We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
PricelineUS$128
Vio.comUS$128
eDreamsUS$128
Agoda.comUS$128
StayForLong
ZenHotels.com
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (533)
Filter reviews
533 results
Traveller rating
392
98
25
9
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
392
98
25
9
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bream sea view highly recommend the merrion secure parking evening entertainment first class first floor small balcony my mum lovely hotel reception staff restaurant staff a family run hotel night stay sea front dining room plenty of choice
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 533 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2022

It was a real pleasure to stay at this very good establishment in that the bedrooms are very comfortable and well appointed. Breakfasts and dinner menus cater for all tastes.

The various selected dishes that we choose were very well presented and more importantly enjoyable. Good wine selection and the all of the staff were most helpful and cheerful.

One small downside was the dreadful singer in the evening who was both too loud and rude.

Room tip: Avoid evening entertainment
Date of stay: October 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank patron2929
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Michael Bream, Owner at Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2022

patron2929
Thank you for your lovely comments about the hotel and staff, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you in 2023. With regard to the entertainer, please accept my apologies.
Kind regards
Paul Bream.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2022

Had the best time, Merrion Hotel absolutely fabulous, staff so friendly and helpful. Food was amazing, my 1st time in Wales and I loved it. Wakening up to beautiful view and going to sleep with the sound of the waves.

Thanks Merrion Hotel

Room tip: Room with a beautiful view
Date of stay: September 2022
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank G3975ZMmargaretm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Michael Bream, Owner at Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2022

Hi G3975ZMmargaretm
So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and thanks for mentioning our great sfaff. See you again soon.
Kind regards
Paul.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2022 via mobile

A group of us ( ladies) all enjoyed our recent stay at the hotel - all our rooms were very comfortable. After being out on the Saturday evening we returned to join in with the entertainment and were able to finish the celebrations with a couple of drinks and a dance. The breakfast menu offered plenty of choices - the cooked breakfast was delicious.All staff were friendly and helpful we all had comfortable stay and would highly recommend The Merrion and would stay over again .

Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank 78jennb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Michael Bream, Owner at Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2022

Hi 78jennb
Thank you for staying for your recent celebration, I am pleased you enjoyed the hotel and we look forward to seeing you again next time.
Kind regards
Paul Bream.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2022

This was our 3rd break at this excellent hotel. Staff throughout the hotel all friendly and helpful. Stayed in room 110 , a bay windowed 1st floor room above the front door with wonderful views from the window bucket seats provided in the room. One of the prime reasons for returning to the hotel was the quality and choice of food available both at breakfast and for the evening meal , only disappointment this year was there was no steak on the menu which had been excellent on previous visits.. The only reason the rating is 4 rather than 5 stars is that the choice of draught beers is very limited. As a bitter drinker " boddies " would never be my 1st choice , just as well as there wasn't any , no other draught bitter at all so banked on guinness as a back up but for whatever reason it had the dreaded brown head. Assuming the hotel is free to purchase it's draught beer from wherever it likes I'm surprised it's not on top of this issue of choice / quality when the rest of the operation is top notch. I was surprised that a previous review said that a range of local brews were available , just to clarify that these are bottled beers , not draught. Sadly as a night time drink is a big part of any holiday experience I doubt I shall be returning.

Date of stay: September 2022
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Michael Bream, Owner at Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2022

Hi John C
Thank you for your recent review, I am pleased you enjoyed the hotel and thank you for all the positive comments.
I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with the choice of Bitter available in the bar, it is unfortunate that we do not sell large quantitates of bitter and it is therefore not possible to have a range of bitters on drought.
We will review the Boddingtons and perhaps change it for another bitter which might be a little more to your taste.
Kind regards
Paul Bream

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2022

Stayed at the Merrion a few times in the past, great location they have added covered well furnished outside seating area overlooking the sea. Had room 112 room exceptional. The whole hotel is spotlessly clean, it sparkled. Food is amazing, and they have put Stella Artois back on the bar! Plus lots of local brews available. Complimentary coffee and tea after dinner in the entertainment area. Hospitality tray well stocked. Breakfast delicious, chef makes any egg you want while you choose from a large selection of welsh breakfast items. You are given your own serving tongs to choose your items while chef opens the heated trays, genius idea. All staff work well together and are very helpful and friendly. Really enjoyed the break, book this hotel early if you want to stay, added bonus of free secure parking.

Room tip: We like the sea views
Date of stay: September 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Michael Bream, Owner at Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2022

Hi Susan C
Fantastic review thank you, so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and thanks for mentioning our hard working team, hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards
Paul Bream.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews