We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky and friendly”

Characters Tea House and Hot Stone Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 202 Restaurants in Llandudno
Price range: US$5 - US$26
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Welcome to Characters Teahouse and Hot Stone Restaurant. A secret to be found. Tucked away in a side street we are not easy to find. But when you do you are in for a big surprise. We are different to say the least..You could say quirky and you would be right. Old second hand china, cups, saucers, plates, glasses, furniture etc all bought from charity shops and completely mismatched giving the place character and ambiance hence the name Characters. Food is wholesome and unpretentious ,soups, sandwiches, hand made cakes & scones of different flavours forming the basis of our now famous Afternoon Tea. Accompanied by proper loose leaf tea & coffee of your choice we are open daytime 11am to 4pm Monday to Saturday. In the evening Friday & Saturday serving from 6.30pm to 8.00pm our also famous "Steak on the Stone" Accompanied by "Bring your Own" wine, beer or champagne. Whenever you decide to visit you will be greeted with a big welcome from the staff & management of this lovely family run restaurant..hopefully see you soon. Characters Team
Reviewed 17 April 2022

Went for lunch on the first day of our recent mini break, and was so friendly that we went back the next day.

Food was tasty and good portions and we really enjoyed the scones.

Staff were really friendly and chatty and we enjoyed the decoration and lovely tea cups.

Date of visit: April 2022
Thank kbsjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (788)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 788 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2022 via mobile

Had a lovely lunch and afternoon tea with the family, nicely decorated and clean, the staff were amazing. Definitely recommend here. It set us up before going on the tram, and big wheel on the promenade.

Date of visit: April 2022
Thank karendG2713YD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 February 2022 via mobile

Absolutely would recommend for Afternoon tea. Staff lovely and Afternoon tea was to die for.
Went away completely satisfied.
Thanks again Annie.

Date of visit: February 2022
1  Thank Helsbels707
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 January 2022 via mobile

My first visit to Characters Tearooms- with my friend.
I pass on a daily basis - but on this occasion my friend and I went in for lunch.
The staff were very friendly and welcoming.
The atmosphere was lovely
Some people had booked
We were able to be seated without booking.
Look forward to my next lunch there.

Date of visit: November 2021
Thank Emma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 December 2021

I won’t be making a visit there sorry there are many nice places to visit for afternoon tea but these are London prices

Date of visit: December 2021
Thank F9629YFjanetc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Characters Tea House and Hot Stone Restaurant also viewed

Llandudno, Conwy County
Llandudno, Conwy County
 
Llandudno, Conwy County
Llandudno, Conwy County
 

Been to Characters Tea House and Hot Stone Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.