We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,182)
Filter reviews
1,183 results
Traveller rating
676
346
99
40
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
676
346
99
40
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews crystal restaurant croquet lawn afternoon tea cream tea in the conservatory putting green beachy head sea view through travelzoo conservatory restaurant traditional hotel old fashioned lovely hotel short break outdoor pool scones main restaurant waiting staff
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 1,183 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2018

We recently celebrated our Diamond Wedding with a traditional Afternoon Tea for 108 guests made up of family and friends which was a huge success. From the first discussions with the Hotel everything was handled in a professional helpful and friendly manner. On the day of the party everything was superb. The room was beautiful with the tables set out with crisp white linen and sparkling glasses. The food served on traditional cake stands was delicious. All the staff were so helpful and friendly nothing was too much trouble for them. Nothing could be faulted and the feedback we have received from our guests confirms this. The guests who stayed in the Hotel for the weekend said the rooms were extremely comfortable, the breakfast was great and the overall relaxing atmosphere of the Hotel was very welcoming MIKE AND WENDY

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan O, General Manager at Hydro Hotel Eastbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2018

Dear Guest Congratulations on your recent Diamond wedding anniversary celebrations. I was pleased to read you enjoyed your afternoon and that all you guests were very complimentary on the afternoon. I will certainly convey all your kind words to the team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hydro in the near future. best wishes Jonathan Owen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2018 via mobile

This lovely hotel is only a short walk from the end of the Southdown's way. Excellent food and surroundings with wonderful sea views and in sight of Beachy Head.

The gardens are beautiful and the substantial heated pool is in a sheltered sun trap.

The extensive lounge areas and conservatory are great for relaxing and reading.

All the staff I encountered we very helpful and pleasant.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan O, General Manager at Hydro Hotel Eastbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2018

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor following your recent visit to the South Downs Way. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and that the team looked after you so well. Best wishes Jonathan Owen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2018 via mobile

Following our wedding in Darley Road my Husband and I spent our first two nights as a married couple at this beautiful hotel. The previous year we had won an overnight stay at a wedding fair and loved it so much we we had to come back. Our room had a sea view which was stunning and the room was exceptionally clean and comfortable. We ordered breakfast both days and ate in the Crystal Restaurant. The breakfast was delicious and arrived at the time we chose at perfect temperature. Our meal in the restaurant was lovely, my Husband had steak and was delighted by how perfectly cooked it was. I was particularly impressed and grateful that they listened to my dietary needs and gave me exactly what I had asked for. All the staff were pleasant and welcoming and we will definitely look forward to returning in the future. Many thanks. Dan and Kerry Woolridge

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank MrsWoolberforce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan O, General Manager at Hydro Hotel Eastbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2018

Dear Guest
Congratulations on your recent wedding!
Thank you for your review following your recent stay. I was delighted to read you thoroughly enjoyed your 'mini moon' at the hotel. I will certainly pass on your kind words to all the team and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Best wishes Jonathan Owen l

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018

The bedroom was very clean and neat just the way we like them to be the bathroom although small was very clean and functional.

The hotel has a cosy retro feel about it with the livered staff being attentive and considerate.

The food in both the bar and restaurant was nourishing and served by friendly waiting staff. Breakfast is a must with plenty of choice between continental healthy fruit and delicious cooked english options sets you up for the day.

Room tip: South facing beautiful sea views, extremely warm with no air conditioning. Corner suites are large and sunny.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank helenjacksonphillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan O, General Manager at Hydro Hotel Eastbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2018

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review and kind words following your recent weekend break. I will certainly pass on your feedback to the team and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Best wishes Jonathan Owen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2018

Had a fantastic stay at the hotel on the busiest weekend of the year (Eastbourne Airshow). No fuss checking in & out. Everything was great but special mentions to the staff who were so helpful and polite and the food. All 9 adults in our party raved about the place and no doubt we will be going again soon. Try it you won't be disappointed.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan O, General Manager at Hydro Hotel Eastbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2018

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review on the Hydro following your stay over our Airshow weekend. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that all the team were polite and helpful. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hydro in the near future when I can assure you of our very best attention. best wishes Jonathan Owen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews