray with kettle, cups , tea , coffee, hot choc, biscuits, chocolate bars & 2 bottles of water ( not sure if this was just because we had upgraded ). we had a on suite bathroom with bath & over the bath shower, i didnt use the shower so cant really comment as i prefer baths. Both room and bathroom were cleaned daily and tea & coffee replenished. The Seaview room was well worth the upgrade and i would recommend doing it ( see pics ). Morning views were amazing looking out over the pier and watching the sunrise.
The beds were quite comfy and i slept well.
There were several plug sockets around the room with a double socket at the side of the beds that included 2 usb sockets which came in very handy.
Breakfast was standard serve yourself buffet with hot food being the main focus, along with cereal, juices and toast. I would have liked to see some fresh fruit bowls and pastries / breads as i dont really eat hot breakfasts and by midweek i went out and bought my own bananas & apples as i was missing fruit so much.
Evening meal was a 3 course meal with quite a good choice every night, however i was very dissapointed with the salad i decided to get on weds, it was very plain, just leaves , tuna and onion with a small spoonful of very tasteless coldslaw.
The servers were always smiley and fast to serve dispite running round none stop between tables.
The hotel itself its quite large, nice size bar with plenty of choice and evening entertainment & bingo most nights too. The hotel places a photo and discription of each nights entertainment on a wall close to the lifts.
The lifts are quite small and at dining times can get very busy, with people waiting quite a while to get a lift.
At the left of the check in desk they have a dedicated mobility scooter charging room, we hired a scooter from a local firm that the hotel deals with, this was waiting in the room for us when we arrived and we just handed the key to front desk when we checked out. i would highly recommend using this service if you need help getting around.
The hotel sits accoss from the peer and just round the corner from all the shops and restaurants you could ever need.
The hotel was always clean and tidy and all the staff did there best to help with any issues.
The only negative thing i have to say is, the WiFi in this hotel is very poor, when you sign in the hotel shows a choice between free and premium, so i asked at front desk about the premium as i needed a better internet connection and didnt mind paying a fee. However , no-one i asked at the desk knew anything about it. In fact i asked Every day at different times of the day to several staff and no--one knew what it was or if it was in use. This was extreamly frustrating as it clearly showed as a choice on my laptop every time i signed in. I think more staff training may be needed as to what is offered.
Those small problems aside, i would choose to return to this hotel again and pay for the seaview upgrade.

Room tip: upgrade to seaview for the best rooms
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank DawnGypsyMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2018

Oh DawnGypsyMarie (love the tag) we always have fresh fruit available. We state this on our breakfast menus. That said a simple request to any of us and we would have been only to happy to get you your banana or apple. Please keep this in mind for future visits. Your feedback regarding the new room is encouraging. I'm am surprised by the contents of your salad as I check every evening all food that is served to our customers. The salads all have a minimum of eight items on unless specified by a customer. The Premium Wi Fi is very new to us and I am sorry we were not able to offer better information to you. So pleased to read you would not let these small problems stop you from returning. Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2018

This hotel is for the young at heart, they are very caring rooms are clean but basic but if you are a person who goes round inspecting the hotel look at what you pay to what you get. The food is good we ordered steak last night payed extra it was excellent just cooked as I like it. The staff are all very friendly and helpful from the manger to the cleaner all are helpful in their own way. There is only one downside that is as you come in you have all the smokers, there should be a room for them.
You are just opposite the pier oh what a view, yes I will come back.The Shearing’s driver Kevin is very knowledgeable and friendly and likes a joke.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Malcolm H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2018

Malcolm H Thank you so much for yur comments and feedback. My dedicated team will be over the moon to read your very kind words.
Much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2018

Our sea view room 316 was lovely beautiful view and large room let down a toilet that wouldn't flush and when it did it dripped and dripped, the shower was poor too.

The twin beds were very comfy and clean. The food on the Friday night was dreadful supposed to be fish bites - more like croquets with really strong vinegar, and l mean strong, none of us ate it. The rest of the weekend food got better. I don't like the breakfast food swimming in fat in the heated containers. Everything done on the cheap - l do not like it.

Room tip: room 316 front over looking sea
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank dollythemc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2018

Thanks you for the feedback regarding your recent stay dollythemc. The room you highlighted will be looked into as a matter or importance as this is one of our new bedrooms.
I hear you regarding the fishbites!! This feedback will be passed to our food purchaser and. That said they proved to be very popular. Breakfast items are cooked in batches and replenished through out the service, so your comment is interesting. That said chef has been made aware of your feedback
Thanks again for taking the time to leave a review/

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2018

Booked this hotel from Shearing's /Bay hotels 4 day self drive brochure. Booked a standard plus room ,if the room we were allocated was a plus room I dread to think how poor a basic room is,.on arriving at the hotel first impression of puplic areas looke clean and tidy,this gave us false hope ,checking in was quite quick but things went down hill from there ,the lifts are small and dirty and not poorly maintained inside with brow sticky tape holding parts of 1 lift together,exiting the lift into the corridoor to rooms on second floor the carpets were realy threadbare and dirty ,walls and paintwork in poor condition and the connecting doors were filthy with in graind dirt and grime ,Dining was not a pleasent experiance where nobody seemed to be in control ,(when i asked the head waiter who should be waiting on our table his reply was "i dont know" ) and poor food .

You could write a whole book on the faults of this hotel , Shearings shout take a serious look at standards in this hotel they ,this hotel is in a great position on the seafront badly maintained andrun

Room tip: dont put to much faith in plus grade rooms
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tripper1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2018

I have read this review and I am unable to agree with parts of the content. I have stated in previous review responses. We are fully aware our old lady of a hotel is now not looking her best and this is in the process of being addressed. The wood work and doors are not as described. The paint may be old but the doors and handle and glass are cleaned daily. Our Head waiter Moses would not reply to a question in this way. You claim no one was in control but was able to speak to the head waiter, who is in charge of the department. I believe our menus, choice and quality of food do represent excellent value for money, sad to read you found the food poor.
Thank you once again for taking the time to leave your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018

Shearings break,driver Roger was excellent,safe,funny,courteous.Hotel staff excellent (unless you have worked in this environment,people have no idea). Polite,efficient staff all around the hotel,excellent room,clean and comfy.Hotel great ( we are not there to look at paintwork).Food very good,well presented,good choice.Buses every 12 mins to Brighton,Eastbourne very clean and warm,warmer than Guernsey that week!.Long hotel,so expect a bit of a walk if your room is at an end,lift is in the middle,but not a problem.Entertainment very good,bar prices not too bad (it's not Wetherspoons!)Would definitely stay here again,thank you to all the staff. (P.S. Every Wed night from May-End Sept,there is 'Last night of the proms',complete with fireworks,in the bandstand,just up from the hotel) Can't go wrong with this Hotel and area.

Room tip: room 316,twin with sea view,Excellent comfortable beds,large room.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mewriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2018

Many thanks mewriel for the great feedback of a recent stay. I am not alone when I say on behalf on my hard working dedicated team we need to hear more reviews like this. Great informative information for future visitors.
Look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews